We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Replica of an Alpine Village” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Peaks

Sun Peaks
Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 1Z1, Canada
250 578 7222
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Sun Peaks
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Ice skating
Attraction details
europe
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Replica of an Alpine Village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The architect of the resort tried to create an alpine village in bc. The result is quite harmonious. As the hill above Kamloops is culminating at 2150m, the ski is not comparable to the alps. The place is generally speaking quite pricey, and the quality of service and food offered disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    56
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bahia Del Sol, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Skiing and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a vacation with friends at a ski in/ski out rental house on the slope. The workers at the resort ski area were very attentive and interested that we had an enjoyable experience. They were all friendly, outgoing, and courteous.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were a group of four adult males on our yearly ski trip. There is not much in terms of night life or action but we did not care as we went there just to ski. So if that is your mandate then Sun Peaks is a good choice. The lifts were not crowded but in the lift department Big White is much better and overall IMO Big White is just a better place. I am using Big White as an comparison because both places are quite similar in terms of accommodations, availability of restaurants and terrain difficulty level. Nevertheless, we had great weather with planty of fresh powder and had an absolutely fantastic time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good Family Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well laid out with good access to most of the mountain.

I generally do not comment on items the resort has no control over, but the snow conditions were fantastic.

The lifties were pleasant and said hello, or asked how your day was, or waved, which makes for a positive atmosphere.

All of the mountain staff we encounted were pleasant and helpful.

I would suggest replacing the Burfield chair as 22 minutes is a large amount of time to waste on a lift. The other chairs were adequate.

A mountain I will definately revisit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice family friendly resort, great skiing and lots of fun for the whole family.
Lovely hotel, great staff!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Peaks also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Big White, Okanagan Valley
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Peaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.