We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Tuwanek Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuwanek Hotel
7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Sechelt B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey, Canada
1 review
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful location, lovely room and hosts! We particularly enjoyed the wonderful two course breakfasts. The food was delicious, fresh and great to look at. Krista and Chris also gave us some recommendations of things to do in Sechelt that added to our weekend. We will happily tell our friends about the Tuwanek Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hosts, great stay, great breakfast! I love the natural beauty of this location.
Ours was only a brief stay, but we look forward to coming back to this hotel in the future. The Tuwanek area and Porpoise Bay Provincial Park are definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tuwanek was a first class place to stay in every way. The owners were very welcoming and the room was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious. We can't say enough about our stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't even begin to tell you how much we enjoyed ourselves here. We stayed in the Tree House Cottage and found it to be everything we had hoped for and then some!

We arrived in the evening and upon parking our car could hear what sounded like a waterfall. We soon discovered that the cottage is on the other side of a creek, with a waterfall about 200 meters away! A small wooden bridge crosses the creek where you'll immediately find an axe and chopping block where you can chop to your hearts content at the ample amount of firewood provided.

A winding staircase leads you to the cottage which is situated high on the hillside - you might be a bit winded by the time you're at the top, especially when carrying luggage or firewood - but it's well worth it for the privacy you'll feel! Though you do have neighbours on both sides (one of whom appears to be a local resident) the cottage feels sheltered and far removed from the street and any other residences. Since the road itself ends just past the Tree House Cottage, I wouldn't expect you'd see or hear many other vehicles or people anyway.

Inside you'll find a large kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher as well as a comfortable living room along with an area for a dining room table. Best of all is the wood burning stove, which we filled with kindling as much as we could. :) The loft where the main bedroom can be found is just upstairs from the living room and wood stove, so as you burn wood through the evening, your bedroom gets warm and toasty for bedtime.

The bathroom features a very large deep soaker tub, which unfortunately we never had the pleasure of using - mainly because of the hot tub outside! A small wooden roof, shelters the hot tub from any of natures elements, while also again giving you a bit more privacy if the surrounding tree's weren't enough already. Just up the stairs from the hot tub is a gas burning fire pit, as well there is a front porch area with seating and a swing built for two - or more! There is also a propane BBQ. Since it was late November when we visited, we didn't get a chance to enjoy many of these outdoor features - so we have vowed to definitely return in the summertime.

Speaking of summer activities, beach access is located just a couple minutes walk from the Tree House Cottage, and it turns out is a fairly small strip of pebbles and driftwood. Most of the area is private residences, so I guess this is it for beach access for any visitors. You don't quite have a few of the water from the Tree House, but there are many amazing views of the water within driving distance, and if you'd like you can rent a kayak or canoe from the Hotel to venture onto the water.

The location is a short 40 minute drive from the Langdale Ferry Terminal, so the entire trip for us from Vancouver was about 2 hours each way - making it a perfect weekend getaway. When we arrived and checked in, Chris greeted us along with the very cute and excited dog Marley - and gave us directions and a firestarter, and we were in the cottage in minutes. Him and Krista seem very nice, and Chris seemed genuinely excited for us to be staying there. :)

The wifi provided worked fantastic, and I guess one of the only criticisms I have is that all though they advertise their accommodations as having Netflix provided we had to login with our own account - but maybe that's what they meant anyway? The website make it sound as if it's provided for you, but either way - not a big deal for us anyway. Also, it would have been nice to have coffee or tea provided in the cottage. There was a small sign inside the cupboards saying coffee could be purchased in the gift shop, but when I went there in the morning Krista just gave me coffee and cream. Haha, so again - not a big deal!

All in all, this place gets my highest recommendation to stay if you ever get a chance. You're sure to love it!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You wrote, "It was awesome, as usual. The service is personal and friendly. We love going back to Tuwanek. Looking forward to the next time." We highly recommend Tuwanek hotel & cabins. We have visited several times and are always happy.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This was one of the nicest places Ive ever stayed. I had the opportunity to stay in the Casablanca Room, which was terrific. The breakfasts were otherworldly. Sharon was off the charts welcoming. It was quiet in a relaxing and calm way, the views were magnificent, and the highspeed internet helped me stay on top of work I unfortunately had to do instead of taking advantage of cool things like the in-room telescope to watch wildlife. Cant say enough good things. I like to think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship, in the form of more stays when I'm on the Coast. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The Treehouse Cottage was everything we wanted for our honeymoon. It was perfect, private and cozy. And the spa was very relaxing and made the whole experience extra special. Would definitely go there again :)

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuwanek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.