We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on the West Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuwanek Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tuwanek Hotel
7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Sechelt B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Strathmore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best on the West Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Tuwanek Hotel on numerous occasions and we will go back again and again! We will never tire of the warm inviting atmosphere, the scrumptious breakfasts and the local area.

I am a diver and Chris has taken me on more than a few awesome dives. The West Coast offers some of the most spectacular diving on the planet. Both my husband and I enjoy hiking and kayaking and we have had some great outdoor adventures while staying at the Tuwanek Hotel.

Last but not certainly not least, Krista and Chris are the most accomodating and gracious hosts that you will ever meet! They are fun to be with, very knowledgeable about the area and serve up delicious breakfasts! I can't say enough enough about this truly wonderful spot - you will not be disappointed!

T & M
Strathmore, Alberta

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

If you are looking for a great relaxing get-away weekend we can highly recommend the Tuwanek Hotel. My husband and I keep going back since we discovered this place last summer.

It's one of the few places we can really sleep ... the bed is great and we can leave the windows open and not hear traffic or sirens! It's quiet.

They have two large old movie-themed rooms, though our personal favourite is "the African Queen" because it has the most amazing over-sized shower with sprayers that's just wonderful.

The owners, Chris and Krista, always go out of their way to make sure we enjoy the facilities ... including the game and movie room downstairs. The breakfasts are delivered to the room every morning at the time we request, and the sunset from the balcony of the room is spectacular. (I usually bring a really nice bottle of wine to enjoy while watching the tide slowing come in.)

I had a fabulous pedicure at the on-site spa and my husband also indulged in the hot tub and had a massage. So, all in all, a truly relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — The View and the Bed and the Quiet and the Breakfast!
  • Disliked — The stairs.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

At the end of our a 5 day stay at one of the cottages at the Tuwanek hotel we did not want to leave. The location is absolutely beautiful - quiet and peaceful, and not overrun by tourists. The At the Water's Edge Spa at the hotel offered a hot stone massage that was absolutely heavenly. The hosts, Chris and Krista, are super friendly and very helpful. This is the best place to both enjoy the great outdoors (we kayaked, swam, and mountain biked) and be pampered by a first class hotel. The location is remote enough that you feel you have "gotten away from it all"; but, the drive and ferry ride from Vancouver is less than 2 hours so very convenient. It's well worth the trip if you are looking for a quiet and luxurious place to rejuvenate your spirit.

  • Liked — really clean and spacious, comfy bed
  • Disliked — we liked everything...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Where do you start. This is the most beautiful place we have stayed at. We spent a week in the Casablanca room and it was fabulous, breakfast in the mornings served to your room was fantastic. The view from our room was worth the price alone but all the extras are what make it all that much better. Thay have a on site spa and my wife is still in heaven. Kayaks, billards room, movie room, hot tub are only a few of the creature comforts. I have done alot of traveling over the years and this is the first time I have written a review for any Hotel/Motel/BB and it will be my last because I have found heaven. To our host Krista and Chris we want to thank you so much for your hospitality and kindness, everyting you suggested was well worth doing. If you need some time to relax and get back to what really matters this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I cant think of one thing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

This is a definite must for a romantic get away. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and over 600 sq. ft. of luxury, including a canopy over the bed, wood fireplace - you can't beat the crackling of a real fire, extremely large en-suite with a large walk-in shower with jets all around you! In the morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast brought to our room where you can enjoy it on your own private deck overlooking the ocean, all while remaining in your housecoat! We were also lucky that at the time we were there there was also a school of dolphins swimming in the bay! There are also a number of activities you can choose if you so wish or you can just lounge all day. We rented kayaks right at the hotel and they were brought down for us by our host, Chris. We also enjoyed a hike in the lush forest, also a great place for mountain bikers. In the evening we had a game of pool in the club room and watch a movie all by ourselves in their deluxe surround sound theatre!
We will definitely return with our children next time and perhaps rent out their tree house which is great for families. Our boys love the ocean - combing the beach and diving down and collecting the biggest starfish I have ever seen from dark purple to orange - just amazing! You will definitely enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — breathtaking location and gorgeous hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islet Place, Sechelt, British Columbia BC V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuwanek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.