We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Ridge Cabins

Bear Ridge Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Ridge Cabins
Save
You added Bear Ridge Cabins to your Saves list
1200 Hot Springs Road, Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Nakusp, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Such a wonderful place to stay! Extremely clean and well taken care of with owners that really care for their property and cabins. We had an longer stay here and the owners could not have been kinder and more helpful. Definatly worth every sent!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wonderful cabins and a great value. We only stayed one night as we were just traveling through but would highly recommend. Very friendly owners and a beautiful little spot. Also has free wi-fi which worked out well as I had a chance to catch up on some email. I've always wanted to take a motorcycle trip out this way and will plan to make this a stop again for sure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We took the two bedroom cabin for the weekend with our teenaged kids - what a gorgeous place! Martin and Judith are obviously very thoughtful people - the cabin was well planned, spotless and gorgeous. Another advantage was that they are not far from Nakusp hot springs - we saw a moose running along the road on the drive there at night! - I would highly recommend these cabins for a quiet, relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the bear ridge cabin.
The cabin are located perfectly between the acccess road to the hot spings (the ones in the mountains) and the village in Nakusp. Calm and view a view of the lake.
The cabins are perfectly furnished, clean, with a nice decoration and even fresh flowers on the kitchen table.
The very friendly owners make a great effort in making sure that thier guests feel comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our stay at Bear Ridge Cabins was a delight. We've camped, stayed in A-frames, B&B's, and rental homes in the Nakusp area, visiting nearly every year for decades. We always wanted to try Bear Ridge but found the "No Vacancy" sign out each time. This year we booked ahead and were we every pleased we did! Attention to detail abounds: kitchen well stocked (including tea and coffee), bathroom towels plush and changed for us, beds comfy, just the right amount of furnishings to enjoy daily comforts (without the over decoration that leaves a person with no where to move or put down their own belongings) and living room and dinning area perfect spots for enjoying the majestic mountain and lake view. The BBQ was close by and our cabin deck bathed in late afternoon sun for relaxing meals after our hikes and before our Hot Springs soaks. And did we mention all the hanging hooks? It is amazing how often the joy of somewhere to hang your coats, bags, and toiletries is overlooked in rental accommodation. Worried I might forget something on check-out, I'm often reluctant to use a closet or drawer for a shorter stay but so often there is no where to put ones things. Bear Ridge had hooks exactly where you need them, as if the proprietors had planned out how to make the cabins liveable for their short-stay guests. I also admired the signage. It was placed where you would need it (i.e. on the inside of the loft door, adjacent to the fire place, at the sink), framed or laminated and unobtrusive, and told you precisely what you needed to know to enjoy the proper use of the facilities. Cabins are in a great location too - off the highway, overlooking the lake, a very short car trip up to the Nakusp HotSprings and an even shorter trip in to town, with near by back roads for early morning dog walks easy to get to. The hosts were helpful, polite, and provided just the right amount of support + privacy. A fine balance that goes a long way to enjoying a three day stay, as we did.

Room Tip: Phone ahead with web page open in front of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Unparalled natural beauty any season of the year. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway with your love, a family friendly adventure, or just some peace and quiet on your own, Bear Ridge Cabins is the place to go. For less than the price of many hotel rooms, you get an entire cabin amidst scenery that can't be beat. The cabins are quaintly decorated and very clean. You can find all the comforts of home with that rustic hideaway feel. Owners Martin and Judith are very friendly and approachable and can tell you about the history of the area as well as how to get anywhere you might want to go. Don't miss going to the hot springs in the winter and the music festival or beach in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had planned on heading to another destination but due to avalanche issues ended up in Naksup. We drove into Bear Ridge Cabins upon seeing the vacancy sign and were very impressed with the hospitality and calibre of accommodations. Our stay at the very clean and completely equipped cabin was the highlight of our weekend trip to Nakusp. We are planning to make another trip - specifically to stay at Bear Ridge Cabins. We found Martin and Judith to be extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Ridge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Ridge Cabins

Address: 1200 Hot Springs Road, Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nakusp
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Ridge Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.