We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Cove Lodge
Save
You added Hidden Cove Lodge to your Saves list
1 Hidden Cove Rd | PO Box 258, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great location and views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

After 7 hr drive from Tofino we arrived to find there would be no evening meal for next 2 nights as chef was off. Check this out in advance, as meals have to be pre booked incl breakfast and have limited menu , fortunately we rang in advance and went to supermarket on route for self catering as we had a 2 yr old in tow and didn't want to go out again first night after long drive.
Our cottage was adequate for our needs for 3 night stay ; 2 families with a toddler , but we were greeted with a list of do's and donts in the cottage posted everywhere. Whilst I accept that not obeying the rules about fuel and water conservation and being on a septic tank system may cause problems this could be better expalined in a manual in the house . rather unwelcoming to be greeted with no chef and a list of rules !
having overcome this problem we self catered the first night and I would suggest you keep cooking to a minimum and eat out . Other guests advised not to eat in Port Mc Neill and they were right we ate at boardwalk resaurant in Telegraph Cove which is much nicer place than Port McNeill and worth a visit historically. If short of time visit there and do the grizzly bear trip dont bother with port mc neill except for essentials..
The lodge itself was tranquil and well situated for wild life viewing and dawn breaking over the bay , saw the local bears one only 5 ft away ! but we were lucky , there are only 2 in the area. saw orca from our balcony and other whales and seals on our grizzly trip.
Went with Rip tide tours to see grizzlys , be warned that if you pay full amount up front and they dont take you to the stands you cant get your money back for the difference, as experienced by some guests on previous trip . we payed deposit and and due to feeding conditions we didnt get to use stands as there were no bears there. Unfortunately weather conditions were horrendous , it rained most of the day. definately need waterproofs for this trip or use theirs as its very exposed. The trip was good and informative , guides worked hard to get us to access the bears but only saw mum and 3 cubs from about 50 mtrs away which is the requred viewing distance, previous day guests saw 13 but one participant had very good binoculars and this helped the guides , we didnt have any . Luck of the draw really but I would reccomend Rip Tide.
Saw other wildlife on route, and from lodge where we also saw black tailed deer. Sunrise and sunset were magical. Had dinner in lodge on last night which was nice and efficiently done , breakfast was rather unhealthy mainly pastries and cake , yoghurt and cereal and one cooked option , could have done with healthier options like fruit and toast/ bread ..Considering its remoteness the lodge does pretty well really , but it is looking rather dated in parts , communal area was fine and clean but gallery outside was broken in parts as was the walkway to the boat.
Single beds in our cottage and sofa were uncomfortable so I would nt reccommend a stay of more than 2/3 nights particularly 5 sharing one bathroom there is little privacy .
Better for family of parent s and children than extended family group.
However I would reccommend this lodge for a short stay as the wild life opportunities are its compensation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    23
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Had a great stay in this Lodge with great views right on the waters edge and easy access to whale, fishing and bear trips from the jetty. Great restaurant on site and friendly hosts.
Sofa bed a tad uncomfortable but all that fresh air meant u slept well anyway. Highly recomend Tide Tours for bears at Knights Inlet and MacKays for brilliant and informative whale tours- Bill trully loves his Orcas and his daughter Nicola who must be part fish by the way she dived into that frezzing cold water continues to fight the good fight for the survival of the wild salmon !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have recently returned from 2 weeks exploring Vancouver Island and without doubt our stay at Hidden Cove was the highlight of our trip. Dan and Sandra are wonderful hosts - knowledgeable, funny, entertaining and caring. We couldn't have asked for more. The location of Hidden Cove is exceptional - it really is a one off and I thank Dan and Sandra for their generosity in sharing their home with us.
The accommodation was great - a charming mixture of comfort and homeliness. We decided to eat in the first night, which is what we normally do as it's convenient but the food was so good we ate in every night we were there. Dinner consisted of a choice of 3-4 starters, a fish, meat or vegetarian main course and a delicious choice of desserts. You have to make your choice at breakfast, which was fine for us ( a meat eater and a fish eater) and our choices never failed to delight. The wine is worth a mention as it's good and very well priced - scarely more than you would pay in a shop.
We went on 2 trips whilst there, grizzly bear viewing in Knight Inlet with Tide Rip Tours and Whale Watching with Mackay. In both cases they will pick you up at Hidden Cove, which is a bonus. Both trips were excellent and well worth doing.
We stayed for 4 nights and could have happily stayed for another 4, we will next time! I would have loved to spend a couple of days just sitting on the deck with a good book and enjoying the wildlife, which is abundent. We were visited by bears, the smaller of which came up on the deck, a racoon, hummingbirds and eagles. It really was a delight and we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

What can I say that hasn't been said already, except to start with our biggest mistake which was only staying for 2 nights. Usually departing accommodation stops at the latest 8am we had to drag ourselves away from HCL at 11.
Situated down an unpaved road in an inlet off the Johnson Strait approx 15 minutes drive from Telegraph Cove and 25 minutes from Port McNeill the area is teeming with wildlife.
On numerours occasions during our stay we were able to watch black bear (1 with a cub) in close proximity and sea otters were playing on the dock. Dan fed the racoons which was amusing to watch and others saw blacktail deer, red squirrel and bald eagles as well as numerous other birds. The sunsets from the property are beautiful.
Our room was on a corner with two windows - one overlooking the side garden the water. It wasn't huge but beautifully furnished with a double bed, small open wardrobe and ensuite with ample toiletries and towels, It was also cleaned and tidied during our stay. As HCL is a home the furniture is better than hotel quality.
Dan is very friendly, Sandra less so and there are numerous rules posted around, but when you get to know the area you understand the need for this and adhere to them.
The food was very good with ample choice and alcohol is available at most times. My husband is a fussy eater and had no complaints!
We shared our stay with Americans, Israelis, French, Danes and lots of British and everyone socialised in the evening swapping stories of whale watching trips, grizzly trips and general driving trips.
We did the Grizzly & Salmon trip with Tide Rip Tours which was awsome. They collected and returned us to the dock at HCL.
This whole couple of days was a wonderful experience and we would love to return someday - staying at HCL longer of course!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hidden Cove Lodge is appropriately named. It is hidden between forest and sea and is warm & cozy, teeming with wildlife. We saw some of the resident bears and deer but thoroughly enjoyed the racoon family that frolicked outside the window every morning while we ate breakfast. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The Lodge also serves dinner which we enjoyed every night of our stay. The huge sitting room is surrounded by a wall of windows overlooking the forest and the Straits. So easy to take the last of our dinner wine down to the sitting room & relax by the fire. Dan is so friendly and funny, making you feel like you're part of the family. He will sit with you for breakfast and strolls the dinner tables making everyone feel right at home. He is truly a gem.
The whale watching trip they booked was undeniably the best ever; orcas, humpbacks, seals, sea lions, eagles, etc. The captain parked the boat in the middle of Orcas which seemed comfortable with us and put on a show; especially the baby orca playing leap frog with a porpoise! The topper was when he dropped a microphone into the water and we could hear the orcas "speaking". It was amazing!!
We like to keep "moving on" and see new places year after year but this is one place I will go back to. As we were driving out to our next stop, I was missing it before we got off the property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

It was really the highlight of our vacation. What a great place!
It’s not fancy, nor deluxe hotel, but you get the full value of your money because of its special location, and the fact the place is surrounded by wild nature, at its highest beauty.
Black bear came to visit the yard few minutes after we arrived (and returned later…), a family of raccoons dined on the porch while we drank our coffee, a bold eagle was passing by, and cute beavers were catching sun on the deck… What more could we expect?
Dan and Sandra were nice – not more, but not less, so that’s exactly the right dosage we thought they should be. The rest of the staff were simply great.
The rooms are basic but comfortable, and the only thing I wish we had is a thicker blanket, because we were a bit cold during the night.
It’s a great place, and I hope to visit it again with our children one day

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hidden Cove Lodge. The setting is beautiful and although we weren't lucky enough to see a black bear, the resident racoon family were a delight and the 5 month old babies oh-so-cute in a clumsy kind of way. Dan (host) was especially entertaining with his tongue-in-cheek humour. The evening meal was delicious with generous portions and the waitresses were very friendly. Breakfast was also great. Our room was impeccably clean, comfortable and very quiet. We hope to return some day in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Cove Lodge

Address: 1 Hidden Cove Rd | PO Box 258, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hidden Cove Hotel Port Mcneill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.