We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sechelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites
Save
You added Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites to your Saves list
6471 Sunshine Coast Hwy, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 4 days @ absolute heaven with our two sons (3&6) and enjoyed every minute. The location on the waterfront and the layout of the suite and property are fantastic. Between the lawn, hot-tub and sandy play area on the property and adjacent natural rock & pebble beach replete with driftwood, the boys had a ball and we were able to relax. The suite was clean and well laid out. My only suggestion to Doug is for a more comfortable sofa bed, which he seemed happy to get the feedback, and knowing his commitment to making customers happy, I'd be surprised if it hasn't been replaced already. Doug and Doreen went out of their way to make us all feel welcome, including small touches like place settings for kids on arrival and sharing fresh smoke salmon and the day's crab catch. -All went a long way to making the visit extremely memorable. We will be back to visit again next year for sure.

Room Tip: If you are going to use the sofa bed, ask Doug if you can have the suite with the thicker mattress o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ava001, Owner at Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about the sofa bed. We have installed a brand new 4" foam mattress and there is also a 3" feather bed topper available for more comfort. Our customers are important and we are very glad when they let us know how we can improve their stay.

thanks again!
Doreen and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a beautiful place! We learned about Absolute Heaven completely by fluke, while reading about Doug’s 1957 Corvette in the Driving section of our local newspaper. We were planning a Vancouver mainland/island trip at the time and when Absolute Heaven was mentioned, for some reason, we decided that we would spend our last two nights there. We couldn’t have made a better decision. We stayed in the Oceanside Suite. This place is immaculate. When you enter the unit, you are greeted with a lovely bottle of white wine (their own brew and it’s delicious…) sitting on the kitchen table and snacks on the counter. The rooms are spacious, the bed is super-comfy and you have your own bbq. The grounds are beautifully maintained. Doreen and Doug paid so much attention to detail that I don’t know where to begin. In the bathroom, there are bath towels as well as separate towels for you to use at the beach, there are lovely soaps, there is a tub AND a separate shower. There’s a radio in the kitchen and a pair of binoculars to take full advantage of the gorgeous ocean views. Seemingly small things, but exactly what we would have at home. Everywhere you look, it’s apparent that Doug and Doreen really care about their guests. This is the place to stay for complete relaxation. Be sure to ask Doug to see the Corvette – it’s stunning. Really, when was the last time you saw white-wall tires? And, those of us of a “certain” age who remember The Beachcombers should be sure to stop just down the road in Gibsons for a photo op at Molly’s Reach. The bottom line: Absolute Heaven is absolutely wonderful!!

Room Tip: No tips - whichever of the two units you choose will be perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I recently had the immense pleasure of staying in the "oceanside" suite at "absolute heaven". I have nothing but good things to say about this place! The building is less than 10 years old, so is in great condition, and extremely clean. We had a full sized kitchen with a complimentary bottle of white wine waiting for us. We had a living room with a pullout couch and fireplace, as well as a decent sized bedroom with a washer and dryer. The bathroom was quite large and had a separate bath tub and shower. They have a wonderful beach theme throughout the property with a lot of really nice touches like a small seashell resting on the note pad, or in the bath salts. Our view from our room was just phenomenal! We had our own ground level patio with bbq, and hammock that looked right out to the ocean. We were also about 20 paces away from a hot tub with the ocean view as well. They even chose the colour of the hot tub as a speckled blue so that when you are in it, the edge blends almost seamlessly with the ocean view. There are only 2 suites here, so it was very relaxing and peaceful. Doug and Doreen are fantastic hosts, they gave you space so that you felt you were on your own private resort, yet they were readily available should you need them. We had a wedding to attend while we were in sechelt, and had intended to walk from the suites to the location, however Doreen insisted that they could drive us if we would like, and we gladly took them up on the offer. They were accommodating with breakfast times, since we had to be up quite early the day we were departing. I have to say the breakfasts were amazing. They were 2 courses, and cooked to perfection. They use fruits and vegetables from their own garden, as well as trying to support other local producers. Though we didn't have the chance to take advantage of it, there is also a library and fitness room. The suites are also located right next to a bus stop for those of you who do not bring a vehicle. We chose this place based on other trip advisor reviews and were not only not disappointed, we were even more thoroughly impressed! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Islandview cottage for 2 nights with our son. Doug and Doreen were exemplary hosts - left us alone as much as we liked, yet were there if we needed anything.
The attention to detail was a delight - we felt immediately relaxed, had easy access to the beach and the kids toys, books, high chair and portacot made for a superb time for our 2 year old. We've never had such an incredible view from a hot tub before. What a beautiful place from which to explore the Sunshine Coast. Thank you Doug and Doreen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to have some time to explore the Sunshine Coast for a short time. Absolute Heaven was highly recommended by a co-worker/friend and she did not exaggerate! The suite was beautiful, very clean, tastefully decorated with a nautical theme, beautiful gardens and pathways, a lovely spot right on the beach to have a fire, and a hot tub overlooking the ocean with a spectacular view (we were even treated to a show by a little harbour seal while we sat in the hot tub). We chose the breakfast option and were not disappointed - delicious. However, the kitchen is very well equipped for anyone who prefers to do the cooking. We would recommend Absolute Heaven to anyone who is looking for a little piece of paradise. Thanks Doug and Doreen!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our weekend stay here. This B&B is very cozy and welcoming. Doug and Doreen made us feel right at home. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is the perfect place for it. It is very quiet and calm. The suite has a stunning view of the ocean and an a hot tub that allows you to take in the wonderful view. The kitchen is fully equipped and your own bbq if you want to do your own cooking (however, we highly recommend the gourmet breakfast prepared by Doreen!). The backyard is very nice, with lawn chairs and a fire pit. It was just so enjoyable to sit there, enjoy the sun, and read while listening to the waves.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Oceanview suite has a soaker tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our stay at Absolute Heaven was a fantastic introduction to the beautiful Sunshine Coast. My parents and I had never been to this area before, so the bar has been set pretty high after our stay at Doug and Doreen's beautiful home in Sechelt.

The room we had was very spacious and could easily accommodate the three of us (two in the bedroom, and I had the pull-out bed). The suite was stocked with more than what I've come to expect from most hotels: essential toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of towels for both indoor and outdoor use, robes and bedroom slippers for all three of us, topped with chocolates on the pillows; and the kitchen had a basket of snacks and plenty of coffee and tea, in addition to the complimentary bottle of wine sitting on the kitchen table.

Absolute Heaven also had a hot tub on the premises that had a great elevated view of the beachfront and surrounding water which I took full advantage of my first night there, easily watching the sun set from the property's ample south-facing vantage point. A narrow pebble path also wound down to a private beach area where an umbrella-shaped hut provided shade to a bevy of beach and lawn chairs for both adults and small children. A neat patch of lawn blended down to a sandy area with a fire pit that was available for guests to use, and the space was festooned with "shipwreck" decor that was both quaint and actually well curated, which really helped with the area's overall vibe.

There's a surprisingly well-stocked gym available on the premises--no treadmill though, but that's likely due to space constraints--and a small collection of VHS tapes and DVDs in addition to the flatscreen TV and satellite cable in the suite.

We opted to get a fresh hot breakfast served to us by Doreen on our last day and we were not disappointed. She started off breakfast with a plate of plums (straight from her garden) with a warm sweet glaze and whipped cream, which was then followed by a rich serving of eggs benedict and home fries. The highlight of the breakfast, however, was her homemade cranberry-blueberry muffin cakes with a side of butter. (To be honest, I may have actually gotten that description wrong since I practically wolfed the dessert down after tasting how good it was!)

Doug and Doreen made our stay pleasant and worry-free. They were available when we needed them but were also very keen about giving us ample privacy. Doug helped out with great recommendations on activities and even got a rate quote for us from the local golfing club. I'd definitely recommend a stay here and would most certainly recommend this place to friends if they're ever in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites

Address: 6471 Sunshine Coast Hwy, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South facing oceanfront property, 3 minutes from Sechelt. Luxurious, private 1 bedroom suites, fully equipped kitchens. Gas fireplaces, bbqs, ocean side hot tub. Level beach with fire pit, beautiful gardens, fitness center, wireless internet, satellite TV, DVD/VCR, CD player ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Heaven Oceanfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.