We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Peaks

Sun Peaks
Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 1Z1, Canada
250 578 7222
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Sun Peaks
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Ice skating
Attraction details
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun in the Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This visit to Sun Peaks was part of a Wells Gray Tour package. The 2 nights at Sun Peaks were at the Delta Sun Peaks Resort, which was excellent accommodation. The best meal we had was at the Sunburst Alpine Lodge (you take the chair lift to get there), it was a Salmon Barbeque - food and service was outstanding.
Most guests on this tour were seniors.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    56
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit Matt Lyall for your boot fitting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

While I found the snow and conditions at Sun Peaks as good as most resorts in BC, it came at a higher price tag than most other places we had stayed at. The skis I bought on "special" cost $200 more than the same ski at Silver Star. Most of the time the shop staff were disinterested. The mini supermarket also charged top dollar for the most basic of supplies

On the plus side there was plenty of great food but the biggest bonus was discovering Matt at Boots Fit Right. He has been the only person anywhere to find a comfortable pair of boots for my wife and spent an hour or more custom fitting them to her. Absolutely brilliant and worth every cent he charged for the process.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Actually went March/April 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved how the hills weren't ever too busy probably because it is further to get to. Loved the different mountains you could ski at. really liked Mount Morrissey - skiing the trails amongst the trees. Loved the Sun Guides. Was perfect for my husband who is a more advanced skiier. He'd ski with them while the rest of the family did a half day lesson and then we'd meet up for lunch and ski together in the afternoon. One of the Sun Guides was so nice he'd offered to my husband to take our whole family to Mount Morrissey.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't tell Everyone !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is one of the best mountains for family fun. The snow is dry and plentiful, lots of lifts and various things to do beside skiing. Ice skating, sledding, spa, restaurants and more. My new favourite is Dog Sledding. Even if you can only afford the kennel tour it is worth it. Sledding is a bit more expensive so you might have to save up for it, but hey, when are you going to get the opportunity. The owner operators are true and blue dog 'people' and the dogs LOVE to please. This was a big tick on my bucket list.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Ski Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family stayed here for a long weekend. Great family skiing and a nice village with shops and restaurants. We stayed at the Coastal Sundance which was a great location with ski in, ski out. Our room had a small fridge and a one burner hot plate which was not enough kitchen for us. Great little pizza place in the village for a quick lunch before heading back out to the slopes.
Great skiing and lots to do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Peaks also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Big White, Okanagan Valley
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Peaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.