We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymount Outdoor Adventures

Baymount Outdoor Adventures
Hopewell Rocks Park | 131 Discovery Lane, Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick, Canada
1-877-601-2660
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Welland, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recieved our two trip package through Maplegrove Inn in River-side Albert. First day we chose the kayaking which was amazing. Our group of guides were amazing and extremely knowledgable on the area. The tour lasted about 2-2.5 hours in our two-person kayaks (divorce boats they call them). The equipment was in great shape and everything felt very safe. The views were phenomonal however if you do not do the walk at low-tide first it is not as impressive. The low-tide walk at the rocks is a must-do before repeating it, this time 40 feet higher.

Our second trip our was with Richard on the leisurely biking tour, the one for anyone looking for a bit of history of the area and a casual bike ride. He met us right at the driveway of our Inn and we headed out, the whole trip took about 3.5 hours. Richard is a retired school teacher from NB and you can tell!! He is extremely knowledgable about the area and all of its History. We were exhausted after the bike ride as we chose to do the "little hill" detour on the way back but whether you think it is little or not, either way it is a great work out!! My wife and I had a blast on both of these excursions and will be trying the others they offer next time we are in the area. We would recommend this to any of our closest friends and family!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first tour in the maritimes and we were so excited! Was better than our expectations. All equipment was provided and the experienced guides went through all safety precautions and instructions with us. Three guides for our group of 10 tandem boats. One guide leading, one in the middle and one in the back, so we always felt safe. Staff was very friendly, enthusiastic, professional, experienced, knowledgeable and had great stories. Also offered to take pictures of us passing through caves and other areas. Of course, we took them up on their offer. An amazing tour!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although it may seem pricey at first this was one family adventure we are so glad we did. The tour takes place in tandem kayaks and is about a 4 km paddle in total. It was amazing to see the rocks after we had seen them from the beach. We explored some crevices and went under some archways and it was a lot of fun to paddle. Our kids had an excellent time too and it was great to have the family time with them in the kayaks. On our paddle back in we saw some porpoises which was very cool. Try this one and don't forget your sunscreen... our kids are still talking about it! One further note, on the website it says kids must be 12 but they did take several kids that were younger as it was a calm day...so don't be afraid to ask if it's something you'd like to do.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Spectacular place and a spectacular company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Kayaking Hopewell Rocks is a spectacular way to see these formations. Going out on a super high tide and then paddling back just after the tide had changed only to see people walking on the ocean floor where a few minutes ago we were paddling was impressive.

We are experienced kayakers but didn't want the difficulty of hauling our own boats to New Brunswick. The folks at Baymount welcomed us to bring our own paddles, and PFD's which added to our personal enjoyment. However with an experienced eye I can say that the company doesn't skimp on the quality of the equipment they provide their guests. The boats they use are very high quality tandems, equipped with rudders which make paddling in high winds and rough seas safer and easier to do then in a rudderless boat. The lesson the guides give you at the beginning of the trip is comprehensive and complete.

On our day the conditions were perfect, calm water, pleasant breeze, sunny skies, and no headwinds. With absolute perfect conditions on a summer Sunday it was no surprise that the group size was very large and moved slowly.

The guides that came with us made sure that everyone was comfortable in their boats and that information was given to everyone in the group. I can't count the number of excursions I've gone on hoping to learn something about the area only to miss out on information because I was in the back. The Baymount guides made sure that even though we were in the back we could still hear everything said. They were knowledgeable about the area, wildlife, geology and history of the place. When we stumped one young man he promised to have the answer for us the minute we got back to the office. He did one better and asked his fellow guides and had the answer before we hit the next cove.

I highly recommend this trip. The pace is relaxed and well suited to first time paddlers. This is not a trip for those looking for a heavy physical workout, or for paddlers who want to race. This is the trip for those who would like to explore some stunning scenery from the perspective of being on the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my birthday gift and on my actual birthday. The experience couldn't have been more exciting. We went kayaking with a group in the morning. The staff got everyone suited up and gave a paddling lesson. We all got into our kayaks which were up on the beach which was odd. However as everyone got their skirts hooked the water had surrounded the kayaks and we were actually floating. And this was in minutes. Wow!!! The views were spectacular as we were informed of the formations name. On our return, we got to actually kayak through the openings in the formations. Wicked Awesome!!! The staff is very well trained, helpful and knowledgeable. This was well worth it. Then walking on the beach at low tide where we had just kayaked a few hours earlier was incredible. Best birthday experience ever. Thanks!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baymount Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick
 
Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick

Been to Baymount Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymount Outdoor Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.