We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome NL experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puffins Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puffins Landing
Save
You added Puffins Landing to your Saves list
16 Russeltown Road, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome NL experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second time back. We just could not come to NL and not stay with Keith and Maureen.They treat you like family,share so many stories with you,feed you so well and give you lots of travel tips.The cottage is the most peaceful place to wake up to in the mornings and the view is spectacular, but you have to stay at the b and b too so as not to miss out on visiting with these wonderful people.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the b and b are beautiful,clean and spacious with their own bath,but if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed with Maureen and Keith for three nights in late July. Bonavista was our first stop on a 14 day tour of Newfoundland and did we pick well. We were made to feel right at home and spent two full days getting well indoctrinated into the culture and traditions of the Island. Brother Eric was a key contributor to the many insights that were readily offered. The highlight was cod jigging and the wonderful home cooked traditional cod dinner with Maureen and Keith which followed that evening. Breakfasts were varied and excellent. A great start to a not to be forgotten adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment we entered this beautiful home, we knew we were in for something special. Our room was super clean and comfortable. Keith's knowledge of the area, its history and its people made for some interesting (and funny) conversations around the kitchen table. Aside from delicious breakfasts, Maureen went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. It's great to meet people who genuinely enjoy having guests in their home. Thanks for a great Newfoundland experience (including the cod tongues!) And like the sign at the door says, we entered as strangers, and left as friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Keith and Maureen were great hosts. Very friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the small side but the super comfortable king bed made up for it. We had fun sharing some stories with other travellers over breakfast. On our Second morning Keith took my gf and I out to "Wild cove" to see the "Italian arm". We wouldn't have known to go exploring there if it weren't for His guidance. He had some great stories to go along with the journey as well. When in Bonavista we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the blue whale cottage for two nights. Very roomy and clean....and what a view! Keith is the nicest guy and spent a lot of time with us, going so far as hiking with us to where we could see puffins. We had a glitch with the well water but he took care of it right away. Bonavista was one of our favourite spots on our trip to Newfoundland. Try Mifflin's Tea Room for a great meal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of four spent two nights at the Blue Whales Cottage in early August. It was perfect for us. A huge shared living area, and two bedrooms with the living room in between. Large, well-equipped kitchen. Table has four chairs, but there are many extra chairs, and lots of room. It just feels like you're borrowing someone's home for a couple of days. Every room has a gorgeous view, but the best is a big comfy chair in a bow window in the living room, which overlooks a cliff directly into Spillar's Cove to the open Atlantic. This will be the spot I remember and miss most when our Newfoundland vacation comes to mind. Would heartily recommend this cottage.

**Also, walking distance to puffin viewing, just a few hundred metres up the road, and in August the entire path was lined with yummy juicy blueberries. If the puffins are gone, it's only a 10 minute drive to Elliston, where you can walk out to see them in another nesting area.

****Bonavista is a five-minute drive away, lots to occupy our family and children for a few days at least, as well as The Dungeon, a cool rock formation, formerly a provincial park.

Room Tip: They're all gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My mom and I stayed there for the night and had the loft all to ourselves. It was very clean and well appointed with everything we could have wanted. Owners gave very good recommendations for restaurants and places to get a nice cup of tea. The only thing I didn't like was the cost of two pictures my mom paid for there. They were 8 x 10's of a puffin and another of an eagle at a cost of $10.00 each. A little pricey in my mind! Otherwise an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The loft was grea,t but a bit expensive $120.00 for one night. It was very private, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puffins Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffins Landing

Address: 16 Russeltown Road, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Puffins Landing Bonavista, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puffins Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.