We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Forks welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Johnny's Motel to your Saves list
Johnny's Motel
7291 Hwy 3 E | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
chetwynd b.c.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Forks welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here 3 times in the past four months while house hunting and finally moving to Grand Forks. This is a very nice looking motel situated close to the Granby river and most of the rooms have a back door that opens up to a small private patio a lawn area with picnic tables along the bank of the river. The owners are
Clive and Nicky Robinson who are extremely friendly and helpful (we came back twice) . The rooms are spacious and have a microwave and fridge, They are also extremely clean, the beds are great, linens and towels are white and fresh. To top it all off the room rates are really reasonable. You cannot go wrong in choosing this accommodation.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have firm mattresses and some have pillow top. You may have a choice of either if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay, house moving can be very stressful so its good you could unwind a little.
Mattress preference can be tricky so this year we opted for mostly medium firm, but we do have some firm ones as well, if you do have a special preference please let us know at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
55
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we checked in it was quick and very friendly. I even mentioned about needing a cab possibly on Saturday and she offered to drive us there :)
We also had our dog with us. The first night we attempted to leave him in the room and he had different ideas (started barking). When we spoke to the owner on the phone, he was very polite and understanding. Didn't get mad at us or anything, we just came back and made sure we took our pooch with us the rest of the trip.
The room was very clean, great little kitchenette. Super spot to sit out back right on the river. There were ample chairs, picnic tables and other patio type tables for people to use. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't very good, so we weren't able to utilize the outdoor space as much as we would've liked.
The location is great, on the edge of town, quick trip in and quick trip to Christina Lake. It is right on the highway, but I didn't find the noise to be disturbing at all.
I would definitely return, great value!!!! Awesome service!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the 2 bedroom with kitchenette and carport :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Nice to hear from you , and pleased that you were not offended when we asked you to come and comfort your dog....poor thing! It can be difficult keeping your dog with you all the time especially in the heat, so as long as you trust your pet not to eat the furnishings, if you need to leave him behind and we have a way of reaching you if he gets anxious all is good. Sorry about the freaky weather we will work on it for your next visit. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Regular 1 Q Patio, room #20. You park right in-front of your room door, or some rooms have a car port. Clean and efficient use of space in room. Sliding glass door opens to lawned area in front of river. Nice medium size fridge, microwave and coffee maker (no dishes other than coffee cups). Good towels, linens. Extra pillows in chest drawer. Tub/shower has good pressure and temperature. Free wifi. Heated clean swimming pool, pool towels and floaty noodles supplied. Very nice check in by a very pleasant man. Just of the highway before the bridge into Grand Forks - is not very busy with traffic. A/C works but not really efficient system and very noisy. Fairly quiet overnight but can hear comings and goings from close by rooms (at the mercy of your neighbours really). There was also an odd rumbling noise that we couldn't quite identify as water pipe noise or utility noise (there is a door to utility closet beside this patio door) but which didn't affect our sleep. The manager was very concerned about this noise when we reported it the next day and concerned about our quality of stay which was very much appreciated. Very nice to open the sliding door in the a.m. for a morning breeze and hear the birds and the river. $73/nite including tax is good value.

Room Tip: Room #20 is a regular queen room with sliding doors and patio facing the river. It is between two ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay and just so as not to mislead I think the rate you mentioned was discounted to make amends for the illusive noise you reported. It can be hard to live up to the consumers expectations with online reviews, when we as a budget motel are listed along side the larger more expensive flagged hotels in town, but we will do our best. We do have kitchen units which are fully equipped, but the room you were in , (and all non kitchens) did actually have dishes plates and cutlery hiding in the microwave, sorry we omitted to mention that. We found that especially in summer our guests like to pick up breakfast at the supermarket and enjoy it on the riverbank.
Many thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Wonderful and clean and just what we needed. We had a room with a backdoor beside the river. A great place to relax and sit by the river and do nothing. It had all the amenities needed and was recommended to us by a couple in the pub we went to in Grand Forks, as the place that all the salesmen/traveler's used. That was a good enough recommendation for us!

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for your review, and yes it is great to be able to sit out by the river on warm summers day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

On My fourth stay in this property, I felt compelled to comment on the overall experience. Johnny's is operated by a couple and a team of support people that care, and provide the best overall experience I've had, in over 300 nights spent in various properties, in the last six years. The rooms are well appointed,and exceptionally clean. The pool is open for the spring and summer months. The rates are low, and return customers are not only remembered, but rewarded. The owners work hard on the entire operation, and the attention to detail is stellar. This property is so well run that it is worth changing Your travel plans to stay here.

Room Tip: Carport area for rainy nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, its great when we can give the team a pat on the back and let them know the extra care is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you love motorcycle touring Johnny's is a must see destination! The motel is very well cared for, on a beautiful location right on the river, has carports to park your bike under and the English owners add a real touch of class. I have rode most of the great motorcycle roads in North America ( have rode more than 15,000 km by the end of May this season) and not stayed at a better Motel for motorcycling. It's worth the ride just to spend some time at Johnny's!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Appreciate your comments. We have had quite a few more motorcycles pass through this year, and yes the carports are very popular but only seven units have them, so please book in advance when you can as we hate turning people away, and we do have a very lenient cancelations policy. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My son's and I like to do an annual Golf Trip... We've done various locations in BC and Washington State. Usually 1 week... and we have not duplicated... until this year.
We started planning and after a great deal of discussion the question was posed " Why don't we just go back to Johnny's and do last year all over?" It was a unanimous YES!
Right from check in , through our entire stay, the staff of Johnny's couldn't be any friendlier or accommodating. The Motel is well maintained, The location by the river makes it so relaxing, the Barbecues are plentiful and all tools are supplied...The pool is clean and refreshing. Price and value is surprising... We can't wait for our trip this year, and Johnny's is a big part of why its Kootenay Golf for us again this year!.... and it certainly won't be the last time either!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us a mention. Its always nice to know we are on the right track, look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Address: 7291 Hwy 3 E | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional English hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.