We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Save
You added Benchmark B & B to your Saves list
1306 Smethurst Road, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special Save $200
Ranked #1 of 14 Naramata B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great rooms, great food, great view, great hosts, great area. And a pool and hot tub. Steve and Gail do a great job. Naramata is our favorite part of the Okanagan Valley. Wineries galore and a few with good restaurants just a short drive away. What more could you want?

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
155
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Benchmark this past summer and explored the very beautiful Naramata Bench. The owners Steve and Gail were fantastic hosts and very accommodating; they really made a point of making sure that we enjoyed everything that Naramata had to offer. Our breakfast each morning was delicious!! Our room was beautifully appointed and the views were incredible. Over looking Okanagan Lake we spent one unforgetable evening watching a storm travel across the lake while lounging on their out-door canopy beds. The B and B is also very close to the KVR (Kettle Valley Railway) about a mile up the road. So if you're up for a hike or bike early in the morning this is a great way to start the day before breakfast; you may even have enough time to make it up to one of the famous tunnels, just be back by 9 a.m, you don't want to miss breakfast. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Absolutely incredible! This in not your grandma's b&b....no dried flowers or musty dust ruffle to be seen anywhere. Very slick and chic, modern yet very cosy and comfy. Steve & Gail are amazing hosts and the breakfasts are simply stunning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are not the kind of person who enjoys exquisite views, gourmet breakfasts, beautifully appointed rooms and warm and gracious hosts then Benchmark B&B is not the place for you.
Steve and Gail have created a complete experience that should not be missed. Their B&B is situated high on the bench which gives an exquisite view of Lake Okanagan. The rooms are all beautifully appointed down to the last detail and the bed was every bit as comfortable as home.
Breakfast (which is an understatement as it consisted of 3 courses) started with fresh baked muffins and croissants, followed by fresh fruit, juice (ask for the house specialty "porange") and a gourmet breakfast. We were lucky to be there on a day where Eggs Benedict was served over homemade crab cakes.
The real charm of this B&B are the hosts. Warm and gracious together with a fabulous sense of humor. Where else does one get a farewell hug upon their departure?
Enjoying one of the days' wine purchases while lazing in the pod overlooking the lake is something not to be missed. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

bench·mark (benCHˌmärk)
noun. A standard by which something can be measured or judged.

Steve and Gail definitely set the highest standard with their Benchmark B&B, as evidenced by the numerous sterling reviews that attracted us here at the end of September. The pictures and descriptions on their website accurately portray a first-class operation.

Our stay highlights included bicycling the latter portion of the Kettle Valley Trail (Steve provided the bicycles and transport to the nearby trailhead), tastings at the numerous wineries in the vicinity (which continued as we enjoyed the view from our B&B's hot tub or comfortable day beds), and, most notably, starting each day with a sumptuous three course breakfast prepared by Gail (which was beyond compare!) and served by Steve in our suite.

Upon check-out, Steve mentioned that Naramata is one of only two communities in Canada belonging to "Cittaslow". I've since learned that "Municipalities which join the association are motivated by curious people of a recovered time, where man is still protagonist of the slow and healthy succession of seasons, respectful of citizens’ health, the authenticity of products and good food, rich of fascinating craft traditions, places of the spirit and unspoiled landscapes, and respectful of traditions through the joy of a slow and quiet living". I consider this an apt description of Steve and Gail's philosophy in creating the Benchmark B&B. Thank you - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First class all the way. The best B&B in the Okanogan. Would recommend it to anyone. Steve and Gail work extremely hard to make their place professional and outstanding!!! The breakfasts were the best we have ever had at a bed and breakfast and we have stayed at numerous ones in British Columbia. It was also very quiet and peaceful at night so we got a good night sleep both nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Combine two of the nicest people you could ever meet with the most tip top B and B and, hey presto! You get the Benchmark B and B!
As all the reviews outline, this place is brilliant. From Gail's cooking to Steve's bikes and lift to chute lake, from the fabulous hot tubs to the pods you could curl up in, the care and attention to detail at Benchmark is second to none. It really felt like staying with friends here.

We spent 3 weeks in Canada and travelled all over but definitely had withdrawal symptoms when we left the Okanagan! So watch out Steve and Gail, Marie and Simon your new south London friends are looking to come back next year...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Address: 1306 Smethurst Road, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benchmark B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.