We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tours and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure High Kayaking

Adventure High Kayaking
83 Route 776, New Brunswick E5G 1A2, Canada
506-662-3563
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in Grand Manan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer active people of all ages an unforgettable outdoor adventure and a unique place to stay. We are a small organization, priding ourselves on giving an enjoyable, relaxing, personal experience. Stay in our eco-friendly cabin / cottages or choose from a variety of sea kayaking adventures designed to fit your schedule and budget. Get a taste of the island on a two-hour kayaking cruise, join us on a multi-day kayak or week-long excursion, or enjoy a sunset ocean kayak and lobster feast on the beach! We can customize any kayaks tour for your small or large group. No experience necessary!
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great tours and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family originally wanted to go for the 2 hour evening tour, but there wasn't space the evening we went to check it out, they rescheduled us for the next morning at 9 am and assured us we would be done in time for 11:30 ferry we had to catch. After a brief instruction on how to kayak, a group of us were on the water and had a great experience on the water, with some close encounters with seals. The tour guide Ryan, provided exceptional service in making sure we were back in time for our ferry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic, not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this operation. Grand Manan has some of the most spectacular sea kayaking in the northern hemisphere, and Adventure High can let you experience it with confidence in their highly professional and safety-conscious guided tours. Very suitable for a family outing and beginners need not be apprehensive. In summer the conditions are often extremely calm (like a bathtub) but if there is too much wind or something they simply won't go out. The company also rents bicycles. This year there is a good chance to see or hear peregrine falcons.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went for a 3-hour kayak from Whale Cove, past our Hole in the Wall cliffside campsite and ended in Pettes Cove. Along the way curious seals followed us and we saw numerous whale flumes in the distance. I can't say enough about the crew at Adventure High; they accommodated us on several fronts, not the least of which was running our camera down to the ferry after we left it behind. This business is run by professionals and we felt completely safe in their hands out on the open ocean in a very small craft. Great service, value and memories. We'll be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great experience with knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went for a 2 hour sunset kayak with Adventure High and did not want it to end. The staff were professional and careful to check equipment and did a short introduction to sea kayaking. We did assist in moving the kayaks from the beach to the shore but if someone wasn't able to, the staff easily did it. We went along the northern cliffs and saw fishing weirs, many seals within 10 feet and great views. No whales this time but saw a great one jump three times when we took the ferry back to mainland NB!!! Overall, a fun and enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to experience the shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have done a couple of kayak tours with Adventure High paddling around the north shore of Grand Manan. Even beginners can manage the shorter kayak tours and you get a sense of the bird life, sea life and topography from the water. Tour guides are polite, enthusiastic about the island and seem to enjoy their jobs. I would recommend this activity to most people who are comfortable in the water.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure High Kayaking also viewed

New Brunswick, Canada
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Adventure High Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure High Kayaking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.