We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Plans - Impulse Stay - WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Shores Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Shores Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1-1600 Stroulger Road, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Parksville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Last Minute Plans - Impulse Stay - WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Last week, my fiancée and I decided to do a last minute day trip to Victoria and on our way back decided to stop at the Landing at Pacific Shores for dinner on our way back. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for renovations and apparently has since re-opened. It was a gorgeous evening and we were craving a swim and hottub so we inquired about rates.

We soon found ourselves in a beautifully appointed one bedroom suite overlooking the estuary. As we had just returned from grocery shopping, we cooked a lovely dinner in our suite and then hit the hottub with a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset.

This place is massive, and we felt like we were the only ones around. The rooms are spectacular with super comfy beds, gorgeous linens, soaker tubs, and all so well priced!

We stayed an additional night.

We enjoyed our time there and will definitely be back!! Special thanks to Nicole and Irene, charming ladies who were so helpful!

Room Tip: Ask the staff what they recommend! That's what we did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with Pacific Shores on your impulse vacation! We're glad that you loved it so much you decided to stay for an additional night. We look forward to having to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    100
    55
    44
    32
See reviews for
112
127
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Two couples travelling together, we exchanged our week with rci into this resort. Our experience of this resort started with a friendly, helpful receptionist and things kept getting better and better. Beautiful two bedroom unit with wonderful views over bay. All furnishings comfortable and modern. Second bedroom large including sofa, small refrigerator, coffee maker and as main bathroom is next to this room it can almost be treated as a second unit. We were concerned from previous reports about time share owners not being welcomed but we could not have been happier with our treatment. Both owners and staff very friendly and helpful. This resort is a good base to explore being central in Island, two hours to Victoria or ucleulet , 1/2 hour to departure bay ferry or Coombes, Englishman river park. Restaurant has just reopened and setting and food very nice

Room Tip: Unit 522/523 top floor bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review of Pacific Shores Resort & Spa! It is great to hear you found your rooms were comfortable and our staff were friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arranged our seven day stay through RCI after spending an afternoon and evening in Victoria while on an Alaska cruise several years ago. We thought Victoria and the gardens were great and wanted to see more of the Island. What a great decision that was. We stayed at the Pacific Shores Resort and that was perfect. Our unit was very clean and inviting. We had a one bedroom with a kitchen, dining area, living room with a fireplace and a balcony.The bath had a shower and a whirlpool tub. There was a washer and dryer in the unit. What more could we have wanted. The manager and her staff at the front desk couldn't have been any more professional, friendly or helpful. We relied on their suggestions regarding where to go, what to see and the best places to eat. Their advice was extremely helpful and very much appreciated. All in all it was a fabulous vacation on a beautiful island full of friendly people. We would love to go back again someday and we would look forward to staying at the Pacific Shores Resort.
Ron and Rita, Indiana

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! It is great to hear you found your room fit your needs perfectly and our staff were helpful and able to assist you with suggestions of places to visit in the area . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Pacific Shores Resort in Parksville BC the first week of April. There were 4 adults and 2 children. Right off the bat I need to say this is one of the best family vacations we have ever taken and most of it had to do with the accommodations and the area. We chose this resort because it was springbreak for our grandchildren (ages 11 & 8) and we wanted to drive somewhere that we could all get to easily. From Oregon and Washington this resort was easy access from Port Angeles to Victoria to Parksville which is about 15 miles north of Nanaimo on the east side of Vancouver Island. We had gone through RCI and I always get a little uneasy about an RCI trade as we have all heard the horror stories of those who got stuck in a dungeon with no windows! LOL!

Our unit was huge for the 6 of us. It was a one bedroom suite with a lockoff for the 2nd bedroom. The living room was big with a fireplace and balcony over looking Craig Bay. The dining area was connected to the living area. The kitchen, though small, was adequate. No garbage disposal so I hope they consider those in the next unit upgrades. The master bedroom was as big as the living room with a Jacuzzi tub. There is a double sided fireplace, one into the bedroom and one into the tub. Also the master has a balcony overlooking the water. The lockoff was down the hallway entrance and had a full bathroom, 2 double beds, small refrigerator and coffee pot. It also had a balcony but it was on the parking lot side but away from the wind off the bay. We had way more than enough room for 6 of us!

The resort is a layed back resort with a very nice size indoor pool with a jucuzzi. There are 3 other outdoor hot tubs available. We took advantage of the pool and hot tubs every day. We took advantage of the kayaking available. We walked the trails and the edge of the bay. We explored all over the area including Parksville, Qualicum Bay, and Nanaimo. We hiked into Englishman River Falls which was a very nice, well maintained park.

Everything about our vacation was relaxing and fun. The people at the resort were wonderful to deal with and brought us extra soap, tissue, etc. whenever we called. The 11 year old was worried he would not be able to use his electronics but we all used our electronics for the week so the wireless internet is excellent.

I was a bit worried about the weather but we had sunshine the entire week. It was not warm by any means but dry was great. The staff was out working on the spring gardens each day and I am sure the grounds are gorgeous in the summer months. But even so soon after winter the grounds were very well kept.

There is absolutely nothing about Pacific Shores Resort that I would not recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean, relaxing place to stay on Vancouver Island BC. I will go back again and I am sure I would have 5 other people willing to do a return trip also.

Thank you Pacific Shores for the excellent service and the everything else you have done to make your resort a return destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in the units that are closest to the boat ramp and had a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We were thrilled to read your 5-star review of Pacific Shores. We are so happy that your trip was one of the best family vacations yet! We appreciate your compliments about the resort grounds and room accommodations and how they were perfect for your group of six. Our staff is very pleased to hear about your review because we strive to provide vacation experiences like the one you beautifully described. You should definitely try to come back in the summer time to experience the warmer weather and spring gardens Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Used RCI Points. Paid extra points for room to accommodate three people. Upon arrival, provided with a room with no windows and a patio door opening under a stairway. Furniture and carpet appeared to have been retrieved from local dump. Three people could not move around much less stay there. I complained. Moved to a room up above and still under the stairs...same size...same shabby carpet and furniture.

I went to the front desk and complained, loudly. Resort less than a third full and manager made excuses, stated never upgrade RCI members. My RCI paperwork clearly states an automatic upgrade to be provided without calling them if space available. I hate making a scene but I did - right in the lobby. Manager provided another room in hotel section. Less desirable room in this section. All other rooms have view of the bay and this room has view of roof of office. STINGY AND MEAN SPIRITED...BAA HUMBUG...SCROOG-ISH.

Sent email to RCI Sunday with no response and Wednesday and still no response by Saturday.

To put in perspective, I get points when someone else uses my Florida timeshare spot which has bedroom, full kitchen and living room overlooking the intercoastal waterway with the beach steps away. In exchange I am provided crap. I am not letting anyone use my timeshare again (which is very desirable week 4) and will not even if I do not use it. I am finished with RCI and I will never return to Pacific Shores and I will warn all of my friends away from Pacific Shores.

I want to move to the area and met with a realtor who stated she has heard similar stories about Pacific Shores. Apparently, there was a bankruptcy here...no wonder. Mark my words - it will happen again with this kind of management.

Room Tip: I have no tips. I looked at three rooms and none desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A 5 night stay with friends in a two bedroom suite was great. Travelling the area and seeing the sights, we enjoyed our stay.
The front desk was helpful and gave us good hints of where we could eat and potential activities in the area.
It was a good stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for five nights at Pacific Shores. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the area and that our front desk provided helpful dining and activity suggestions. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we hope that you’ll come back to Pacific Shores on your next visit to Vancouver Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Used RCI points and got a 2 bedroom room overlooking the bay. Loved it!

The check in was quick easy and smooth.

Loved the BBQ area.

The spa service was excellent. Had a massage.

All the staff no matter where we met them were always helpful!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review and choosing to stay with us at Pacific Shores for RCI points! It is great to read that you enjoyed the 2-bedroom suite overlooking the bay. We really appreciate your compliments about our helpful staff and spa experience. We hope to welcome you back to Pacific Shores on your next family getaway to Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 1-1600 Stroulger Road, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanoose Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Shores Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel Nanoose Bay
Pacific Shores Resort And Spa Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.