We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1874 West Shawnigan Lake Road, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I own and run a similar business, so I know a great hostess and a great establishment when I come across one - and Della and Dragonfly Dock B&B are exactly that ... GREAT!!
I would not hesitate to return, nor to recommend to others - the food was amazing, the location is beautiful and the quality of sleep was sublime.
We enjoyed interacting with the other guests ... sharing our adventures of the day, sharing a glass of wine and sharing a great game of billiards!!
We'll be back. Thank you.
Peter & Paula, Sunshine Coast

Room Tip: All are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are glad that you had such a great visit! It was a pleasure to meet your family, and to have such a spirited pool game in the guest lounge. We always enjoy having guests take advantage of everything there is to offer here to make the most of their stay! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We called late in the afternoon, while in the area, and we were told we could only get one night. When we arrived we were so taken by the home and the gracious hosts, when we were offered 3 more nights we didn't hesitate. Such a beautiful home overlooking Lake Shawnigan, the Trans Canada Trail out the back door and ideal access to the lake from the dock out front. Della and Kevin are so welcoming they make you feel right at home and Della's breakfasts are a gourmet's delight. Oh and there is a hottub and a games room with pool table!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
One of the greatest joys of owning a B&B is that we make new friends every day, and we feel we were very fortunate to have you stay with us. I am glad that you did stop by and we could make it all work for you. We hope you will stop by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the first weekend in July. My husband was very upset when he learned of our plans. By the time we left he was raving about how spoiled he felt. The home is spotless, comfortable and beautiful. The bedrooms are in a private quiet area with views of lake. Beautiful grounds with lots of places to relax. Dock with paddle boat and canoe across street. Lounging shaded patio directly on lake. Kitchen, pool table and chairs in living area just off bedrooms. The chairs are so comfortable you don't want to go to bed. And the breakfasts are delicious, freshly prepared and eaten overlooking the lake. Wish we lived closer so that we could return again. My husband said it was the best part of a week long vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It feels good to be right! I'm glad that your holiday turned out so well. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us for the Canada Day holiday and have a nice chat over coffee. You are always welcome to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I can't recommend Dragonfly Dock enough. We were visiting Vancouver Island from Britain and travelled all over the island and Dragonfly Dock was far and away the best place we stayed. Della is a wonderful host who's meticulous attention to detail makes the Dock such a warm and homely destination. The facilities are great- they include a guest kitchen, communal TV area (as well as your own in your room), pool table, hot tub and access to a kayak and paddle boat down on the dock.
There's plenty to do in the surrounding area to keep you busy, with Victoria and Butchart Gardens all within easy reach by car. Or you could just kick back and relax on Lake Shawnigan, which is absolutely stunning.
The only regret we had with our stay was that we hadn't booked for longer. It was with a heavy heart that we packed our bags- and I've certainlly missed the amazing breakfasts Della creates!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I can't believe it is already a month since your visit! I enjoyed getting to know you and hear of your adventures each day. We were happy to share of bit of the Canadian experience with you on your brief visit to Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during the Shawnigan Lake Triathlon. Della accommodated us by making us breakfast very early so we could make it to the start just 3K down the road. Had a terrific soak in their hot tub overlooking the lake after the race.

The second morning we could take our time at breakfast and enjoyed lattes, just baked apple strudel, peaches and blueberries and perfect eggs benedict. Della is a warm and friendly host and this is a great spot to stay while discovering the Cobble Hill and Shawnigan lake area. Dawn & Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dawn and Paul,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us, and more importantly, to host a Triathlon Champion! Congratulations on your success! We hope to see you again soon. Della
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delta bc
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here during regatta week end. Great hospitality and delicious breakfast provided by Della.
Slept beautifully in Moose Lodge room. Immaculate room and bathroom with all the amenities including bath robes to access to the hot tub.
Dock is down the steep driveway and across the street, but is lovely and tranquil on the lake.
Della was very accommodating with the breakfast schedule to enable the race watching .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
What would a regatta be without a few early mornings? Regattas are always so much fun, and it was a pleasure to have your family staff with us for this event and join in for a great chat over breakfast. Thank you for your complimentary review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wonderful B&B experience. The location is beautiful and very rejuvenating. There is a great hot-tub on the deck overlooking the lake. The accomodation was so comfortable and clean with lovely amenities. We stayed in the Moose Lodge which has a king bed with it's own wall mounted fireplace and flat screen. It was like a home away from home. The family was extremely welcoming and the breakfasts were gourmet quality and delicious. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Moose Lodge room has it's own restroom and a king sized bed. The other 2 rooms have queen sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks to much for your kind words. We hope you will stop by on your next visit to the area as we enjoyed chatting with you both. We hope you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1874 West Shawnigan Lake Road, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our private, forested, lakefront one acre bed and breakfast. Located on Shawnigan Lake's waterfront and backing on to the Trans Canada Trail for hiking or cycling, there are three guest rooms to serve your needs -1 King with ensuite, 2 Queen with shared bath. Plush guest robes, hairdryers, internet access and quality amenities available. All guests have access to the outdoor hot tub, guest lounge with pool table, fridge, microwave, coffee and tea and more. Incredible Views, Delicious Breakfasts, Warm Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Dock Bed And Breakfast Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.