We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Tank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke 'N Water

Smoke 'N Water
1-1600 Stroulger Road | At Pacific Shores Resort, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada
+1 250-468-7192
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue, Family Fare, American, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the Ocean View while you dine on our Southern Cuisine inspired menu with a West Coast twist. We specialize in Southern Down Home Comfort Food with an Upscale West Coast Flair. Coconut Prawns, Jambalaya, Smoked Ribs, Pulled Pork, Shrimp Tacos, as well as Gourmet Burgers, Pizza, and More. Kids Menu, Vegetarian Dishes, and Great Service. Your place to Hang Out.
Richmond, B.C.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fish Tank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This restaurant had a no tipping policy and the service did not suffer at all. Great food such as the ribs/chicken combo. Service was friendly and fast. The owner even chipped in to help serve on a busy weeknight. Definitely worth dining at !!
Oh - did i mention there had a great fish tank to keep kids occupied. Gigantic eel !!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    16
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Delectable Drinks, Lovely Location, Superb Servers and Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Cajun Blackened Catfish, whipped butter corn on the cob, served with rice pilaf. Complimented with an amazing drink special; White wine Sangria with fresh strawberries! A true southern delight! Presentation and service was absolutley outstanding! Not to mention the awe-inspiring view, as the sun set over the sea, while sitting on the patio with heaters and cozy with blankets! What more could you ask for!
Great for couples, ample romance!
An amazing way to end the day, after a truely relaxing experience at the AquaTerre Spa...
A resort you must stay at and enjoy every feature, did I mention the beautiful outdoor hot-tub?
A little something for every type of person out there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“First Dinner Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner. The food was tasty but the kitchen needs to be more coordinated. Some of our food (ribs and veggies) were just barely luke warm while the chicken was pleasantly hot. My husband's filet mignon was well done when he had order medium rare.
They have only been open a short while so we will definitely give them another visit and hopefully they will have ironed out the challenges in the kitchen.
No tipping is a unique idea and our final bill was a pleasant surprise.
Gail Bacon
dgbacon@shaw.ca


We returned to Smoke 'N Water last night. Unfortunately they had run out of the dish I had decided to try. Can't remember the name but it was a pork dish over mashed potatoes and sounded wonderful.I love to try dishes that I don't cook at home myself. I opted for the fried chicken and my husband had the seafood fettucini. Both dishes were very good and served nice and hot as they should be.Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. Our wine was even reduced by $1.00 as we were there while Happy Hour was still on. Nice surprise!
We will definitely return. The view is fabulous and the restaurant is attractively decorated and laid out.
Gail Bacon

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice location...falls short as a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Been enjoying various restaurants in the area and this one, though nicely located at Nanoose Bay falls short to provide WOW factor dining. Came for late lunch (2:30 pm) and began with Caesar salad, mediocre and then shared coconut prawns and a twisted Hawaiian pizza. Prawns were good with a creole marmalade dipping sauce. Pizza pretty good, a bit doughy but toppings good. Getting our wine at the beginning was a bit of a chore...took some time and when inquired with the waitress if all ok, is bar open...she responded she couldn't find the bartender. Any inquiries we had waitress said she didn't know and would ask, so assume she was pretty new. An ok dining experience, certainly better choices in the area. Big fish tanks interesting, kinda neat, decor pretty casual.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“trying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I went there with several friends for dinner. Sent the meal requests in advance as asked. The food itself was good, but it took 1 1/2 hours to get to the table. Not good. The staff were friendly and helpful, but there was obviously a lack of organisation. A bottle of wine was ordered but a different one was brought to the table. We just drank it instead of waiting. Everyone was nice and seemed to be trying, but the evening's enjoyment was lessened by the confusion and the delay.I don't think I will go back in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke 'N Water also viewed

Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Smoke 'N Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke 'N Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.