We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Telegraph Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telegraph Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telegraph Cove Resort
Save
You added Telegraph Cove Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

There was only one week to go before the resort closed for the winter so limited facilities. However we stayed in Cottage 9 which is fine and there was no noise to disturb us apart from the fridge/freezer in the same room. The one restaurant served very healthy portions of good food. Unfortunately the weather was poor which spoiled our stay - but not the fault of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had one of the rooms on the boardwalk - we were woken up at 430 in the morning with fishermen going out for their big catch. If you are there for Rest and Relaxation, this is not the place for you. We could not keep the window open because we could smell rotting fish. The boat slips that were just below our window were filled with kelp, fish guts and fish bones - looked gross and smelled worse! It would have been really easy to clean the slips up. We were not happy about the smell and the 430am wake up call and asked for a refund the next morning. The person that we spoke to said that they need to speak to the owner. The owner did not come out and talk to us, they left it up to their staff to deliver the bad news. No - we were not going to get a refund. Great customer service?! The food in the restaurant was expensive and you certainly did not get what you paid for. Bears had been know to be around but not one of the garbage cans was bear proof, hence encouraging bears to return. This is why they have to shoot bears - not very smart is it. Telegraph cove and the surronding area is a beautiful place but it just too bad that Telegraph resort not so much.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telegraph Cove hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in the apartment above the coffee shop right at the museum end of the boardwalk. What a view! We had Orcas, River Otters, Eagles, porpoise/dolphins(?) all in view just from the apartment window! We really enjoyed our stay and would love to be able to go again. A Black bear was walking around under the boardwalk at dusk; another foraging over by the RV parking area. Accommodation basic but everything was there that we needed. The museum is truly wonderful and everyone we encountered was so helpful. The whale watching trip with the scientist on board couldn't possibly have been bettered; it was awesome. The scientist made a point of getting to everyone on board and making sure that all questions were answered and he was so informative. Everyone was welcomed on board with a personal comment which was very nice.
Tip to housekeepers - one toilet roll is not enough for a stay of two nights and a day for three adults. At the price of accommodation I would have thought they could have spared another....................not a complaint just an observation.
Pub and restaurant a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: Suite above coffee shop has the greatest view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff was friendly. We stayed in Wastell Manor, Room 1. We are not fussy travelers and like adventure. Our room was a low ceiing addition to the house with a small window and double bed. It was clean, but depressing. The walls were painted Pepto-Bismal pink. Room 2 looked worse. The upstairs rooms, 3 and 4 have nice views and are larger. All four rooms share a living room, day room with good view and a kitchen which was fine. The location is very pictureesque on the west side of the cove and treeless on the eastside where a 29 unit modern hotel and RV park have been constructed. We like best that we could easily go to Port Mc Neill, Alert Bay and Sonitula during the day and met interesting adventure travelers at night. We liked least our room, the mediocare food at the restaurant and the lack of food to purchase at the General Store.

Room Tip: In Wastell Manor, select upstairs rooms 3 & 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A great place to relax and get away from it all. Rustic but comfortable and cosy accommodation. A great place to enjoy outdoor activities. Abundant wildlife and beautiful scenery. Helpful and friendly staff. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I came with big expectation, wanted to stay couple nights , rent sea kayaks, enjoy good food...... but stayed only 5 minutes. After I parked and made 5 steps away form my car , small Suzuki with two old people calling themself "managers" but did not have prove stopped and old lady screaming at me : "Hey, you did not pay for parking! and that she is a manager...." Enough to ruin my otherwise great evening. I left and don't have plans to come back ever. There is so many great places around there where I don't have to pay for parking. Sorry if resort is not part of whole property, this review is for Telegraph Cove overall.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous area. Accommodation was comfortable enough with a beautiful view (we stayed in Wastell Manor). We did not expect much in the way of facilities but the shop was sparsely and understandably rather expensively stocked ( sparsely because of it being early season?). We were only there one night so made do but be prepared to either stock up en route or go into Port MacNeill for groceries. It was also dificult to get accurate information about opening times of the bar, restaurant and cafe as well which I found very surprising.
The other part of the but is the amount of development that appears to be taking place.
We are so glad we have been but would probably stick on the main highway past next time.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Telegraph Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Resort

Address: Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Telegraph Cove
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Telegraph Cove Hotel Telegraph Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telegraph Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.