We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet night, good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stork Nest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stork Nest Inn to your Saves list
Stork Nest Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Main St, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Prince Rupert, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet night, good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

No problems in my night here. The price for a nice was average...if you don't count the breakfast. Once you factor in that, it becomes a very good deal. The rooms aren't huge, but they have a small fridge and a television and more importantly the bed is soft and comfortable.

Breakfast was tasty. Despite being the last one down, they offered to make more hash browns for me, which I refused and had pancakes instead. The breakfast is what you expect, coffee or tea, ham, bacon and sausage, pancakes and eggs. Fruit and cereal are available as well. More than enough to fill up a traveller who's looking to eat before they hit the road or explore Smithers.

The only issue I can see is that the building is very close to the fire station, so if something happened, you risk being woken up by the alarms. It didn't happen my night, though, and given that Smithers isn't that big, it's unlikely to, I think. Overall, I'm very pleased with my night.

Room Tip: There's a fire station on the south side, so north might be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
36
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed at the Stork and Nest. Staff are very pleasant. Yes they have a curfew of midnight which I do not see anything wrong with.

The rooms are dated of course but considering I'm only there to sleep and relax it was great value for the money.

The breakfast was awesome, service incredible and would recommend this place for the traveler who is looking to enjoy Smithers and the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed one night on trip to Prince Rupert. If I could have just rated breakfast it would have been excellent. Nicest bacon and lovely fresh eggs. The room however was tired, the taps were labelled the wrong way round so waited ages wasting water trying to have a shower before realising hot was cold and vice versa. No hair dryer and the decor was tired. it was all nice and clean, the bed linen was fine but my normal gripe -the towels were way too small to go round anyone other than a size 8! It was in a quiet area and our sleep quality was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The service is pleasant, the rooms are a bit rustic (carpet quite soiled, bathroom tap came off in my hand - which was quickly seen to after calling front desk), but clean and comfortable. TV is good, and free wi-fi. Central location, right off Main street. Complimentary breakfast was good, eggs made while you wait, pancakes, ham, hash-browns, toast, cereal.. A nice trouble-free 2 day stay. There is supposed to be a sauna, but I never found it..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I were travelling in northern BC and rented rooms at this hotel over the internet. I had never been to Smithers before. We were met at the door by a lady who was quite abrupt and confrontational and I considered not staying. She advised us there was a curfew of midnight and that the doors would be locked at that time and we would not be permitted in after. At first I thought she was joking. I have never had the experience where I paid for a motel room and had a curfew, and I didn't care for it. It seems however that Smithers shuts down early in the evenings and midnight was not hard to adhere to.

The rooms are extremely basic. 1 star is generous. The best part is the free breakfast in the morning. The next morning there was a lovely, warm lady on who actually chased us out to the car to ensure we received our receipt. If she had been on the night before it might not bothered us so much.

Room Tip: This place has a curfew...I'm not sure if other hotels do but be warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telegraph Creek, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a basic hotel, not glamorous, but very friendly. At breakfast in the morning, the staff and other customers often chat. The owners always remember us and ask us about our trip. It is quiet, clean, has comfortable beds. Each room is unique, one has a huge tub in the main room!
One has a huge bathroom and one has two single beds in a separate alcove. We often help ourselves to tea in the evening. Smithers is such a friendly place.

Room Tip: 108, big bathroom. 201, one double bed and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were south bound from Alaska returning to lower USA and found Stork Nest Inn by driving around downtown Smithers BC. The staff was immediately friendly and allowed us to preview room. Finding is pleasant we stayed the night and enjoyed it. Clean with good shower and quiet 2nd floor, rear. Rate at $115.00 was inline with similar BC selections.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stork Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Nest Inn

Address: 1485 Main St, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stork Nest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide our guests with the finest personal service and a good night's sleep. Awake every morning to our famous free full menu breakfast. Located in the beautiful mountain town of Smithers, BC we are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and nightly entertainment. Our staff can provide information on hiking, paddling, fishing and skiing. All rooms are non-smoking,clean and quiet. The beds are comfy with warm duvets, each room has a large flat screen HDTV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and phone. We hope the Stork Nest Inn will be your base camp to adventure in Northern BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stork Nest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stork Nest Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stork Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.