We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Want To Leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Suites

Save Saved
You added Cliffside Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliffside Suites
22 Bayview Drive, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1E1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Alma
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Didn't Want To Leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our 5 nights in Alma staying at the Cliffside Suites. We booked the Matthew's Head Suite and thought it was wonderful. Beautiful views of the town & harbour from the huge windows (which changed throughout the day depending on whether the tide was in or out), a kitchen with everything we needed, our own BBQ and private outside eating area, a jetted tub, and a comfy king sized bed. We didn't want to ever leave! The town itself is located right at the entrance to the Fundy National Park, where there are some amazing hikes (especially the Moosehorn/Laverty Falls loop where you come across 3 waterfalls, 2 of which you can swim in)(Dickson Falls was another beautiful hike and fairly short) and a 9 hole golf course. We spent some time out at Hopewell Rocks as well which was only about a 30 minute drive (highly recommend kayaking the rocks with "Baymount Outdoor Adventures). We picked up a cooked 5lb lobster for supper one night from the Alma Lobster Shop and discovered that the bake shop in town made wonderful sticky buns, multigrain bread, and pie. If you get a chance, drive out and have a meal at the "Cape House Restaurant" at Cape Enrage. Our supper there was excellent. All I can say is that there's lots to do and see in and around this quaint little town, and I can't imagine staying anywhere better than the Cliffside Suites!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We spent our 7th Anniversary in the Heron Cove Suite. The suite exceeded our expectations.It was perfect! Clean, beautifully decorated, and the whirpool jet tub was AWESOME! The view was spectacular! We had complete privacy. We can't wait to return. What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed in the Herring Cove Suite for a night while hiking in the park. The view is amazing. The accomodations comfortable and spacious. The bed is comfortable and the kitchenette efficient for breakfast and full meals if you'd like. Well decorated with a view to the local environment. The proprietors are friendly, caring and community minded. A gem of a place in one of the last unspoiled ocean-front areas in Eastern Canada. We will return regularly.

Room Tip: Either suite will provide all you need. Oh, the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family of 5 and the doodle enjoyed our 3 nights in the Owl's Head Cabin in Alma. This 3 bedroom cabin, one and one-half bath, has all of the amenities including a washer and dryer and dishwasher. While not air conditioned the cottage cools down very nicely in the evening and the breezes from the Bay of Fundy smell wonderful. The kitchen has everything that you will need, with all the basic utensils and everything you need to get at your lobster picked up from the lobstermen in Alma. Lots of deck space to relax, a bbq. and firepit with lots of split logs and kindling. We bought marshmellows, graham crackers and chocolate for s'mores but I couldn't find any matches. The kids made the s'mores in the microwave instead. Not as much fun but still tasty. Apparently the cottage is generally rented by the week and we were just lucky to be able to rent it for 3 nights. Alma was great fun, right at the gate to Bay of Fundy National Park with great hiking and biking in the Park. The tide in Alma is incredible with so much beach for the doodle to play on.
On check-in, we signed in and we were told that key was in the unit. We never saw anyone again until we went up to the main house to say we were leaving. On check-in the place was very tidy and there was helpful information in the welcome package.

For some reason Rogers doesn't work in Alma so no email from work for 3 days. That was a treat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Cliffside Suites is a great place. We stayed in Matthew's Head. The room was well decorated and modern. We had a deck with a table and bbq. The room also had a small kitchen (although we certainly didn't want to cook). Some of the reviews comment that the owners weren't friendly - while we only encountered them upon check in and out they were very pleasant. In fact, we appreciated that we felt isolated with no one bothering us. Another review commented on the fact that the place is a little hard to find. This is true, however I don't think this is any fault of the owners. It's the way the roads are set up - they kind of cross paths. It's a small place - ask any local and they'll help you out. Out of all the places we saw in Alma - I think this is by far the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Herring Cove suite which was wonderful. Like new, clean, modern interior. It had everything you would need for a night or week stay. Our bed was a king-first good night sleep I've had. The view outside our window was great-the low tide was incredible!!!
Now for the negatives-first off, the signage was terrible. There was a faded out sign on Rte 114 that said Offside-we had to backtrack because we missed it . Then the place had a sign, well off the road and it was covered with grass/bushes which again we missed. The WORST part was check-in. I rang the bell, a woman answered and I introduced myself. She didn't tell me her name nor welcome me. She told me where to park and if I had any questions ask her...she wasn't welcoming so going back to her took a bit of nerve.
I went back 2 times-to ask about where to buy food and to settle my bill since we were leaving early the next day. Upon checkout, she didn't thank us!!!
The location is great-next to Fundy coastal trail and the national park.

Room Tip: Buy your food (breakfast not included) in St John's or Moncton-in the village of Alma there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fundy312, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are eco-conscious and our signage is small wooden directional signs (fishing village theme) versus the large commercial & ugly ones. The signs are maintained by the business association. But we do agree with you that they are fairly faded, so I painted them upon receipt of your review. As for feeling unwelcome, this has us a bit dumbfounded. My wife is a chatter box and usually you have to excuse yourself to get away. I do so often! She remembers you well, as you had a long day of driving and were quite tired. I think you thought we were a B & B and served breakfast. You came to reception a few times, and she thought she had advised you well on where and what o do. In any case, she is sorry if you felt differently. Hoping your vacation in beautiful Fundy was a pleasant experience.
Ken & Laurette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed three nights at Cliffside, and experienced two different suites. Both were incredibly well appointed, clean and creative. Best of all, they both had spectacular views whether you sat inside or out on our private deck. Imagine, every day being able to watch the tides roll in and out from up high on a cliff, just outside of town, or watch the lobster boats going in and out of harbour, or even the fog tumbling over the nearby hills and a rainbow shortly after! Kitchenettes are very well equipped. Best advice is to buy your groceries (for snacks and any meals you'll want), before you get to Alma...much cheaper and definitely more variety. Getting fresh lobster from the tiny shops is so tempting every night, just add the sides and you're good to go! We did the sea kayaking in town and had a fabulous experience. Restaurants in town are few but delicious fresh entrees and appies with local products. Cliffside has been on our bucket list for two years, ever since seeing an ad for it...and it was truly a dream come true, just as lovely as the pictures indicated. There are few places in Canada with a better view and definitely not for this practical price limit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you, and the previous guests who submitted reviews of Cliffside. We truly love your feedback, and are heartened by your kind words. And better than that, it is the wonderful and interesting people we meet. It keeps us going!
Again, a big thank you for those who have posted comments.
Ken & Laurette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Suites

Address: 22 Bayview Drive, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1E1, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Alma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cliffside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Alma
Cliffside Suites Alma, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.