We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trackside Cantina

Trackside Cantina
3815 Railway Avenue, Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
250-847-3363
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Smithers, Canada
1 review
“Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently had dinner here with family members and we found that it was very loud(not the train) which made it very hard to hear each other and have a decent conversation as we had to yell over each other. Food was good when it did finally arrive, service was average.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Flavourful food and good service. I have eaten there a few times and have enjoyed the meal each time. I would not hesitate to recommend the Cantina.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad service/decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had been looking so forward to going to the Cantina for lunch....... I am used to the unfriendly greeting you receive when entering the restaurant......that could us some work! Ordered our lunch and when it arrived there was a hair, not on the food but in the food. I told the server it was taken away with no apology after a short wait a new lunch was set in front of me again with no apology..... The service at the Cantina will make me hesitant to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Ribs were great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Following an abrupt greeting at the front door I was led to my table. Things continued to improve from there. Good service and excellent food. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Smithers!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The cantina is consistently excellent! Lots of vegetarian choices which I really appreciate. The patio is great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trackside Cantina also viewed

Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Trackside Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trackside Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.