We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
38 Prince William St., St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Blair House and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We stayed in a comfortable, quiet room on the main floor. We opted for the room with a double bed and were surprised at its spaciousness (room for a commode, writing desk, nightstand, etc). It was well kept and all the details were covered (from the list of television channels, to the provision of a thorough binder outlining where to eat, what to do and what to see in St. Stephen).

David, the host, could not have been more helpful and engaging. I was very happy to receive an email with directions to the Inn in advance of our stay, as well as all the "need to knows" about the property and its features.

The breakfast room was particularly delightful. I concur with others who stated that the breakfast was top notch, as was the inviting tea and cookie table provided to guests who might be in need of an evening snack. This charming, cozy inn makes for a lovely stay in St. Stephen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

David, Judy and Gareth provide outstanding service. Hospitality is great. Rooms clean and food fantastic. Location is good. Easy accessibily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was in St Stephen for only one night, and stayed at the Blair House because it was close to the hospital. My room was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. David (the host) was very friendly and welcoming, and he cooks a great breakfast!
I will definitely stay there again, next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Henrietta Room, and was very happy with it. The bathroom was dated, but it was spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCroixRiverPaddler, Owner at Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay Jennifer while in St. Stephen on work-study at the Charlotte County hospital. Hopefully you can come for a weekend getaway with your husband this Summer. Thanks, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here en route from NS to Ont. I settled in to a perfect room for a person travelling alone - cozy but with its own bathroom including a clawfoot tub. After a short walk along the water to the recommended restaurant in town, I came back to herbal tea and cookies and a long bath. It was what was needed. The room I was in had maybe a bit too much in the way of furniture pieces, given it was not a large room. The others I saw through open doors on the morning as I was leaving appeared spacious and very comfortable for couples. Skip the chocolate factory in town but do enjoy an evening walk.

Room Tip: I'd suggest the second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We (a 60-ish couple) picked this property partly based on favorable reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! We took a week's vacation in "Downeast" Maine and opted for a side-trip just over the border to St. Stephen and St Andrews, NB, and reserved a night at Blair House in early Nov 2011.

This is a grand Victorian house, both outside and inside, meticulously set up for the guest, and convenient to downtown St Stephen in a quiet neighborhood.

Our host, David, made us feel entirely welcome and at home. He set out an evening tea at about 8 PM. He is an easy conversationalist and has just the right personality for this job while leaving us enough "space" to rest up and relax on our own. Breakfast was outstanding with a "full English" offering but we opted for some great blueberry pancakes instead. The dining room is partly a conservatory with large plants against a bank of east-facing windows (where we were fortunate to enjoy a clear sunrise - not guaranteed at this time of year!). The lodging, evening tea, breakfast and overall experience were well worth the reasonable rate. The house strikes the perfect balance between historical presence and modern convenience. If you just want modern I'm sure there's a Holiday Inn or Marriott for that.

We look forward to returning to explore this area (bring passports) and as a stopover between our home north of Boston and points east such as PEi, Nova Scotia, Fundy National Park, etc. BTW, remember this location is on Atlantic Time or you might miss breakfast!

The B&B's website is very comprehensive and helped us evaluate this property. Oh, there is free WiFi which we as photographers were happy to use in our work.

Room Tip: Check the very descriptive website. There are 4 guestrooms upstairs and 1 on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good welcome and offered tea and coffee making facilities
Well appointed rooms
Limited choice of restaurants in the town
Owner very helpful when I left something he posted it on
Excellent breakfast very well presented and well cooked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

On our recent leaf peeping trip we stopped at Blair Inn and were not disappointed.The inn was great very clean and well cared for..Innkeeper David was a real plus from his email with directions and info to his welcoming. He was very informative and extremely helpful we enjoyed a cup of hot chocolate and cookies while talking with him in the lovely living room the evening we arrived.We were booked into a room with 2 single beds as everything else was booked but David told us this upfront and would move us if a cancellation occured which didn't but the twin beds were fine and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and there were choices for us to order.it was served in the beautiful dining room. The fresh fruit cup had to be the best we ever had. All in all this was a great find

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Address: 38 Prince William St., St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in St. Stephen, Canada's Chocolate Town, a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine.Gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from Saint John and the Digby ferry, Hopewell Rocks, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. In 2012 we are celebrating our 25th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. Check out our region's Calendar of Events. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick.A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.