We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn to your Saves list
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
4135 Route 114, Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick E4H 3K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell Cape
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Selected on internet for location and price. Had read reviews referencing grumpy old man and Bates Motel. Not sure how these opinions were reached. Brian was the least grumpy old man I have met in a long time. In fact, he was congenial, helpful and quite humorous. I guess if someone was expecting a 5 star facility, they might be disappointed. The room was clean, spacious and totally functional. The bed was comfortable and everything was squeaky clean.
I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.
Gerry

Room Tip: Get a room with one double bed facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    46
    14
    19
See reviews for
49
65
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Tantallon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights, Sept 15 and 16. Great place except the restaurant closed for the season on Sept 15 so that left us scrambling to find someplace to get meals. Not much in the area at all, no Tim's and no fast food. You may want to book at the Chocolate River Inn as their restaurant was still open.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very outdated, sorely in need of new furniture, carpeting, towels...well practically everything. Female workers were pleasant and friendly, not so much the grumpy man at the desk. Adjacent to the drive to visit Hopewell Rocks and $1 off admission tickets offered at the desk. I would recommend you find a nice place in Moncton and skip this property. No lobster, seafood chowder left on a Saturday night, the last weekend being open for the season. There was coffee in the room.

Room Tip: You park directly in front of your room...so there no stairs to climb to get into the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I am sending this letter in response to yours. I am sorry you did not enjoy staying with us we realize many things are closed or closing at this time. We understand this must be frustrating and disappointing for travelers as well as business owners, we hate to disapoint people.
Most people know traveling at this time of year is hit and miss. As for our menu ---well with just one day left to serve the public we were out of three items. Sincerely Brian Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I selected this Motel from the Internet based on it's location. We arrived VERY late at night (got a little lost coming from Confederation Bridge) but still got a pleasant greeting at the office. Were put up in one of the units facing the front of the Motel and were able to park the car right in front for easy carrying. The room was "old style" and clean. Noted that the bath towels were thin and small - -but adequate. It was not until the next morning, while enjoying a pleasing free breakfast, that we noticed the beautiful surroundings. The owners and staff continued their pleasant ways, answering questions that they must have heard hundreds of times with patience, along with new, offbeat ones as well (like - where is the nearest PetroCan station?). We ate in their restaurant on the second night - service was good, food was acceptable, and the price was fair. This was our
last stop on a fast but extensive stay in the Atlantic Provinces and we found Hopewell Rocks to be
representative of most of the places we stayed in the Maritimes - more "country" than posh, placed within our budget, and the people all so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If it hadn't been a long day in the car traveling and exploring, my wife and I would have turned around and walked out of this hotel on arrival. The room stunk and was musty. The carpet appeared to have never been cleaned and the sheets were yellow. ( I think that they were supposed to be white). Since there are very few hotels available at this attraction we were held captive. Do not I repeat NEVER book this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's been a looooong time since I stayed at a roadside motel, so I was apprehensive about staying here to begin with. Overall, I would say the experience was fine for a one-night stay to see the Hopewell Rocks, but I wouldn't want to stay any longer.

The room was quite small and the bathroom was tiny (like bump your knees on the sink tiny), but both were very clean. No closet, just a hanging rack near the bathroom. Old style TV set on a desk. They had a strange set-up with a screen porch corridor out the back that connected all the rooms. We arrived at night, so I was pleasantly surprised to see the beautiful view of the bay in the morning.

Breakfast was fine with cereal, muffins, and bagels available in a small but quaint dining room. We enjoyed our coffee out on their porch overlooking the bay, which was quite nice.

They offer tickets to Hopewell Rocks for a $1 discount, which we bought thinking we could bypass the line. However, once we got to the rocks, we still had to wait in line to turn in our vouchers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed in the start of july !
Had to climb up hill to get to the motel ..Had to walk to the back of the office with suit cases to get to a seasonal Mothballs Cabin!!! Disgusting Stay....
Carpet stinky ...the entire room had the smell of septic Tank !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I am sorry you had a bad stay at this motel. It was not at our place. For starters we do not rent cabins and we do not have mothballs for our guest . All so you do not climb up hill to get to our office.Next time you write a review please make sure it is for the right place you stayed at. Sincerly Brian Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn

Address: 4135 Route 114, Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick E4H 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Hopewell Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell Cape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are fully air conditioned with private baths and color cable TV. We have 39 rooms including Suites and a new Adult Building. Heated outdoor pool, with two levels. Enjoy the view from the decks over looking the Bay of Fundy Coast! Family restaurant on site. Enjoy Seafood, and other Canadian dishes. Spacious playground, lots of room to run. One of Atlantic Canada's largest gift and souvenir shop. Free parking, local calls and wireless internet access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopewell Rocks Motel And Country Hotel Hopewell Cape
Country Inn Hopewell Cape
Hopewell Rocks Hotel And Country
Hopewell Cape Country Inn
Hopewell Rocks Motel And Country Inn Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.