We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us want to live here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logpile Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smithers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Logpile Lodge
Save
You added Logpile Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3105 McCabe Rd, Smithers, British Columbia VOJ 2N7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Crescent City, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Made us want to live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After an evening and a morning at Logpile Lodge, where we were treated like royalty, we both said we wanted to live in Smithers! Surely not everyone in Smithers is as wonderful as Barbara and Chris, nor every venue as superbly appointed and dedicated to customer delight as Logpile Lodge! But if it were, it would be a little heaven on earth. The setting is drop dead gorgeous, the lodge itself a fantastic and beautiful home. Our room was very spacious, with a balcony looking out over the valley. The full bath is convenient and immaculate--and again, really beautiful. We slept very well and then ate until we nearly popped, with good food made to order and the best Swiss Muesli ever. We want to go back for an extended stay in the winter, for cross country and down-hill skiing. Don't hesitate to make this a destination, not just a stopping point along the way: our mistake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very special place - whenever you come to Smithers you should stay here! The lodge has been constructed by huge logs which give the whole building a spacious and bright Impression. It overlooks the valley in very quiet sorroundings. You definitely need a car to go there.
The Swiss host family is very friendly, open, helpful and provides an excellent breakfast - the best we had on our trip through Western Canada!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 1 night @ the logpile lodge on with our family. Barbara & Chris were wonderful hosts and greeted us as we arrived. The rooms were spotless & had everything we needed. Are balcony overlooked the beautiful valley. We were welcomed with drinks which we enjoyed in the sitting area. The rooms came with breakfast which was absolutely delicious and presented with the flair of a high end restaurant. The lodge is surround by beautiful grounds and views which we enjoyed as well as interesting conversation with the owners. If you're looking for hi-tech, this isn't the place for you, but if you want some enjoyable conversation, peace & quiet, then stay here. Great place to rejuvenate the spirit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rednitzhembach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the best accommodations we've been in Canada!

Pros:
- spacious and bright rooms
- big balcony(yes) with great view
- comfortable bed
- well equipped bathroom
- very nice hosts (Swiss couple) who gave us a very warm welcome
- delicious breakfast with self-made Bircher Muesli and bread

Cons:
not any :-)

Room Tip: We've got the "O" room. Probably the best room. It had two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hard to decide where to start, but the bits within their control are all top notch: the food, the hospitality, the design and construction of the lodge, the simple elegance of the rooms' appointments. Then there is the beautiful Bulkley Valley as the setting complemented by the gardening and landscaping that Barbara and Chris have done. It's definitely the nicest place we've stayed in years of road trips in BC.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would recommend this hidden treasure to anyone. The cleanliness of the Lodge; the warm and friendly welcome by the hosts, Chris and Barbara; and the magnificent breakfast all culminated into a terrific stay on our way through Northern BC. We were treated royally! I am sure that a future stay is in the cards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are two italian travellers and in august 2012 we were for the third time in British Columbia. We have never had a so delightful stay in a lodge. The lodge is deep into the wild but is comfortable like a city hotel. Barbara and Christoph, the owners, are two incredible persons: they all send out a great positive energy and create a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The cooking is very good and there are also a great choice of wines from BC (I'm from Chianti's Region but appreciate the good canadian wines and here I found a lot).
I'm a salmon angler and every day I have my good packed lunch well prepared and when I returned with my Sockeye salmon I have it barbecue cooked in a perfect way!!!! perfect days in a perfect place!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logpile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logpile Lodge

Address: 3105 McCabe Rd, Smithers, British Columbia VOJ 2N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Logpile Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a beautiful view over the Bulkley Valley and the mountains the Logpile Lodge sits on a little hill, only 10 min. away from the lively town of Smithers and 10 min. away from the beautiful Babine Mountain Provincial.An insider tip for outdoor enthusiasts and those who love peace and quiet - and a glas of wine on the balcony.There is a common room with fireplace and an extensive library and games.No phones or TVs in the rooms.A full cooked breakfast prepared to your liking gets you started in the morning, whether it's for work or play. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logpile Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.