We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away with a beautiful ocean view from the suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Tuwanek Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuwanek Hotel
7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Sechelt B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great get-away with a beautiful ocean view from the suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great get-away with a beautiful ocean view from the suites. We came in the winter when it’s very quiet but nice and one can use the sauna and hot tub. We will happily come back in the summer to enjoy some water activities. Breakfast is served in your spacious room and is delicious. Bathrooms are huge and have great soaker tubs.

In the off season, it is one of the few places we found to stay on the Sunshine Coast that was within a short cab ride of a good (open) restaurant (Blue Heron Inn) if you're looking for a nice occasion dinner as part of your stay.

Room Tip: Both suites are equally nice and the balconies that overlook the water can be joined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As always, we had an incredible stay with the Tuwanek Hotel. Chris, Krista and Sharon go out of their way to ensure that every stay is better than the last.
The Timberloft cottage is incredibly peaceful, private and serene. A perfect place for a small family getaway or romantic weekend for 2.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a terrific stay once gain at the Tuwanek resort. The cabin was perfect and very clean. Staff is very friendly and I would highly recommend staying at any of Chrisa and Krista's properties. We'll be back in the summer for sure!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly people, amazing spa, and the most comfortable bed ever! I wish I could live there. The fireplace in the room was soo nice. We stayed in Casablanca and next time i am going to try the African queen. Sitting in the hotub and looking out on the water is incredibly beautiful!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Casa Blanca suite for three nights 2014 between Christmas and the new year. Krista showed us the suite and gave us information we wanted about the area, parks, trails, restaurants, etc. The suite is lovely -- big king-sized bed with plenty of pillows, luxury linens, in-floor heating, television, wifi and use of an i-pad, fridge, microwave, dishes, coffee machine, a dining table and chairs for two and a wood burning fireplace if one so wishes. The bathroom is spectacular with an enormous glassed-in shower featuring multi-directional shower-heads and all the shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap you could want, large vanity with double basins, more toiletries, fluffy robes, huge towels and there is a wonderful claw-foot soaker tub sporting a long wooden tray with soap, shampoo, bath bomb and even a rubber ducky! All the toiletries are natural / organic with a wonderful scent. Every small detail is carefully attended to and the suite is spotless. The view of Porpoise Bay through the front windows and from the balcony is breathtaking -- so beautiful, tranquil and unspoiled. We had the most yummy breakfasts brought to us by Krista and by Sharon each morning -- even the oatmeal is special here, as are the apple pancakes! Sharon is manager and masseuse/esthetician -- we each had a relaxing body massage and I had a pedicure -- just fabulous! Sharon is thoughtful and kind -- even helping me on the steps back to my suite because I have arthritis in my knees and must be careful. These were three days we will always treasure -- we were pampered very, very well and we loved every minute of it. Thank you Krista, Chris and Sharon! I will happily recommend the Tuwanek to friends, relatives and anyone who wants to know!

Room Tip: the Tuwanek Hotel and Bed & Breakfast has a site with virtual tour -- the rooms are more adult c...
See more room tips
Green Features: seems very green -- natural products used in spa and supplied in rooms no toxic products are allowed to be put into the inlet/Porpoise Bay tap water is excellent drinking quality
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns Lake, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted privacy, relaxation, and the outdoors... This place was perfect!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to another visit. The only thing we wished was different was if we had more time!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Beautiful location, lovely room and hosts! We particularly enjoyed the wonderful two course breakfasts. The food was delicious, fresh and great to look at. Krista and Chris also gave us some recommendations of things to do in Sechelt that added to our weekend. We will happily tell our friends about the Tuwanek Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuwanek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.