We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winsome Inn

Winsome Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Winsome Inn to your Saves list
Winsome Inn
198 King St., St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Stephen
Falmouth
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Consistency isn't a bad comment. We stop at the Winsome Inn every year as we travel to PEI. It isn't the cheapest selection but it is clean and consistent. The staff is friendly and responsive. THe breakfast, again well presented, is a constant offering. This year with one unit facility down, we received calls early of this and of the pool shut down. We enjoyed our stay and we will stay there again on our way back to the states and in future years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My perusal of accommodations in the immediate area was slightly disconcerting, but based on a recommendation from another hotel in the area, I took a leap of faith and booked two rooms. To our delight, the Winsome Inn was a charming little motel just over the Canadian border in St. Stephen. Much care has been given to maintaining flower beds, an immaculately clean breakfast room, and small but clean and comfortable rooms. The desk clerk was so helpful, the beds were very comfy, and there are benches outside to sit on in the evening: there is WIFi for those of us who want to be distant without being disconnected :-). The price is very reasonable. I recommend wholeheartedly, and wouldn't hesitate to spend time there again. ps: if you are looking for a place to eat, Carmen's diner is a down-home, old-timey diner with good, hearty food at a great price. No haute cuisine, but good stick-to-your-ribs dinner for the whole family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Winsome Inn was very clean and a convenient stop for us on our trip to PEI and NS. Staff was friendly, accommodating and the continental breakfast was standard but good. The pool was out of order due to recent flooding but we went to a nice, free public pool in Milltown. Recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaefferstown
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Nova Scotia. The room was clean and staff was accommodating. Wifi went in and out. This is a 50s-60s motel that has been updated, but still seemed a bit dreary at the end of a long day driving. The continental breakfast was fine--cereal, juice, coffee, and a variety of breads/bagels, etc. I agree with the other reviewer who found the Winsome overpriced. Next time I would drive a little further and find something more up to date and upbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I must admit I am taking the descriptive word "typical" from another traveler's review. I'll echo what he said that it is a typical motor lodge, which does not infer that it is a bad thing. It is very clean, help is professional and friendly. The continental breakfast is... well, typical. It seems overpriced for the area, but they've been able to do a brisk business for years so they know what the market can bear.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed one night here after crossing the border. The motel looks average from outside but inside the rooms and common areas are new, clean, very comfortable. The front desk attendant was really helpful in terms of advice and helping me get some stuff done while in a rush to get to St. John.
Breakfast pretty good as well.
There are ample stores in walking distance like a market and drug store. The hotel itself is about a km from the heart of the town. Only downside was some strange mechanical noise that occasionally permeated my room from somewhere in the building. Not too bad though.
For a motel, the rooms were as good as many higher end hotels..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights this past weekend at this motel/inn. The room was comfortable & clean. The staff were very friendly & accommodating, as we had to leave early the first morning breakfast was made available for us for 5am. A pleasant stay to say the least. Thank you.
Nancy & Glen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winsome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winsome Inn

Address: 198 King St., St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Winsome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winsome Hotel St. Stephen
Winsome Inn St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winsome Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.