We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selkirk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selkirk Inn
Save
You added Selkirk Inn to your Saves list
210 6th Avenue NW | Box 370, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Hot Springs Pass!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We found this motel to be very clean, quiet, and affordable. Surprisingly for a small town motel this was very well run. Towels were of high standards and room was pretty large and bathroom had smoldering hot water. There is ample parking space. Unlike motels with common open hallway, this motel was more on the line of regular hotels having hallway with rooms on either side.

We found this hotel through BC Accommodations, as it was not listed in any of the major portals like Expedia, Booking.com etc. Unlike almost all hotels that we booked online during our BC trip, this was the first and only hotel that I had to book by calling the hotel. When I did not seem to accept the price, the manager immediately lowered the price by $10. Therefore, don't hesitate to bargain. Since, we did not have many options, we decided to take this offer, but wondering how good the motel will be; and we were pleasantly surprised with the service. BTW, they also charge your entire stay upfront unlike at the time of checking out. The hotel is run by a Chinese Canadian couple.

They provide free wi-fi, but the network and speed was at best very spotty. If you plan to access internet a lot or stream Netflix, you might be better off having 3G on your mobile device. At least cell reception is pretty good even in that small town. They also provide free coffee during early hours of the day in the lobby. Overall, very good experience.

Room Tip: You might like to see few rooms before selecting one. We wanted a room with kitchenette, but that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A good place to stay. Clean, quiet, easy access to lake and the hot spring.

David T

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I thought the hotel had good value for the price. The room was clean and tidy, and the front office staff was attentive. Don't get me wrong, it's not the Ritz by any means, but as a small town motel it certainly got the job done.

Didn't stay around for the breakfast, so I can't comment on that, though from the other reviews on here it doesn't seem like I missed much anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I went with some friends over Easter Long weekend for the hot springs and to visit family on the way. The place was clean and quiet, which allowed me the relaxation that I wanted, and the prices for the rooms were great (I think they've done some renovations since my last visit). This was my second time staying with them, and the owners (a Chinese couple) actually remembered me from last year! They are not extremely fluent in English but are very friendly people and mostly run the place themselves. I felt very comfortable asking them directly for anything I needed. I will definitely be back, hope to see you again soon Sam and Grace! ^_^

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived late at night due to a long snowy drive and were departing early the next morning for our heli-ski trip. Our host was very helpful in guiding us to our rooms and was accommodating in allowing us to use the lobby to allocate and pack our bags. Unfortunately, one of our rooms had not been completely cleaned (bathrooms were) and though we were offered clean sheets, there was still trash in the bins... not very appealing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Selkirk Inn is recommended when you go to Nakusp, BC. It is clean,
comfortable and great value for the price! We have stayed there for 5
day holiday. I did enjoy the peace and quiet and the hot spring. The
owners are very friendly and accommodating which is exactly what I was
looking for holidays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a great hotel for anyone to spend summer time in camping and hiking around, and winter in skiing and enjoy hot spring in this beautiful and quiet place, with blue lakes and green mountains surrounded! We just had a memorable Christmas break there stayed 4 nights at Selkirk Inn, clean and quite with stoves and fridges in the room, convenient place and easy-going owner...We'll take friends to visit and stay there soon...

Room Tip: Some rooms equipped with stoves and fridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selkirk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selkirk Inn

Address: 210 6th Avenue NW | Box 370, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selkirk Inn,conveniently located downtown Nakusp,has 39 clean and spacious units (incl. 11 Kitchenette rooms), luxurious queen/double size beds for you to enjoy. Each room has cable TV, wireless internet, and a mini fridge. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Friendly people offering a clean and comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selkirk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.