We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seal cove heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Front Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Front Cottages
Save
You added Beach Front Cottages to your Saves list
70 Red Point Road, New Brunswick E5G 4J2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“seal cove heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

this is the third year returning to Beach Front Cottages - and it's not that we did not enjoy other places we stayed, it's just that this suits us so well. We will be back next year! The grounds have amazing vista, pheasants wandering around, yellow chickadees visiting the bird feeder, a nuthatch one day (!), whales in the bay, and so much more! thank you Tammy and Michael!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been vacationing on the beautiful Island of Grand Manan nearly every year for over thirty years. We have stayed at various places, all of which were great, but our favorite place to stay is here at Beach Front Cottages in Seal Cove. The cottages are clean and fully equipped and Tammy is cheerful and very helpful. As we quite often stay on the Island for up to two weeks, having the use of the laundry facilities on the premises is very useful. The beach in front of the cottages is the best beach on the Island, and the cottages also have the best view of any place we have stayed. If you visit Grand Manan be prepared for scenery so beautiful it almost hurts the eyes, and the fresh, salty air is next to none. After a day spent either visiting lighthouses, walking along the beautiful cliffs, kayaking, fishing, swimming, beachcombing, shopping at the gift shops, visiting the museum, dining in the restaurants and more, relaxing with a drink on the cottage porch enjoying the sunset can't be beat. Also a trip to White Head Island on the free ferry is a great day out and a chance for a picnic, although they do have a take out on White Head if needed.

Room Tip: Cottages #1, #2, and #3 are all on the front overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Beach Front cottages in July 2012 (cottage #4) and August 2013 (cottage #1). All cottages are clean, have a good sized deck, a nice view of the bay and a fire pit. Good access to the best beach on the Island!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Tammy goes out of her way to ensure that you are comfortable and that you have everything you need. The view is spectacular. It is also quiet and relaxing. The cabins are super clean. Everything is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jogn
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you like Hiking, Kayaking, Wildlife (Whales, Seals, Porpoises, sea birds), Beach Combing and Bon Fires - This is the place for you.

Tammy and Mike's Beach Front Cottages are always well set up with BBQ's, cooking utensils, comfortable furnishings, bon fire pits and wood etc. Very clean and exceptionally well suited for couples and family alike. They are situated on a bluff above one of the nicest / sandiest beaches around - Seal Cove. Perfect for sand castles, beach combing or just reading a book to the soothing sound of the ocean surf.
We are repeat customers for a reason, this being our ?? 7th or 8th season with many before with parents and siblings. Welcoming, friendly, respectful, comfortable and professional would be but a few of the words I would use to describe our stay's.

The Hiking trails have some of the most spectacular vistas I have ever experienced, be sure to spend the $5 on the trail guide at the local Museum as it gives great guidance to where and what to look for as well as degree of difficulty.

Kayaking along the cliff shores is nothing short of inspirational, especially the short trek from Whale Cove to The Seven Days Work. This years trip brought several Whale, Seal and various varieties of shore bird sightings. The Minke Whales were kind enough to come back to South West Head every evening before sunset for our viewing pleasure.

The Island is quaint and is a working Island, meaning, the fishing communities and wharfs are exactly that. You will not find Ferris wheels and Ice Cream Stands on the pier. It is fun as well as interesting to walk out and look at the Boats and ocean fishing gear and even catch the occasional Mackerel or harbour Pollock off the pier if you have a fishing rod with you. There are some nice and interesting gift shops and places to eat, but do not expect a tourists experience that you would find in Bar Harbour or Old Orchard Beach. Lots to see and do without glitz and glam of tourist town. The charm of Grand Manan Island is the Island itself, its rugged beauty and the people, who respect your privacy but are warm and inviting when engaged.

Room Tip: leave your windows open at night to enjoy the sounds of the Ocean surf. Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our first stay in Grand Manan. We were so glad we chose Beach Front after looking at a ton of places online. Its off the main road but from the ferry, about a 15 minute drive. Cottages looked close together in the pics but didn't seem it at all once we got here.

6 cute but plenty roomy cottages are on a hillside that look directly out over Seal Cove- beautiful scenery & beach right out your front door- which is also just a 2 minute walk down the path & stairs. Cottages are up to date & have everything you need like BBQ, fully equipped kitchen, big cable TV & free wifi. Wish my university appt had been this nice! 2 adults & 1 preschooler stayed in #4 which is connected to #5 but we didn't hear our neighbours. Beds & linens seem new and were very clean, and everything smelled great.

Tammy is super nice & always had a suggestion for a place to go & things to do. Rates are very reasonable. Our cottage had a great deck, fireplace down on the front lawn & free access to firewood. There is a sturdy playset for my preschooler, basketball nets, horseshoes, washerpits... Lots to do in your downtime.
I'd recommend this place for family or couples.

Room Tip: Cottage #4 deck gets the morning sun as well as the rest of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited Grand Manan August 2013 with family and stayed in cottage #2. Family of 6 and we managed quite well. So nice to go to sleep hearing the waves rolling in - staff is wonderful and so accommodating. Be sure and check it out - so worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Front Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Front Cottages

Address: 70 Red Point Road, New Brunswick E5G 4J2, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Grand Manan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family oriented cottges (two bedroom) offer a panoramic view of Seal Cove Sound(Bay)and the quaint fishing village. Beach Front Cottages are located above the best sand beach on the Island. It beckons for barefoot strolls and imaginative sand castles. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Front Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.