We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haters gunna hate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge to your Saves list
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
2000 Panorama Drive (BAG 7000), Panorama, British Columbia V0A1T0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Haters gunna hate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Not too sure why people are so whiny..it's a sweet old school ski condo-lodge that's in the lower village with bbqs, hot tubs, general/liquor/pizza store, and the infamous jackpine pub..almost all the units are definately ski in ski out if you can maneuver at all on skis and know how to skate a little..no lift lines, except at Christmas and March break..some amazing tree skiing with steep chutes and small features (devils drop and starfire cliffs are the best spots on the mountain - also check out turnpike 1 for a cool view, if it's open) there's also some long steep groomers for takin it easy and layin some rails..not much fresh snow in large amounts but when it happens it's always champagne pow and lasts for days..It's bluebird and warm a lot with the massive mt Nelson booming at you from across the valley. The mountain views from the top will blow your mind and you can sit and have a beer.

If you come here to sit in your unit and look for stuff to complain about instead of always being outdoors and taking part in après in the village or checking out local culture then I'm afraid you've lost the ability to have fun and enjoy the simple life around you..for everyone else, enjoy..this place is a beaut!

Ps if you're planning a vacation do some research and figure out the best time of year to go for certain activities....the golf course is exceptional too, bent grass tee to green (not Augusta speeds but totally manageable) most scenic and creative holes I've ever played..play all day rate incl carts too..

I could go on and on about how awesome panorama is...just go check it out, have fun, and don't be a whiny B

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi GoWestGoBig,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Panorama Mountain Village. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our property, accommodations and surrounding area. It sounds like you had a really great time during your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fast and polite 5 minute check-in, underground parking 30 steps from our front door, good start. The mountain is awesome, you simply cannot ski all the terrain in 3 days and they had a foot of snow the week before we came. This was mid-January and the daytime highs were +3 Celcius and -10 at night. Because of the warm temperatures the x-country trails were a little iced over and less than ideal.

HAVE COFFEE AND A FUDGE AT A VIEW OF A 1000 PEAKS, YOU WONT FORGET IT EVER!!

When we got there the door did not lock so we phoned the front desk and maintenance had it fixed within a half hour, awesome. One minor complaint, the shower head should be replaced, the spray was not adjustable and the hard fine spray stings the skin. The bed was really comfy.
Mid January is the perfect time to go, no lift lines and lots of terrain, good weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi veggiemanontherun,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We're so glad to learn of your visit and we're thrilled you enjoyed skiing and the coffee and fudge up at the top of the peak. We're happy to know our staff was able to accommodate the trouble you were experiencing with the lock on your door quickly. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Panorama Resort was everything I could ask for in a ski lodge. The staff was knowledgable, very friendly, professional and accommodating. The unit we stayed at was a ground level unit in Horse Thief Lodge and was very nice and in great shape with everything one would need. The decor was updated & casual with lots of towels and extra bedding. The bed was very comfortable, but the pull out sofa was springy and I did wish they had feather pillows (but i'm picky). We had a small appliance that wasn't working 100% of the time but the staff had it replaced that afternoon. The ski lift was just a few steps outside our door with a couple of hot tubs very close by and the general store was just down the way approx 5 min or less. Panorama had daily activities that we enjoyed through out the week as our husbands went to the slopes. Our stay was mid January so line ups were at a minimum, my husband took in a ski session and due to less people he had the instructor to himself. Restaurants were great about a 21/2-3 star with fantastic service. Laundry facilities was nearby in the underground parking which was also a great way to get places without having to go outside in the cold. We 're very glad we picked the off season to avoid the line ups that I could see happening during peak times as all resorts must have to deal with. This is our 4th year going and we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Pick a main level and end unit, people can be very noisy with their ski boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Dawn N,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad our staff was friendly, professional and knowledgeable about any of the questions you may have had during your visit. We hope you had fun exploring the area and hope you had a great time skiing. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your fifth stay. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We entered our room in horse thief lodge and the room was freezing. It took 30 minutes to warm up. The decor needs updating and the frying pans were not non stick. It took 10 minutes to get to ,the gondola in our uncomfortable skii boots only to realize it had a line up of about 50 people. We trudged up the stairs and finally got to the main lodge. If you stay at this resort book early and get into the more modern units that are actually skii in and skii out....

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in October and then again in December, for the Christmas week. Needless to say, definitely will be our last time. Although very convenient for skiing, the con's outweigh the pro's. So here it is:
Con's: terrible unprofessional staff at the reception check-in, I called 2 times beforehand to have us in a building on a ground floor, ended up 2 stairs up facing the snowhill in the back. They refused to move us even after I did the walk through and saw more than half the units still empty. Considering how much we paid for the unit, I'd like at least a bit of a view, but it's either staring at the retaining wall or having your front porch be a walkway-thus not exactly comfortable keeping the blinds open all the time. The units are small, dated, the pull out couch extremely uncomfortable. The way the units are designed is the worst-either way you will hear the neighbours through the wall, or have them walk on top of your apartment. The heating system is very loud and inefficient. Also, no built-in humidifier so it gets very dry in the winter. Worst of all for me, though, is the staff, that doesn't know anything- not even about their ski rentals! or open/close hours, once you dial "0" to reach reception from your room, you are put on hold for minutes! even after 10 pm-what if there was an emergency? noone bothers to answer the phone, or return your calls, i've also been hung up on. I had internet problems (which they charge 9$/day for) and noone bothered to fix it, i had to call tech support and spend my first evening fighting with the internet instead of relaxing at the pools.
I have no idea why the management keeps hiring such incompetent staff, but considering the premium price plus the amenites fees, this resort is extremely overpriced for what you get-the worst I've stayed at in the kootenays region for sure. Their only saving grace is the proximity to the ski hill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee W, Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Ksneoid,
Thank you for reviewing Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge. We are sorry to learn of your experience with our staff and accommodations. We'd appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your concerns. We invite you to contact us at ahopkins@gpresorts.com with your contact information and a member of our team will be in touch with you as soon as possible. We hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is not what we expected. The place is a 70s fixerupper paradise. Common areas in dire need of paint and general upkeep. Also, sidewalks needed to be replaced. The unit up above looked to be fairly new and every thing looked in great shape. The unit needed to have the furniture replaced,as there was a tear on a chair and sofa cushions were approximately 2" thick in places. Had rented for the week and left early. Laundry is in enclosed garage with fumes and all. Not a place to spend one night in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We travelled to this lodge from 13-15 September 2013. We stayed at the horsethief lodge condos.

Pros
Nice rustic feel
Kitchen fridge was very clean in both condos

Cons
There was a rat in the condo. We had to be relocated to another similar condo. The staff was apologetic but we had to spend a big chunk of our time packing and moving so we could not enjoy the hot tub as per our plans.
Carpets were dirty, hard and smelly and could not even put my crawling babies on the floor. Lucky enough I had brought their bouncers along
Room smelt of cigarette smoke and had to leave windows open throughout our stay
White shower curtains looked brown with dirt. I could not even bath my babies in them
Very cold and hard to adjust heating. My babies came back with a cold:(
No activity whatsoever except for pool , hot tubs and gondola (open between 10-5pm). Apparently not much is open during off season
Do not go during off season or you will be bored to death:(.
Outdated and dirty BBQ stands. We ended up not using them as they were extremely dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge

Address: 2000 Panorama Drive (BAG 7000), Panorama, British Columbia V0A1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, is a favorite among visitors. Any time of the year, the resort's heated Jacuzzis, pools, saunas, and the natural Hot Springs are a respite after a day of outdoor adventure skiing, snowmobiling or exploring the landscape on ATVs. Play tennis, BBQ with friends and family, relax and splash in the mini water park, golfing at Greywolf or dine at the local restaurants, Panorama Vacation Retreat offers memorable activities for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.