We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paulin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caraquet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paulin
Save
You added Hotel Paulin to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Boulevard St-Pierre West, Caraquet, New Brunswick E1W 1B6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Caraquet
Toronto
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting nearby friends. The hotel itself is quite old, with the creaking floors to prove it. However, the rooms are modern and attractively decorated. Although we were given the option of the Luxury King Waterfront Suite, which we had booked, the air conditioning was not working on the third floor. Instead we settled in to a suite on the second floor. Probably better, as we didn't have so many stairs to climb. The suite had a very comfortable king-size bed covered in pillows and a plush duvet as well as a blanket. Then there was a step down to a separate area with a day bed and a regular sofa. The bathroom was a bit small (apparently they are much bigger on the third floor). The TV had lots of channels, WIFI was free, lots of parking, lots of comfortable places to sit, inside and out. Sunset was gorgeous. The only meal we ate in the hotel was continental breakfast on the first morning. It was good but rather meagre - fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and toast and jam for $9.00 each plus 13% tax. We also don't care for shampoo and soap out of dispensers and went to Dollarama to buy our own. Antiques are well and good but I have a problem with dresser drawers that don't open easily. Note that the hotel is not on the waterfront, there is an expansive lawn and another home between the hotel and the water. Finally at $249 a night plus 13% tax, this seems like a rather pricey place to stay (we really didn't consider any place else).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
24
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

It was odd reading the bad reviews for this place and trying to square them with our experience. Gerard was there to greet us when we arrived and showed us to our room. It was beautiful, at the top of he house with views out over the ocean. Every room is a mini suite, with lots of room, immaculately clean and very comfortable. The bed in our room was enormous and really comfortable. We had ordered dinner for 7pm and Karen was lovely and friendly when we arrived downstairs. She is lively and vivacious and keen to share with you details about your upcoming feast. Ours included hand picked local ferns, picked before the fronds have a chance to unfurl and the main ingredient in the soup, delicious! Tiny prawns sourced from local fishermen when in season and frozen without being brined to preserve the taste and size, a main component in the Asian inspired salad course, delicious. Locally sourced rack of lamb, cooked to perfection and served with among other things, local, hand picked chanterelle mushrooms. I'd like to have been able to tell you about the dessert, but at this point we were full as badgers, so we had to pass. There is a good wine list and again Karen is very knowledgeable. We declined breakfast in the morning, still being full from the night before so I can't comment. We had a lovely stay at the Paulin and stay again without hesitation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay while driving the Acadian coastal route and found Hotel Paulin through Trip Advisor. Could not have been any happier with our stay. Karen and Gerard were pleasant warm hearted inn keepers. They had roasted a pig for an event earlier that day and even though they had had a busy day and the dining room was closed by the time we arrived, Karen kindly served us a wonderful meal. The inn is beautiful, rooms reminded me of my favourite Fairmont hotels, very elegant and clean. A most pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent one night here as we travelled the Acadian Coast. It is a lovely old hotel that has been in the Paulin family for three generations. Karen was very pleasant and accommodating on the phone when I called to book. Monsieur Paulin greeted us on arrival and was friendly and personable. We were delighted with our room which was very comfortable with the most comfy bed we have encountered for a while. The best part was dinner, presumably cooked by Karen, though we never got chance to meet her in person. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious. The location is very convenient for a tour of the Acadian Peninsula and also the Acadian Historic village, both of which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abstatt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Paulin last week and are already looking forward to visiting again. Our hosts Gerard and Karen made us feel like family. We enjoyed a glass of wine while chatting with other guests in the lobby before feasting on a delicious Surf and Turf dinner and decadent desserts. Our room was gorgeous, ( We were in room 4) I really had the feeling we had stepped back in time, every detail of our antique furnished room was perfect. (We watched the Olympics on a very moderen large TV hidden within an antique cabinet!) The bathroom had double sinks and a large tub. The following morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast prepared by Gerard before going on a Mushroom Hunt with the hotel forager. ( I highly recommend this - we learned a lot and had a blast) It is obvious that this hotel is run by people who take a great deal of time thinking fo what will make their guests´experience with them extra special. ( the live piano music during dinner is quiet enough to talk normally, there were scented bath salts in an old fashioined glass container next to the giant tub, the hotel makes its own transparent jewel toned luxury soap which is carefully cut and wrapped in small tule bags and placed next to the sink and tub.) My husband and I were sad to leave the hotel as we continued on our Canadian adventure the next day.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation filled with warm people, beautiful surorundings and delicious food. We are already planning our next visit. Thank you Karen and Gerard!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I appreciated the fact that Owners Karen and Gerard really put a lot of love and effort into building this place into what it is today. Additionally, Karen is a great storyteller, and her food is exceptional. There are many beautiful b&b's, but its often the interesting personalities who make a place worth the visit, especially with their knowledge of the area and in Gerard's case, the family history. Also to its credit, good location in Caraquet and beautiful views of the bay.

Room Tip: If you like a waterfront view, be sure to mention this when booking. Also, if you have dietary restr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I read a recommendation for this hotel in my traveling guide and never got disappointed!!!
Karen and Gerard are the most welcoming hosts who will push to the limit to make your stay as perfect and as relaxing as it could get :) Should I just mention the lobsters Karen cooked herself for us!! We weren't able to find same quality dinning and staying all over the coast of NB, PEI and NS!!!! I guarantee you will have the best stay ever! But don't disturb the peace, this is relaxation hotel. (PS. I'm only 25 if some of you will think that this hotel only for the old folks :) )))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paulin

Address: 143 Boulevard St-Pierre West, Caraquet, New Brunswick E1W 1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Caraquet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Caraquet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paulin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Critically acclaimed by New York Times and Le Figaro Magazine. A seaside boutique-hotel on Baie des Chaleurs, New Brunswick, Canada. Operated by 3rd and 4th generations of Paulins, owners, Gerard Paulin and Karen Mersereau offer exclusive personalized services. Enjoy spectacular sunsets, private beach, golf, adventure and spa packages. Renowned cuisine specializing in local fresh seafood and artisan products. Table d'hote presents such delicacies as steamed lobsters in Champagne. Open year round. Offers winter adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paulin Hotel Caraquet
Hotel Paulin Caraquet, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.