We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marifield Manor B&B

Save Saved
You added Marifield Manor B&B to your Saves list
Marifield Manor B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marifield Manor B&B
2036 Sunnybrook Rd, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R2W1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Shelagh hosts her guests at Marifield Manor in such a comfortable and welcoming fashion - we felt immediately at home. Her wonderful B & B is located on a lovely treed lot with terraced gardens inviting a stroll. The beautiful heritage manor is filled with warmth and interest. Wonderful woods, intriguing built-in closets and cabinetry and an amazing array of antiques all contribute to a relaxing and enjoyable stay. A lovely breakfast each morning, served in the beautiful dining room, is a great start to the day. We have already recommended Marifield Manor to friends, and plan to return as often as possible!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are thinking of riding all or parts of the Cowichen Valley Trail this summer, you should consider spending a couple nights at the Marifield Manor B&B. This beautiful place is only a couple miles from the trail and you can then head up towards the Kinsol Trestle and beyond. We took the trail up to the Glenora trailhead and then cut back down to Duncan on Indian Road. The track if firm enough for a road bike, but it would be best to have some wider tires. For a full day trip (35 - 40 miles?) you can follow the trail all the way up to Lake Cowichan and then back down to Duncan, with a loop back on country roads to the B&B on Lake Shawnigan. Shelagh is a great host and the location is fantastic. Great pub nearby too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My travel partners and I really enjoyed our stay with Shelagh. The home is beautiful and comfortable, the location is very tranquil and scenic and Shelagh is a wonderful host who gave us lots of great local advice. Upon arrival we enjoyed tea and a freshly baked cake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Shelagh was a gracious, organized host in her beautiful, antique manor. She offered an inviting atmosphere, a posh breakfast, sightseeing recommendations, detailed tour of her house and heirlooms (upon request), pristine and comfortable accommodations. This affordable Bed and Breakfast would suit any travelers, whether couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

As a shawnigan lake school parent I will be back to stay with shelagh. A comfortable and warm stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Host Shelagh John offers the traveler a luxurious retreat into the past. A restored Edwardian mansion full of beautiful antiques and comfortable, quiet rooms, all a short walk from Shawnigan Lake, were a treat. Shelagh prepared delicious breakfasts, showed us her extensive garden, and took us on a walk through the neighborhood near the lake. Another walk took us to the extensive grounds and gardens of a boarding school. Shelagh told us all about the fascinating history of this town in the South Cowichan River Valley near Victoria..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at Marifield Manor last weekend and were much impressed with the host Shelagh John, the food, the house, and the garden. When we arrived, Shelagh gave us a warm welcome with fresh brewed tea on the huge wrap-around porch that included homemade coffee cake. I was exhausted from the drive and not much sleep from the night before. Shelagh's friendliness, hot tea, and cake revived me. She was full of good information about places for us to visit, and her slight Irish accent was charming. She single handedly maintains the vast garden with incredible varieties of plants and flowers, and a huge B&B with an awesome array of antiques, the likes of which you see on "Antiques Roadshow." If you like antiques, you'll like Marifield. The rates were reasonable, $125 a night for a suite for 2 people, and we were the only people there so we had the whole house to ourselves. For breakfast, Shelagh served us homemade granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit,, wholewheat toast, eggs cooked to order & bacon, and fresh coffee. She even wore a chef's smock. The room I stayed in had big windows the bathtub was claw footed and I almost swam in it. Everything was sparkling clean & exquisitely decorated. She even loaned us towels to take to the lake, and gave us directions to all kiinds of places, and let us interrupt her several times from her private lodgings to answer questions. Moreover, she never asked for money. I had to remind my friend to pay since it was her turn, and I thought she might forget to pay and Shelagh might not ask us for $$!

Room Tip: Ask Shelagh what she recommends, she'll answer you honestly, and try to accommodate you to meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marifield Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marifield Manor B&B

Address: 2036 Sunnybrook Rd, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R2W1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Edwardian Manor house with beautiful period antiques- located in the heart of Shawnigan Lake, B.C. Choose from queen or kingsized bedrooms all with en-suites and large clawfoot soaker tubs. Situated close to Shawnigan Lake Private School for visiting families. Gourmet breakfast can include housemade granola and breads, crepes, delicious omeletes, freshly made berry sauces and Cowichan Bay farm sausages and cured bacon. A first class establishment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marifield Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marifield Manor B&B Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marifield Manor B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.