We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced cabins in a lovely, quaint location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Telegraph Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telegraph Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telegraph Cove Resort
Save
You added Telegraph Cove Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced cabins in a lovely, quaint location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I suggest staying somewhere else and just visiting Telegraph Cove for the day. The springs in the twin mattresses in our two person cabin poked into our backs. The bathroom was tiny and the thin walls allowed you to easily hear your neighbors. On the positive side....the view of the boats out the window was delightful and the cabin was clean with a well stocked kitchen. The staff was extremely helpful, opening the office after hours so I could retrieve something left behind.

Room Tip: Cottage # 14 is on the end and has only one neighbor from which you may get noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There is not alot of options to stay here. The Wastell Manor, where we stayed, is basically a B and B minus on B...breakfast. The bed was fine, the room was rustic and the bathroom was ok. Definitely not handicap accessible as there are easily 20/25 stairs to get to the main floor. Pack light. The prices are a bit high for what you are getting. But that being said they village/town is only open, I believe, from May to October?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a fantastic spot, the whale watching is excellent as is the Killer Whale café.

The accommodation we chose (H2) turned out to be an old property (as they all are, that is the charm of the place) lined with recent cedar which smelt great, it had a good view across the cove and suited us well except for the tiny bathroom.
You can get used to a tiny space but not to a toilet that refuses to flush even after pouring in a bucket of water from height !
This problem was so bad that we used to walk down the hill to the communal toilet block which seemed luxurious by comparison.
The drains in H2 were flawed in general because the sink and basin would gurgle and bubble loudly at odd moments (loud enough to wake you during the night) we assume that was due to the workmen in the house next door using their shower at odd hours.

A terrific stay spoilt by old plumbing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleby magna,leics
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The boardwalk and wooden properties date back to the turn of the 20th Century and have been artfully converted into a small resort. Naturally it would be difficult to turn this into 21st. century living and who needs it? Our coffee shop suite looked out to the Johnson Straights and we watched orca and porpoises feeding. saw river otters playing on the dock, and observed the plentiful bird life. We were charmed. Just outside was Stubbs Island Whale Watching who provide spectacular tours with excellent and knowledgeable captains and staff. The whale museum is worth a visit as is the coffee shop. The restaurant produced good wholesome food. We learnt that one main course was enough for two and on some nights there is a salmon barbeque. Don't expect padding and T.V. somewhere like this just doesn't need it

Room Tip: The nearer the cove you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Even is the houses are rather simple and we got at first some difficulties in getting them heated, this saty was unforgettable: we lieved in an ancient house within a former board walk community. In the cove you can watch the bird life, the tides , all the buildings standing on piles. We did a phantastic whale watching trip (lots of dolphins, humpacks and porpoise , seals and sea lions, but no orca on our trip ...) and had our best fresh grilles salmon ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

It's a quaint place built off a boardwalk with brightly coloured clapperboard -looks like something out of Disney and views from accommodation out over the sea are spectacular. We were in cabin 14 and it has definitely seen better days and needs major investment to bring up to a reasonable standard.

Two single beds that have seen better days and although linen clean covers are clearly old and at night they are needed as room cools down. Cutlery and plates provided but not tempted to use them and sign over sink advising that fish shouldn't be gutted there make it clear that these establishments are intended primarily for guys out on fishing trips. Storage minimal as are facilities - no tv no internet

Bathroom towels clean and plentiful but whb hanging off wall shower very old and basic with holes knocked through walls for service pipes and worn out vinyl on the floor not very attractive. There is a restaurant and cafe serving food, both expensive for what is provided as is the local shop -captured market.

For the price paid I don't believe that this standard of accommodation is acceptable in the modern day but can't fault the staff who are all very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We drove in to see the resort as we could not get a room there for the night but we did not want to miss seeing the place. We stayed for about two hours and enjoyed walking around and reading the signs with the history on them of the houses and the other buildings. It is such a quaint place. If we ever get a chance to come back we will be booking a room months ahead so we can really enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: We never got to stay there but all the places looked like a great place to stay. Some right on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Telegraph Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Resort

Address: Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Telegraph Cove
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Telegraph Cove Hotel Telegraph Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telegraph Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.