We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orca Surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sechelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat
Save
You added Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat to your Saves list
5794 Marine Drive, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Orca Surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife & I recently had an opportunity to visit our favorite getaway,"Takahashi Gardens". We had a wonderful time and witnessed one of natures most spectacular moments. A pod of Orca's came into the Inlet and displayed their hunting techniques so very close to shore...it was amazing to see them stalk a pod of Dolphins. Fortunately for the Dolphins, all were spared, but it was so amazing to see such a spectacular sight, we will never forget the moment.

Nature at it's best.....just view it off the deck!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited Takahashi Gardens January 7-9 2013 with my partner. It was possibly one of the most relaxing 2 days of my life. Elaine is a wonderful, gracious host and definitely gives you privacy. We used the private hot tub at least twice a day. You won't want to get out of the bed and we loved the selection of teas and coffee. We stayed in the Yama suite If I recall correctly and peeked into the other two which were equally as lovely.

There were threats of thunderstorms during our visit and Elaine thoughtfully texted me that she does have a generator and loss of power wouldn't be an issue.

I would definitely consider going back!

Room Tip: We chose the Yama suite with the king sized bed. It also is slightly more private than the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would HIGHLY recommend this prestine B&B to anyone!! Attention to detail in cleaniness and overall comfort. LOVE the fireplace, and the private hottub outside ;)
The hostess, Elaine is one of the most fantastic, kind, and helpful owners I have met yet!
The setting is beautiful, and it's close to town if you are looking for a night out.
Don't hesitiate to check this B&B out! I can't say enough! Thanks again Elaine!

Room Tip: Any choice you make, you will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

takahashi gardens is an absolute gem, and the owner, Elaine is a wonderful, sweet and loving host. the room, view and every detail was perfect. each room has it's own private hottub, we had a fireplace and a fully functioning kitchen supplied with coffee, tea, oj and all the details you need when you are away.
quiet, peaceful, stunningly beautiful. thank you Elaine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a single night between Christmas and the New Year on a whistle stop tour of the sunshine coast. The units are spotless and have everything you could possibly want. The view of Sechelt inlet is beautiful. The owner has really set her property apart by clearly putting great thought into what guests want out of their stay. Nice touches like the espresso maker, quality tea selection, complimentary biscotti, slippers and the provided binoculars are examples of this detail. We usually opt for hotels rather than small guesthouses, but we wish our experiences in hotels were all as good as it was at Takahashi Gardens. Do not hesitate to base your sunshine coast experience here. Top tip - the lively lighthouse pub and restaurant serves good pub food and is a brisk walk from the accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here and is certainly not the last. Elaine is the most gracious hostess one could ask for. The room, the view, the detail, all perfect. If you want to relax in the lap of luxury then this is the place to go. Words cannot describe the elegance and tranquility that you will experience here - you need to book some time and stay here. It's - simply the best!!

Room Tip: The cottage is a bit more secluded than the two suites but the view is slightly limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As travellers our standards are fairly high, and thanks to Elaine our second stay at Takahashi Gardens was just as wonderful as our first! As described by other reviewers, Elaine has designed all three retreat apartments thoughtfully and uniquely, as well as equipped them with everything you could ever need on a holiday retreat. The location is lovely and relaxing, and the quality of the experience is simply outstanding.

Thanks Elaine, and see you again soon. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat

Address: 5794 Marine Drive, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sechelt
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate in an all new studio cottage or 1 of 2 deluxe suites with stunning inlet views, each with private decks & private hot tubs, king/queen beds, spa robes & slippers, silky Egyptian cotton sheets, thick thirsty Egyptian cotton towels, handmade natural soaps, 32" LCD TV/WiFi/iPod dock, cable with move channels, private self-catering full kitchens well stocked with gourmet coffee, tea & a few goodies to start your morning & much more! From your patio, gaze upon the coastal wildlife & lush Japanese-accented gardens. Spa services available. A very private, serene oasis yet only 2 min to Sechelt. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takahashi Gardens Waterfront Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.