We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wings in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar

Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar
1261 Main Street | PO Box 3688, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2J0, Canada
+1 250-847-5366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Smithers
Cuisines: Canadian, Pub, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A place as unique as the people behind it, the Alpenhorn invites you to be our guest, where friends meet in a casual dining and pub environment.With a locally crafted menu, a hand picked wine list and long line up of specialty beers and other fine libations, we practice what we preach – follow your own path, make good friends along the way and have fun …. Along with local characters and a staff that delivers legendary service, this is your home away from home. Join us for an experience you won’t soon forget.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Best wings in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great. Awesome. Very unique cool atmosphere. Super busy often. If your willing to wait and be a number instead of a customer to the waitress go get some wings on Wednesday. Huge wings and very very cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    36
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyder, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh... underwhelming execution of a great concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A lot of people told us to eat here. The menu reads like a locavore's dream, but the execution just wasn't there. Overcooked, dark tempura halibut with run of the mill fries. The guiness burger failed to impress though the guiness cheese itself was good. The crab cake appetizer, I would get again, even though it too was on the dark side. The young male host was professional, funny, engaging and happy. He could work anywhere. (For him, I give 5 star service review.) The server was indifferent and I felt like she would have rather been elsewhere. Good looking restaurant and very comfortable seating. Looked like a lot of alcoholic drinks available, too, for those in the mood.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williams lake, bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice atmosphere, food was good for pub food. One of the best places to eat in Smithers. Customer service was okay.......it was not busy when I was there and the staff did not appear to be rushing...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metlakatla, Alaska
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The place is set up very nice with a great decor and atmosphere. The wait staff was very good, food was fast and well done. Parking was also pretty good considering its location on Main street Smithers

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We were there on wing night. We tried many kinds of wings. They were OK not top notch. But it is a very nice place with really good service and I would definetly go back again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.