We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most visited restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge

Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge
4268 | Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia voj2n0, Canada
250 847 4672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Smithers
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An Exceptional dining experience. Enjoy a wonderful meal or meet friend for a drink. Experience the fireplace, waterfall, and local antiquities in a unique and entertaining setting showcasing the history of Smithers and British Columbia.
SMITHERS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most visited restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I go to The Riverhouse multiple times a month. Food is always good. Service is average. Some are better than others, as expected. Would suggest it without hesitation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best in Smithers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is our favorite place to eat in town. We go there weekly. They have the best fries I have ever had at a restaurant. They are homemade just like east coast canteen fries !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Uninterested waitress, okay food, nice decor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a very bored waitress and a very average meal. Not as good as I expected from a really good looking restaraunt attached to the nicest looking hotel in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hometown Favourite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staff are friendly, it is a family friendly atmosphere, service is good. Unfortunately, they don't have many allergy-friendly options, but they do offer a small gluten-free menu. The salads are made with fresh ingredients. You can linger a long time over coffee, and not feel pressured to finish up. Locals choose the Riverhouse because prices are reasonable, there is wi-fi, and it is not too noisy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, efficient service; so-so food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did read all the reviews of places to have dinner in Smithers, but the first four we went to were closed on Mondays! So we gave this one a try. It was okay, just. The best item we had was the candied salmon salad. Served on spring mix greens, it included lots of cranberries, seeds and a couple of hard boiled eggs. My partner's pasta was overdone and bland. My calamari were slightly under done, so the coating a bit gluey. My advice to the other restaurants is to take advantage of the lack of competition on Mondays and open up, at least in the high season.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.