We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic winter holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinnacle lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pinnacle lodge to your Saves list
Pinnacle lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2503 Eagle Court | PO Box 1033, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sun Peaks
B.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic winter holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Pinnacle Lodge in the fantastic ski resort at Sunpeaks B.C. We booked two hotel rooms for ourselves and our 4 children ages 23, 21, 19 and 12 (3 comfortably slept in each room). The accomodations were deluxe, and the hotel had wonderful 'common' areas for us to use for watching the 2010 olympics, or for eating pizza we had delivered one night. There was a different gourmet breakfast served buffet style at 8:00am and 9:00 am in the cozy ski-lodge style dining room each morning, and tea, coffee and homemade cookies, squares and danishes each afternoon at 4:00pm. They went all out on Valentine's day and provided chocolate covered strawberries, ricotta and strawberry filled croisants and other extras at breakfast and tea time. The Village at Sunpeaks was a 10 minute walk from the Pinnacle on a walking trail through beautiful snow covered evergreens. The village has many great places to eat, some fancy, some pub style, and also coffee shops, shopping and an amazing chocolate store that will make you want to have a 'dessert only' night! We took ski lessons (highly recommended) and skiied most days, went tubing, snowmobiling in the gorgeous trails behind the mountain, and took many pictures from the top of Tod Mtn, where the views are spectacular. The Pinnacles hot tub was very enjoyable after a day on the slopes. This was a great holiday for a family with older and active children!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We were just at the Pinnacle Lodge this past week, and it was great! Our stay included breakfast that was served in a nice lounge area in the main building offering super views and cozy fireplaces. Our only suggestion would be to have drinks/appy's available to purchase in the evenings.

The Village is only about a 10 minute walk along a groomed pathway from the Lodge- and you can ski in to the lodge as well.

The room was nice, and well appointed, with good coffee :), a small fridge, fireplace, and a large balcony. They even had lockers downstairs available, with locks to store your equipment . We would absolutely stay again!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at this true montain lodge in the middle of what felt like the next Whistler without the pretentious settings and the large crowds. The family owned and operated lodge is cosy, relaxing and offers great services (spa!) They really go out of their way to make you feel at home and relax. The included deluxe continental breakfast was much appreciated.

We did not expect much from the resort but the ski conditions at Sun Peaks were truly stellar! No ice, no rocks, no patch... just snow! Althought the lodge is not smack down in the village (which was for us alot more relaxing) we skied out from our room and back everyday.

Our dinning experiences at the lodge were outstanding in all aspects: food, wine, service. (it was so good we had to eat there all 3 nights!) Best lamb shank and creme brulé ever!!!

The only thing we would suggest for the lodge is perhaps a barrista for a nice afternoon latte!

We have already booked our next's years winter vacation there and we strongly recommend it to anyone that truly wants to disconect and enjoy their favourite winter sports! A winter oasis.

Bonny and Tye

  • Liked — Cosy and great service
  • Disliked — No barrista
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night and found it to be extremely small. We were given the honeymoon suite and it was dark, univiting and so small. The fireplace did not work, the tub was dirty and our deck was covered with ice, ashes and a dirty ashtray. We had also brought up a 25% off coupon that we were told we could use even though we had to pay for the room up front, which is totally outragous and when we went to sign out they gave us such a hassle and were not going to accept the coupon until we became really upset with them. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

We just returned from a weekend away at Pinnacle Lodge and wanted to let everyone know how fantastic it was!
The staff was so welcoming and friendly we were made to feel like we we were at their home. The rooms were very nice and clean, the only sound we could hear from our balcony was the sound of the creek passing through the property.
It was a very nice touch to have a bed and treats for our dog upon arrival.
We dined at the lodge on the Friday night and the food & service was outstsanding!
We highly recomend this lodge to anyone looking for a romantic, quiet getaway.

  • Liked — Location/quiet on the golf course
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

The hotel is not in the village. There is an unpleasant smell when you walk in. The hotel co-owner seems to be quite full of herself and doesn't care less about customer satisfaction. As far as the facilities go, it is quite over rated and the picture on the inter net site is quite deceiving, it is probably the best shot at the best angle they could come up with. The very much talked about restaurant was actually not open to us " the hotel guests" during our stay and the bar was also closed to us. They were open to the private parties outside of the hotel. You have to put on your boots to get to the hot tub and walk to another building. You have to carry your loggage up a number of stairs to get to your room, there is no one there to help, but the hotel owner watches you as you carry the loggage up with much difficulty. The rooms are small and so depressing you'd want to cry. The hotel withdraws the money from your credit card as soon as you book the room and prior to your stay. If you have any complaints there is no compensation and no body cares. We decided not to stay at this terrible lodge and not to ruine our mini-vacation. The lady "hotel owner" was so unapproachable, cold and full of rediculous answers, there was no point asking for our money back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

Where to start? The "lodge" is actually two separate lodges. It is not located in the village, so you have to walk to ski. The hot tub is not located in the central lodge so you have to trudge across the parking lot in your bathrobe to get to it. There is allegedly a spa but the "spa lady" has to be called in to attend. The much vaunted restaurant was closed for a private party and off limits for hotel guests during part of our stay. The hotel bar was also closed to hotel guests for the same reason. We found our room small, dark and depressing. The female co-owner that we dealt with had little interest in customer satisfaction. Don't like something - too bad. There was absolutely no energy to the place. We checked out and went to the Delta, which we loved. The $350.00 we paid for 3 nights at the Pinnacle (and had to walk away from) was a small price to pay. There are far better choices available.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinnacle lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle lodge

Address: 2503 Eagle Court | PO Box 1033, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinnacle lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pinnacle lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacle Lodge Hotel Sun Peaks
Pinnacle Hotel Sun Peaks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinnacle lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.