We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Beautiful, & Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen House Country Inn and Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campobello Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owen House Country Inn and Gallery
Save
You added Owen House Country Inn and Gallery to your Saves list
11 Welshpool Street | Welshpool, New Brunswick E0G 3H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Beautiful, & Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I can’t say enough positive things about our stay at the Owen House. The picturesque location and the hospitality of the owners, Jan and Joyce, made our vacation restful and memorable. The character and décor of this wonderful old home set it apart as a jewel along the beautiful Bay of Fundy coastline. Breakfast was delicious and healthy, with fresh fruit and whole grain bread accompaniment each morning. We fell in love with it all, including George, the sweetest golden retriever you’ll ever meet. If it’s peace, quiet, and warmth that you’re seeking for your next vacation, look no further that the Owen House on Campobello Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in June at the Owen House, enjoying the hospitality of the hosts and the beauty of the overlook setting on the Bay of Fundy. The antique rooms and linens are meticulously cared for and the common rooms filled with interesting books, fine art, and creative vignettes. Joyce's art is on view in the gallery and in other rooms.

Breakfasts in the dining room are delicious, nutritious, and delightful. But we both felt that the most amazing aspect of Owen house is the quality of the light coming through the spotless windows.

Joyce and Jan's commitment to and knowledge of the community enriched our stay immensely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during the first annual Bay of Fundy Marathon. We got lucky. Every room in Lubec Maine was sold out, so I began researching the Canadian Island option. I was able to secure the last room in the house. I felt lucky just to have a room. The owners were sweet and attentive. Even their dog Georgie was full of love upon our arrival. The house was a historic treasure and it emanated a cozy feeling of being on the Bay, isolated and tucked in another era. The sounds of the water and the foghorns were hypnotizing. Their location overlooking the bay and towards the US (Lubec) was gorgeous. The breakfast time gathering gave the marathoners a chance to bond and chat. The sausage, bread, pancakes and eggs were delicious and served with love. On the marathon morning no one could partake of their normal special breakfast time because of pre run dietary restrictions and early departure. Still Joyce made sure to leave out bowls of fruit, tons of coffee and other treats to make sure folks were taken care. We will come back to the Inn someday. The island is so special, we are planning to return to Campobello again and check out more of the Fundy Isles....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family, including my elderly parents, spent two wonderful nights at the Owen House. The inn has an incredible setting up on the hill overlooking the water at Welshpool, and is a very short drive (or bike ride) to Roosevelt park. The owners were exceptional in making our first visit to Campabello special with extensive knowledge of the island and its history. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the water view rooms, but all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I just loved my relaxing stay at the Owen House, every room was full of wonderful collections, the grounds were bursting with spring flowers and the staff treated my like an important guest. The breakfast was wonderful, with plenty to choose from and it was wonderful have breakfast with people staying from all over the world. Jan and Joyce were so helpful, when choosing trails to walk, restaurants in Lubec, Maine (right across the bridge) or other points of interest. I loved sitting in the adirondack chairs, over looking the bay with thoughts of how the Roosevelt's might have enjoyed their summer home. I would definitely recommend the Owen House for your next trip to Campobello!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would not personally want to live in a house like this but felt privileged to be able to stay in it for a night. Quaint is hardly the word. Our bedroom floor had settled so much that walking was almost a balance challenge. From claw foot bathtubs to spinning wheels to rocking horses, the house is filled with antiques. Rooms were cheerful and comfortable and breakfast was nicely done in the attractive dining room. Exploring the extensive house and grounds was fun. I admire the owners for their commitment in maintaining this historic treasure.

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd and 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Owen House is my idea of the perfect B&B. I’ve never stayed in one I’ve enjoyed as much and wish we could have stayed for a month. Though the house is an historic treasure, with a spectacular water view, generous grounds and 100+ year-old trees, its comfortable lack of pretension adds greatly to the charm. Jan and Joyce are warm and welcoming innkeepers, knowledgeable about every aspect of Campobello and full of good advice. They clearly enjoy sharing their marvelous house with guests. They have filled it with antiques as well as collections of all sorts - shells, lobster claws, stones from the beaches, watercolors. Our bathroom had original, working bathroom fixtures, and though it was right beside the staircase going to the 2nd floor, it was surprisingly quiet, comfortable and cozy. You can believe every word on The Owen House web site. Don’t pass up a chance to stay at this exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owen House Country Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen House Country Inn and Gallery

Address: 11 Welshpool Street | Welshpool, New Brunswick E0G 3H0, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Campobello Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Campobello Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Country Inn Campobello Island
Campobello Island Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen House Country Inn and Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.