We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our lunch here, the borscht was delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borscht Bowl

Borscht Bowl
214 Market Ave, Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada
250.442.5977
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Russian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved our lunch here, the borscht was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the summer special with Borscht. Everything was excellent including the bread, my husband also had the blueberry pyroshky which he really enjoyed. Everything was made fresh, you could hear the veggies being chopped!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I never knew Borscht was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stopped here on a trip and had to do laundry, looked around for something local and found this place. Unfortunately it was closed so I looped around town some more. I passed this place from the other way and lucky me it was now open. I really enjoyed the Borscht and wanted to take some frozen but home was over 1,000 miles away. If I'm in the area, I will most definitely go here again, and the people are friendly and unpretentious here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After eating Russian food all my life and years of eating here I have concluded they should change there name from "Borscht Bowl" to "Pedahi Plate" The borscht although very good is no mach for the phenomenal pedahi!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a wonderful culinary oasis this place is. The whole menu is a wonderful example of the best of Doukabour cooking, however the Borscht is the best reason to stop. Wow, what a wonderful taste sensation. A large bowl and a thick slice of wonderful bread and there is nothing else needed. Well, only one thing - take some borscht to go for another feast later on.

Our waitress was absolutely charming and most helpful. The décor is only average, but this only makes a guest feel more "at home".

If you are travelling through Grand Forks, BC make sure it is at a meal time and stop at the Borscht Bowl. There are many other wonderful items to savour if you wish a larger meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“interesting lunch stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

on a trip through the region we stopped for lunch. We had been craving Russian food and this place fit the bill.Both the special that my wife ordered and the meal that I had were very filling and quite reasonably priced. A bit lacking in atmosphere but the service was fine and there was definitely local colour!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borscht Bowl also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 

Been to Borscht Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borscht Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.