We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Peaks Golf Course

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Peaks Golf Course
3150 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 1Z1, Canada
250-578-5431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Attractions in Sun Peaks
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Be prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The back nine is very scenic. Lots of elevation changes so don't forget to back off one club. Well kept and don't be surprised if you run into yogi or Bambi while golfing. Bring a snack because the cafe stop on the back nine is unreliable. At least there is a cooler with ice on the cart for you. Be prepared with food, drink and balls.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sun Peaks golf course is what I would refer to as a 'management course'. You need to know where to place your shots as the fairways are narrow. It is not a long course but is very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bring lotsa balls..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Being novice golfers, the front nine was a challenge. Narrow fairways, (it's on a mountain, silly), deep gorges, up and down, but fun. Once we settled down, we started to look around as we played. Breathtaking scenery, coupled with clean, sweet mountain air made our ball offerings to the great golf god worth it. Things got better on the back nine...did I mention the views? One tee box, I am told, is the highest one in Canada? Well, you should have seen that ball fly...Overall, I would definitely golf there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overall, what I expected. Short irons outbound nine. Driver inbound nine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall good, but some quirks and some stuff the course needs to fix. If you use your driver on the front 9, you are on the wrong course (or teed off at hole 10). The two 9s play as entirely different courses. Expect to loose a LOT of balls. The best hole is #16, with the highest tee box in BC. A sweeping dog leg left off a very elevated tee box of 300+ yards to a very reachable green. Note that there is a FREE yardage guide that I managed to stumble on as I waited for my never-did-show twosome at the first hole kiosk which sells drinks (locals often do not show up or simply "late"). The yardage guide is critical. Do not play without it - at least for your first round. Lather on sunscreen. If the wind is calm, get ready for deer flies. Muskoil conveniently sold in pro-shop beside really expensive sunscreen. If you are munching something tasty on the fairway, watch out for bears. They are everywhere around the resort. My son saw his first bear of 2013 while riding at the mountain bike park. I will definitely play the course again. I think as the resort grows that another 9 mimicking the back 9, needs to be built. The back nine is really rather good. And I've been golfing for 45 years. (And if you want to see lots of bears go to Prince Rupert's golf course - built on a garbage dump - really! Look hard you'll see rusting washing machines, autos, etc.).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Par On !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you enjoy golf, you will want to play this course! A challenge, and very scenic! But BYO drinks as there is no service on the course until after 10 am when the kiosk on the 1st hole opens up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Peaks Golf Course also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Peaks Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Peaks Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.