We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Mountain Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Mountain Village to your Saves list
Panorama Mountain Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km (11 mi) west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights in a studio in Panorama Springs condo building with 10 year old.
Lots of space and all the amenities you could want in a condo including underground parking and security.
Activities abound on site but some are overpriced. $12 for an adult to rideup a quad once ( an all-day pass is the only option). Also $4 for a child to climb a small rock wall.
This could be a 4 star property if management would make some minor changes. The rooms need better cleaning such as dusting lampshades and paintings. The young staff is typical ski hill type - nice kids from around the world - but they need mentorship. They all have a different answer for your questions. There should be a daily meeting where a manager gives staff up to date info. We were told that we had to be at adventure centre for a horeseback ride one hour before - 30 minutes before and 20 minutes before it began....sigh. Lots of potential at this resort but the staff need the info and training to be successful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanoramaMountain, Public Relations Manager at Panorama Mountain Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear jojobean.

Thank you for your recent visit to Panorama and for taking the time to do a Trip Advisor review.

We want to address a few of the items you had mentioned in your review.

We would love to have you come visit us again next summer and would like to offer helpful tip that you might not have been aware of. Any guest that books through the official Panorama reservation channels receive a free sightseeing lift ticket for each person for each day of their stay. This makes a huge difference and really ads value to our guests who stay with us. Mountain bikers can also upgrade their sightseeing lift ticket to a bike park ticket for an additional fee.

We appreciate your feedback staff communication. This is an area we work consistently on to improve and we hope that we can better serve you through staff knowledge if you choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    64
    50
    28
    34
See reviews for
107
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Way too expensive for little that they have to offer. We came on a Monday and not much is open until Thursday. This has become a classic golf and weekend place. They are not too family friendly. There is more on weekends but hardly anything during the week. They used to offer a free chair pass for the duration of the stay but now it's only for a day of sight seeing - cheep! By the way, the chair is only open from Thursday to Sunday so do not plan any mountain biking during the week either. Same goes for bouncy castles and other kids activities.

We recycle but the recycling facilities here are on the level from 1954. Unless you want to schlep your own recyclables a few kilometers down the road the recycling facilities are non existent. Yet they claim to be extremely environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanoramaMountain, Public Relations Manager at Panorama Mountain Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Aleks R,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be happy to know for summer 2013 the Mile 1 Quad will be open for our bike park and sightseeing seven days a week.

Regarding the kids activities and bouncy castles there must have been some confusion during your stay and we apologize if in some way details were not communicated clearly to you. Panorama has continued to grow its family experience in recent years and our kids activities and the Fun Zone (bouncy castles, climbing wall and mini golf) were open seven days a week this summer and will continue to next year during our summer season.

Guests who book and stay through the official Panorama reservation channels receive a free sightseeing lift ticket for each person for each day of their stay.

Thank you again for visiting us this summer. We hope you will come back and visit us in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for a night in a recent weekend trip to Fairmont Hot Springs. We had a lovely studio on the Upper Village and had lots of fun. We cooked our own dinner and breakfast, which helped cutting our costs down. The studio comes with a queen bed, a sofa bed (for 2), fridge, stove, micro-wave, dish-washer, flat-screen tv, dvd player. Spacious bathroom. Nice balcony and gas fireplace. Every building has a gym, hot tub, laundry area. The hot pools were clean and nice to relax. The only draw back is that they don't open until 10 AM and check-out is at 11 AM. Check-in time is also very late: 5 PM. Not much to do/see in the summer, but a good place to over-night for sure.

Room Tip: Have a room in the Upper Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Panorama Mountain Village, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It sounds like you stayed prior to our opening for summer operations. We operate June 29th – September 2 offering a variety of adventure and family focused activities like river rafting, ATV tours, horseback tours, mini-golf, bouncy castles and more. We also operate our Mile 1 chairlift Thursday – Sunday for sightseeing/hiking and access to the Panorama Bike Park. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Panorama is a dirty place, don't go there. The parking lot is philthy and your snow outfit, that you paid lots of money will be covered in dirt. The food is extremley bad and there is no choices of nightlife or restaurants. Spend your money elsewhere, you will be much more appreciated as a guest elsewhere then at Panorama.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Panorama Mountain Village, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear A M,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. The parking lots for day skiers are gravel and the conditions in those lots can change hour by hour depending on the varying mountain weather (snow, sun , melt, freeze). For the safety of our guests, when we get new snow, we do our best to keep them clear and well sanded so that our guests do not lose traction when walking or driving in their vehicle. This can cause the beautiful white snow to appear dirty after a warmer day, but we feel that in this case the safety of our guest trumps the snows appearance.

During the winter season we have a variety of restaurants to choose from quick service outlets to casual dining. I sincerely apologize if these options were not made apparent to you.

We would love to earn your business back please email me at marketing@panoramaresort.com and reference your previous stay. I will do my best to ensure your next stay with us is a much more positive experience.

Sincerely,

Chris
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

The location to the hill is great. Our room was nice but was in need of a few repairs. The dishwasher door pretty much fell apart when you opened it. Room cleaning is every three days!!! I didn't mind this but one miniscule bottle of shampoo come on. All the money saved on housekeeping I am sure a few bottles could be spared without having to call for it. Other that those things I would stay again because of friendly staff and awesome location to lift. but bring your own shampoo.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Totally see why so many Calgary families own on the hill - arrive Friday afternoon and don't see the car again till Sunday.

We we're here during the K1 finals staying at a 2 bed unit on the upper village - well maintained and finished that was clean and comfortable with good beds and good provision of towels and toiletries etc.

Kids loved the gondola, hot tub and freedom of the lovely grounds and the event itself was fantastic with a gala dinner arranged for the kids where Jan Hudec hosted - great hill, great race, great even and great lodgings, very jealous of what you guys get to enjoy every weekend, nice work team Pano.

Rob

Room Tip: Get a ski in and out unit but not above the noisy lodge, next unit over above Lusti's is best
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed with our teenage daughter in the Lookout townhomes (upper village) April 2-7, as part of a Resort2Resort trade, using our quartershare of condo at Copper Mountain, CO. This was our first time skiing in Canada, and Copper is our main point of comparison. Overall, the beauty of the area and the friendliness of folks at Panorama were the stars. Having said that, we likely won't be back.

Accommodation was very nice. Kitchen was well outiftted, comfy beds, enough room. Bedrooms not very big, but you're just sleeping in them, so no big deal. Short walk to the lift. I love true ski-in/ski-out, but this was fine.

Skiing. Loved the complete lack of lines at the lifts. Some beautiful runs here, and it was gorgeous up at the top of Mt. Panorama. That said, I think that the staff's idea of a "groomed run" is different than everything I've seen before at other ski areas. I'd get on a run in the morning that had been groomed, and it was pretty hard to tell that a snowcat had been there at all. The same runs are "groomed" pretty much every day, which for my daughter and me - who pretty much stick to groomed trails - made things a bit boring at times. There was a big downhill competition going on while we were there, which was cool to watch from the lifts, but the downside was that some of the trails we would have been on were taken by the race. Plus the racers managed to carve some pretty big ruts in ALL the runs when they weren't racing and almost ran us over a few times. We found lift ticket prices to be pretty high relative to just about any resort in the States except Vail.

We took a half-day lesson to improve some skills. Our instructor, James, was outstanding. Very personable and helpful. We learned a lot. Also went to Radium Hot Springs and the spa, which was lovely and a great way to round out a day. We were looking forward to the promoted Tubing Hill, but were pretty bummed when we saw it. It's tiny, and pretty flat. If you have very small children, this would be great, but not for us. We were also disappointed that the pool area that has the waterslide wasn't in operation. I can understand that at the end of the season you can't have everything open, but it would have been helpful to have this mentioned on the website so that our daughter wouldn't have gotten her hopes up.

Food in the village is where we really felt let down. Everything was overpriced in our opinion for what we received (and we're used to paying a premium at ski resorts). Wildfire Rustic Grill was fine, and we really liked Chopper's Landing (in the RK Heliski building). We wished we had tried Grey's Restaurant, since we've read such great things about it. One night we struck out everywhere: the Jackpine Pub smelled strange and wouldn't allow kids, next we thought that the pizza place in the lower village was dine-in but walked in and found out it wasn't. Finally made our way to the Tbar and Grill, where we had to eat very quickly as kids aren't allowed after 8:00pm. Sandwiches there were not very good, and it was obvious from our musty-tasting tap beer that the bar hadn't regularly cleaned their lines. The coup de grace, however, was the General Store, where fruit was spoiled (a pineapple we picked up was very mushy... never seen that before) and the refrigerated fresh meat was absolutely grey in color. I wouldn't buy anything there that wasn't prepackaged or has the potential to spoil.

The people were all very friendly, and I was blown away by how gorgeous the area is. Plus, they had great snow while we were there; the same can't be said for ski areas in Colorado, so we really scored there. For people who live within driving distance, it's great. But for eight hours of flight/car travel to get there and for what you pay for travel and while there, I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Village

Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km (11 mi) west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Panorama Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Mountain Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.