We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and scenery definitely worth a day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Campobello International Park

Roosevelt Campobello International Park
459 Highway 774, New Brunswick E5E 1A4, Canada
506-752-2922
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk in the footsteps of the Roosevelts, visit Franklin's Beloved Island. The Summer Home of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. His 34-room cottage has been preserved as a museum telling the story of his early life before he became President of the United States. Preserved by the U.S. and Canada. Open daily through Canadian Labor Day. Free admission.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History and scenery definitely worth a day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

While visiting the Lubec area, we took a day trip to Campobello Island. The Roosevelt Cottage visitor center had an excellent film about FDR, his family and the cottage. Nice clean facilities too. The cottage grounds and flowerbeds are very well kept. The cottage tour was great. Since it was mid-September, the traffic was quite light. This enabled us to not only get a very personalized tour but gave us lots of opportunities to really engage the volunteer docents with lots of questions. Then it was off to visit East Quoddy and Mulholland lighthouses. Not a lot of food choices on the island. We chose Family Fisheries which was very good. The rest of the afternoon was spent driving through the park to all the scenic ocean view areas to hike and take photos. All in all a great day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    66
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hosts were very knowledgeable and we loved visiting the summer cottage of the Roosevelt's. Beautiful setting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We drove to Lubec, ME to stand at the most eastern part of the US. We enjoyed the lighthouse and park, but there was not much else to do there, so we drove to Campobello International Park. We were pleasantly surprised and glad we did. We walked the trails, toured the Roosevelt cottage, had tea with Eleanor, and saw the 2 lighthouses on the island. The tour guides are very well informed and enthusiastic about their presentations. We found plenty to do for the day. A highlight for me was walking on the ocean floor to the lighthouse at the end of the island while the tide was low and later in the day, going back and seeing how high the water had risen 6 hours later. I would highly recommend going there if in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“FDR, Bay of Fundy, Lighthouse Views, No Entrance Fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We drove up coastal route 1 to Campobello from Bar Harbor, approx 2 1/2 hours. Bring your passport, pack a hearty lunch and enjoy a wonderful tour of FDRs summer residence and a great view of the East Quoddy Lighthouse. After stopping by the visitors center (watch the short film-its good) and touring the residence we got in the car and drove to the lighthouse-the cliffs were steep and I didnt mind we missed the low tide to climb down the slimey stairs. Some of the roads in the park portion of the island are packed gravel with one lane and some ruts but in fairly good condition. The views are magnificent and pit toilets are available (visitor center has flush toilets). The wind is tremendous near the bay, Not much in nearby Lubec-be prepared to pack food and water. Well worth a trip. Friendly park staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice pleasant park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent about 6 hours in the park and enjoyed the house tours and driving through the park to see some very nice scenic spots on the coast. While we did not do any significant hiking there are several nice hiking trails that appear to be easy to low-moderate difficulty. The Tea with Eleanor was quite enjoyable and informative and the ladies who ran it were excellent. The tour of the “Cottage” was good and the “guides” were helpful and interesting. The price is definitely right – it free!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Campobello International Park also viewed

Hopewell Cape, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 
New Brunswick, Canada
 

Been to Roosevelt Campobello International Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Campobello International Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.