We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple d'or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apple d'or to your Saves list
Apple d'or
2587 Naramata Road, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Naramata B&B and Inns
Courtenay
1 review
“The Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

On the recommendation of friends we travelled to the Naramata wine country for a long weekend at Apple d'or. We were not disappointed! This beautiful log home is more like a luxury small hotel rather than the standard B&B. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere. The hosts, Holly and Colin are gracious, the rooms were private, luxurious, spacious, and well appointed. We enjoyed our stay there immensely, and had the best sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were delivered on time and were top notch. A private patio and wonderful grounds with superb views and a pool rounded out our experience, and we can hardly wait to go back. Apple d'or is by far the best experience we have ever had at a B&B.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

After looking around for a place to take my boyfriend for this 35th birthday in the Okanagan, I stumbled across Apple D'Or. A glowing recommendation from a mutual friend confirmed we had to stay here. This amazing property did not disappoint.

After a picturesque drive through Naramata wine country we arrived at our destination - A beautiful log mansion overlooking the Naramata vineyards and Okanagan Lake. We were warmly welcomed by host Colin, and he showed us to our suite and around the grounds. The common areas of the log home are tastefully decorated with art and Naramata area event posters. We stayed in the Ambrosia room; which is beautifully decorated and comes equipped with a small kitchenette and private bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed with good quality full size shampoo and conditioner, lotions, and soaps.

The best part of the entire property is outside the French doors from your room…. A pathway through the well kept gardens leads you to a private and secluded pool overlooking the Okanagan Lake. We could have spent our entire trip by this pool, the view was breathtaking and the Okanagan weather was at its best! There is also a hot tub and sauna available on the property.

We had a beautiful patio outside our suite where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning that was made exactly to our specifications and delivered to our suite at the requested time.

We had a small mix up about the rates, but I was credited immediately without question.

In the past I have stayed at quite a few B & B’s, and I find them a bit uncomfortable with very little privacy. Apple D’Or is not a standard B & B, you get to eat your breakfast in the privacy of your own room or outdoor patio, you have a private bathroom, the rooms are huge and you barely see your hosts.

I cannot recommend Apple D’Or enough, it is quite simply the most beautiful, romantic, tranquil place I’ve ever had the pleasure of staying at. We will be back every year, religiously.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are beautiful, pick whichever one is in your price range and available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Colin and Holly have created beautiful suites in delightful gardens. However, we were not very warmly welcomed as we were left outside the front door for ages and had eventually to ring Colin on his mobile as no one answered the door bell. The following morning whilst we were changing from our swimming things into wedding clothes, Holly chose that moment to cut the lavender bushes just inches from our bedroom window and even when we closed the curtains she didn't have the courtesy to give us privacy by moving away to another corner of her pretty garden. The breakfast was delicious the first morning with a giant blueberry scone but we were disappointed on the second day when we were presented with half cooked croissants and a stodgy pain perdu. After a mix up with booking dates Colin made us pay the full price for the days we had missed which we completely understand and he gave us a voucher for two nights to be used off season which he need not have done. However, as we live in Europe, we won't be able to use them. He also charged us the full amount for doing laudry for our grand daughter's clothes. We had very much the feeling that Colin is extremely close to his pennies and this attitude rather clouded what should have been a lovely family reunion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

A wonderful B&B. We stayed four nights over a busy long weekend, and wanted something away from the busy touristy type areas. This was a great spot. The views from our private deck and from the pool area were awesome. The pool area was private. We didn't use all the facilities they offer as we were to busy checking out all the wineries nearby! Highly recommend the Apple Do'r

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This place is a very special treat. Beautifully decorated with oodles of privacy. Everything you need. Holly and Colin are very considerate and lovely hosts. Friendly without being obtrusive. The grounds, like the suites, are well and artfully maintained. This is a classy place that I would recommend to anyone seeking a romantic outing to wine country.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Although there is a lovely continental breakfast involved, these three suites are more luxury apartment than bed and breakfast. While staying at Apple D'Or we had a chance to view all three suites. Each apartment is a beautifully designed, self-contained, tranquil haven. All of the apartments have ensuite baths with heated floors, king beds, well-equipped kitchens, flatscreen tvs, dvd players, music systems, fireplaces, and private lake view patios. Each suite is elegantly furnished with antiques, books, carpets, luxurious bed linens, towels and bathrobes. There is a hot tub and sauna plus a pool overlooking the fabulous views of the Okanagan valley. Apple d'Or is situated in the Naramata Benchlands area just a short drive from Penticton and the airport. Your hosts, Colin and Holly, can give you suggestions on the best restaurants, gourmet food shops, entertainment options and local wineries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I would recomment Apple d'or without reservation to anyone seeking a romantic getaway or a fantastic place to stay on a trip to wine country. Holly and Colin are the consummate hosts - friendly but not intrusive and absolutely uncompromising in their attention to those all important little details. Loved the hot tub overlooking the lake. A real treat to have such great privacy and a truly comfortable suite overlooking beautiful grounds. I was particularly taken with the osprey nest sculpture in the corner by the pool. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple d'or

Address: 2587 Naramata Road, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although Apple d'or is a B+B, it feels more like a small boutique hotel contained within a 7500 square foot log house overlooking Okanagan Lake. It has only three individually and luxuriously decorated king suites, all with cooking facilities and private patios. With its exquisite gardens including hot tub and pool, it is the only Canada Select 5 Star accommodation east of the lower mainland in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apple d'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple d'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.