We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tuwanek Hotel - Timberloft Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuwanek Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tuwanek Hotel
7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Sechelt B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The Tuwanek Hotel - Timberloft Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Five star lodge, roomy and modern. Hot tub in the forest. Beautiful area of BC. Close to Sechelt, B.C. and one hour from the spectacular Skookumchuck Narrows. Chris and Krista Cutlan are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

"Our girls trip was absolutely fabulous! We made so many new memories and have already talked about coming back as a couples retreat sometime in the future. The spa day was amazing and all the staff was friendly and fantastic! Couldn't have picked a better place and weekend! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place really lived up to my expectations for my honeymoon! The view we woke up to from the huge, soft bed in the Casablanca Suite was stunning! We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts Krista makes out on the porch for six days and everything was so good, I wish I knew her secrets. The whole property is gorgeous, I loved the outdoor steam room and hot tub, beautiful view from there too. On the one cloudy day we used the cinema room to watch a movie, very cool! We used the paddle boat and sun tanned on one of the floating docks out front, went paddle boarding, even saw an octopus from a pier while we were there! My favorite part of the Casablanca room has to be the bathroom, the claw foot tub and massive shower were something I had been looking forward to, I made good use of those! I'm so glad we treated ourselves to a whole week here!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful family vacation week spent in Heron's Return. A beautiful home on the water, just steps to kayak rentals and paddle boards. Our family of 6 have stayed here the past two years and would highly recommend it. Comfortable bedrooms, large kitchen where everyone could help prepare meals together, covered patio for long evenings outdoors. Just down the steps to the water, a quiet bay where our 8yr.old grandson could learn to kayak.

Room Tip: A large family home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service is superb. 5 stars all the way. Chris and Krista are very professional but also very friendly and warm. Breakfast that Krista prepares every morning is unbelievably delicious and beautiful . The best I had in any B&B or hotel I had been too . I was there for a wedding and had to help the bride with makeup. Krista even let me use her beautiful spa to do that. This is over and above what they do for customers. I am really impressed!
The settings of the place is so picturesque and tranquil. It's a great place to realx and enjoy the beautiful scenery and saok in the magic of Sunshine coast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always book hotels according to tripadvisor rating and this is the first fail we've experienced in 5 years of 2/year vacation - all others have been excellent and exactly as expected. Tuwanek hotel is beautiful on the outside, but the service is poor and our room was mediocre and not very private. Uncomfortable bed.

The most troubling thing was the lack of service: all those canoes and kayaks on site...? Those are apparently for decoration only. We were told we would have to drive up the road to a rental site if we wanted to kayak. Overall, if we ever asked about anything, the response from the owners (?) was un-enthusiastic....so we just stopped asking. The last thing you want on your vacation is to feel like you're a bother.

I suggest that anyone thinking of staying here book a B&B instead: that what Tuwanek is most comparable to, however, without the warmth and at 3x the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideretreat, Owner at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and your comments. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We did not get any feedback from your during your stay or after with our guest survey so this is the first we have heard. We strive to ensure all our guests have a very memorable time as we know you have lots of options to choose from. We do offer complimentary Paddle Boards and Pedal boats to our guests to use out in front of the hotel during the warmer summer months. Sea Kayaking is done through our partner in the next bay Pedals and Paddles as open ocean kayaking requires an introduction, maps, correct safety orientation and gear and they can provide all this. They offer our guests a $10 voucher for sea kayaking and $20 voucher if a guest wants a lesson of tour.
We value your comments and if you would like to call me direct I would be happy to have you come back and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a warm welcome from Chris and sweet little Harley. Room was beautifully decorated, breakfast was delicious. Next time we will try and take advantage of the beach and hot tub. A little peace of paradise!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuwanek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.