We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Provincial Park

Anchorage Provincial Park
136 Anchorage Road, New Brunswick E5G 2H3, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Grand Manan
Attraction details
Deer Isle, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice beach, picnic area, pretty marsh, small ponds, beautiful ocean view, and clean restrooms. Very pretty place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Manan Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Anchorage Provincial Park is a beautiful slice of nature tucked along the southeast shore of beautiful Grand Manan Island. From the long and sweeping sandy beach that changes dramatically
with the tides to the walking trails and beautiful campgrounds, The Anchorage offers lazy days, long walks and endless explorations. And...did I mention the wild rabbits and their itty bitty bunnies? The Anchorage stands ready to enrich, excite and renew. Enjoy!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice, but not very big.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Just the fact that the park is on grand manan makes it nice. I took my dogs there for a little walk and we were all alone, a nice treat! Some mosquitoes but the trail was well maintained.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a precious place that I am so glad someone in the past had the foresight to protect. I am very disappointed to hear that the Provincial government let go of all the employees and the responsibility of stewardship for this rare place in 2013. I am happy to report that the takeover by the Boys and Girls Club of Grand Manan did not seem to leave the beautiful park uncared for.
We saw no trash. The pit toilet was clean and scrubbed and did not smell. The grass was cut. It didn't matter to the flocks of birds hanging in the sanctuary and along the beach whether the politicians had abandoned their migratory haven. We visited as the tide was going out and the waves lapped the shore. A wonderful sound! An incredible place! I hope the government will return to their senses and shepherd this park into forever. Thanks to the citizens who saved it this year.
Note: Some of the many hiking trails are wheelchair accessible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My second trip to Grand Manan and I spent several days each time at the park. I loved walking along the trail to Red Point & back through the forest with views of the bay. Also walking north along the beach at low tide and enjoying a warm day in the sun with a book in my beach chair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.