We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad can do better - a bit bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Powder Hounds

Powder Hounds
116-3190 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
(250) 578-0014
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Sun Peaks
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ktbikow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not bad can do better - a bit bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The spot is awesome as far as the feel of the atmosphere. We decided to have 3 appetizers and the kids ordered off the kids menu. The kids spaghetti was good along with the Shnugetz and fries. Bruschetta was awesome but the don't give you enough bread to enjoy the portion of the mix so make sure you get them to add another bread and it shouldn't cost you anything. The Beet Salad was fantastic, but tasted like it was missing something therefore made it a bit bland. We also had the Prawns but really should be called shrimp. For 10 bucks to get 6 small shrimp with one piece of bread and some yam shoe strings that you need to chew forever is not worth it. The shrimp although covered in sauce, needed the tails to be peeled (WRONG) all that plus I had to add pepper to give it any taste. I mentioned it to the waitress and she kindly gave us a measly 25% discount (She offered this but didn't take it off on the bill so I had to mention this again to get anything back). I shouldn't have eaten it but I was hungry enough not to wait for her to come back.

Service was ok but expected a different response after a nice complaint. I would not go back to this place. It's rated too high on the list for Sun Peaks restaurants and should be lowered significantly especially for value.

Put some Pino Noir on the menu in the Glass too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    14
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very nice place - check it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ate here today.

Powder hounds is situated in the middle of sun-peaks. One of the few establishments open in the low season. Again this was a very good experience...

Food; We took the mussels in white wine as appetizer. The main course was for me the schnitzel burger & for my wife the powder pasta bolognese. All of this dishes were created with fresh ingredients and came with a lot of flavors. Very high standard for a bar / bistro.

Service; very friendly waiter. Helped us with the menu & had eye for the smallest detail.

Price: 14,95 for the burger with the ceasar salad. 13,95 for the spaghetti. 5 for a beer.

General conclusion: Well you are in Sun Peaks. Most of the places offer food for a high(er) price. Well not here. This was good fresh food & a friendly waiter.

Will dine here again for sure. Very good price / quality. Recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Schnitzels, Schnell!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've dined at Powderhounds several times over the years and it's been consistently good.
The Hunter Schnitzel is fantastic, and big enough to feed two!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great schnitzels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very atmospheric little restaurant with great schnitzels and a kids menu. At some times of the year they also have live bands.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barriere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch service and great tasting food to match.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We went for an appy dinner after a big event and even though the place was super busy the service was amazing and the food was delicious. Definitley recommend the wasabi dumplings. They are just spicy enough. Lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder Hounds also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Powder Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powder Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.