We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Two or Three Days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Johnny's Motel to your Saves list
Johnny's Motel
7291 Hwy 3 E | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stay Two or Three Days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Sick of the crowded lakes and traffic jams of the Okanagan? Give the Boundary region a try. There are plenty of smaller lakes in the region, it has a hot, dry climate, beautiful hillsides crisscrossed with the Kettle Valley Railway trail and Trans Canada Trail, and two fine rivers (the Kettle and Grandby) for a lazy summer float, wade, or stop at numerous swimming holes with white sand beaches. Johnny’s is an excellent motel, more aptly described as duplex units sine you only share one wall per unit and usually get your own carport (some bachelor units have pull-up parking without the carport roof) and every unit has a side entrance, windows facing the river, and its own slice of river side lawn with patio chairs, picnic table, shade trees, good quality BBQ, and an easy walk down to their private beach. If the rivers not for you or you have young kids that you want to keep corralled they also have an outdoor pool situated in a sun-exposed spot. Johnny’s is located for an easy walk over a bridge to the downtown core of Grandforks where you will find an excellent Russian (and contemporary food café), a number of Espresso bars, casual clothing shops, pet supplies, bookstore, antique shop, and groceries. The regional trail club provides a map for a small fee that details several walks near-by, from riverside to town loops and a trek up a hill for a panoramic view of the valley. Four of the treks are all accessible by foot from Johnny’s as are both rivers, making this a pretty fine spot for a short get away. Johnny’s kitchenette units are well equipped for that length of stay. They are spacious enough with a new mid-sized fridge (with freezer), a good size and quality toaster oven and hot plate, and the gas BBQ outside your door that includes a side burner as well as double-decker grill. Cupboards are well stocked and kettle, coffee maker, and toaster included. All units come with either a kitchen table or counter, for comfortable sit down meals. Johnny’s is pet friendly, clean, and well maintained. We like the units with separate bedroom because they are so well laid out. Both rooms have bathroom access so you don’t have to pass through a room where others are asleep to use the bathroom, and there are a lot of windows on both sides of the unit to welcome sun rise and sun sets. There are some short (about one hour) day trips you can make from here, to Rock Creek and Christiana Lake Provincial Parks to round out a pleasant, short-stay break. Two more notes of interest: There are a number of interesting Doukhobor historical sites in the region and Grandforks is a crazy town for deer! They are lazing about in every nook and cranny. Keep your dogs leashed!

Room Tip: For a longer stay you can't go wrong with a Kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experiences I'm sure readers will find your review helpful and informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
54
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently spent a night at this motel on our travels through the Interior of BC. We had found the motel by checking on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. It is clear that there is great pride of ownership at this motel. The motel is certainly older (with a most interesting history) but has been extremely well maintained and updated. We enjoyed a room with the sliding patio doors leading to a large lawn and the river behind - very pretty and a great place to relax after a long day on the road. Although right off the highway it is very quite. We enjoyed the patio in the afternoon sunshine and again in the evening, when we sat outside (no bugs) and watched the racoons watch us. We felt very close to nature here. The owners/operators are very friendly and accomodating. The room we were in had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and even a few dishes so that we could eat on our back patio.

Although outside town and therefore feels more part of the wonderful wilderness of this region, it is an easy walking distance into the center of town. Grand Forks has wonderful hiking and cycling trails, and a lot of history, so next time we will spend a longer time there.

Room Tip: Rooms with sliding glass doors to back patio allow you to enjoy the parklike setting of this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, and yes we are very proud of what we have achieved over the last seven years. Whereas many places claim renovation we have actually dug a little deeper and done it properly, nice beds and flat screen TVs in all. Heres to the next seven years! Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We actually drove past coming fromthe east and thought it looked like it might be too noisy as it's right on the highway and it was still relatively early in the evening with lots of big trucks going past. Well it turned out to be anything but noisy and with the back door opening onto a pleasant lawn area and the river just steps beyond we were happy we came back. Rooms (we had two, thanks for deal Nicki" were clean and the beds comfortable. We'll return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
The hotel frontage can be deceptive, but all of the rooms have a door out onto a grassy riverbank. As all the motels in town are directly on Highway 3 we are lucky to be set back far enough to ensure a peaceful sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Everything a person needs for a pleasant stay. Easy walking distance to downtown and a good variety of restaurants (try Campo d'Algio). Several units have covered parking spaces, which would be convenient in inclement weather.

The pool looks good and I'd find this property particularly attractive for families with children. There is also a small sandy beach along the river and plenty of lawn to give young legs a place to run.

Highway noise was minimal, even when standing outside.

Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Its always good for guests to have up to date information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here the night before the Shambhala Music Festival as it is less than 2 hours away. We did request a room with 2 beds but it was no big deal to sleep with a friend in a large bed. The river was gorgeous and the owner was so very friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here, it was adorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. Yes we do get very busy, especially in the summer. Booking ahead gets you more choice, and if your plans change, theres no problem cancelling before 4pm on the day of arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Must admit after all of the, fantastic reviews on here I was expecting some,thing pretty amazing. Rooms were clean mans. Have obviously been renovated in the last few years. We were there in the Rain so couldn't go outside and the river was raging so couldn't enjoy the outdoors. Our smoke alarm went off for no reason at 10.30 at night which made our two year old scream in panic but these things do happen to no fault of the owners. An ok stay but I do recommend the Russian restaurant over the road, great food and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Sorry that the rain put a dampner on your stay, June through September we can normally guarantee the sun!. As for the smoke alarm going off , we replaced it when we saw you had taken it down, no idea why that happened, sincere appologies for the disruption. We have an assortment of rooms and suites, some with an extra room so you can put the kiddies to sleep and chill out in the another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As you come into Grand Forks from the East, the first motel to see is Johnny's - don't go by, it's the best in town in my opinion. Nice big rooms, super clean & right on the Kettle River. It's like a park right outside your door & they have benches, bar-b-ques, etc. to make things really convienient, not to mention the great pool. It can;'t get better, but it does - nice rates to boot. The owners go out of their way to make everything feel just like home, or better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thankyou for your comments, we are so pleased that you love our motel as much as we do, and the sunshine is always an added bonus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Address: 7291 Hwy 3 E | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional English hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.