We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum-Yum's Galore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Head Bakery

North Head Bakery
199 Route 776, New Brunswick, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Grand Manan
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Monroe, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum-Yum's Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I still dream about the walnut bread and buns. We visited several times and everything we tried was off the chain. Owner is French trained and has a friendly, helpful staff. Coffee is very good too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bet you can't eat just one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Try one of everything!
Everything is fresh and delicious, from the crusty French bread to the variety of muffins, croissants and donuts. Stopped in everyday, located on the Main road, easy parking right in front. Wonderful aromas welcome you in the door. The staff is pleasant and friendly.
Get there early, they sell out fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great muffins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the gluten free muffins and they were very good although they were a little pricey. Located right on the Main Street close to the visitor information center

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Home Without Some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The North Head Bakery is a seasonal Grand Manan treasure. In summer 2013 it was open Tuesday to Saturday, and we stopped in every day for fresh breads (wonderful for trail sandwiches), chocolate croissants, chocolate chip cookies, madeleines that Proust would have enjoyed, wonderful plain or sugared donuts, and more. The baking is in the French style. The food is delicious in any culture.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best, cutest bakery. Holy batman bran muffins.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I. Love. This. Bakery.

The best crusty bread (get there around 11:30/12 to get a fresh, hot loaf).
The best donuts.
The best BRAN MUFFINS???!??!!? You'd better believe it! I don't even like bran muffins and I'm having the hugest craving right now. The ones with blueberries are especially divine.
They have great croissants and other puffy flaky pastries too, and wonderful sticky buns, but in my opinion, the bran muffins trump all. Reread that sentence as many times as you need to. Truth.

The staff is very sweet and patient (and adorable in their red aprons) as you hem and haw over what to get (just get it all).

I think they have coffee, too, but don't quote me on that.

Closed Sundays and Mondays, but at least you have five other days in the week to binge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Head Bakery also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
North Head, Grand Manan
 

Been to North Head Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Head Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.