We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   #1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gold Bridge
kdjfkjsdhf
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection - relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Every aspect of this resort was fabulous. This is not a stuck up city property, but still manages to provide thoughtful, respectful, professional service without being obsequious or annoying. The staff is exceptional, and was able to adapt easily to the needs of my 5 year old to those of my 70 y/o blind father. The activities are perfect for the lake, the setting is typically BC-knock-your socks-off beautiful, and the building is understated, clean and attractive. The access via the Hurley FSR requires commitment, and 4x4, but it helps to keep out the riffraff.
Best holiday in years.

Room Tip: Go with the lakeside rooms, unless you're pounding yourself senseless on the trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
33
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent only one night at Tyax (it is pricey) but we were able to check in early so we were able to enjoy the resort. We canoed and kayaked for the two days and had a great time. The food was great and the staff were very friendly. We will return again for a first class experience in the middle of nowhere!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake cost more but it is SO WORTH IT. Incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge the end of June and were impressed with the most everything! The room, views, lakes, horse riding, availability of kayaks and canoes, were all top drawer. The service lacked in that the servers and other hotel staff were a tad disorganized - our first nite there we had to ask for our table to be wiped, ask for our own drinks, menus etc. There seems to be a crowd of regulars that take over, and the guests are then second fiddle, but once I 'laid back' and realized that this was the way it was, .. (it's not kansas Dorothy) it was all good. (oh ya, they did run out of real coffee for the rooms, but that was forgiveable). Front end staff were awesome, very cheerful, upbeat. The only other neg was the Vancouverite yuppies in their north face gear... that wouldn't smile if they're life depended on it :|.. they're loss I figure :)
We will be back.. lots to do, see and smile about. !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you love nature and want to experience the spectacular British Columbia back country, go here. This place is very remote, yet reasonably easy to get to if you drive the road from Lillooet. The road is a bit sketchy in places, but not bad. You can get here in a Honda no problem. The resort is absolutely stunning. Huge glacier capped mountains framing the lake, beautiful padding and swimming. This place is literally a frontier wilderness experience, but luxurious. The food is excellent but very expensive. There is an absolutely lovely campsite on the resort, and we have camped here as well as stayed in the lodge. The campsites are exceptionally well maintained. All in all, you cannot beat this place if you want to experience Nature at it's finest. Lots of outdoor activities to do. Just go, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have a view so spectacular, you won't believe it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was traveling the Back country with my three boys as we found ourselves all of a sudden without matches or lighter, days into our trip. As we stopped in at Tayax Lodge to purchase either of the above, we were told that there were no Matches anywhere in the entire lodge. Non of the staff wanted, or was allowed to help us. Without hesitation we were sent on our merry way without a light. (yes, we were not paying costumers from the lodge, and we should have a light, but the Staff and establishment know, the next place to buy matches is, south 45 min drive and north 2 days).
I was very disappointed with the costumer service. It is unbelievable that a lodge would jeopardize potential costumers because of a pack of matches.
I am well established in the service industry in the area and will make sure I will pass on my experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The drive there was very scenic from Lilloett, so lush. The pine mountain lodge is fantastic, the service is superb, the quality of food is amazing. The cleanliness of the rooms, fitness areas, spas were impecable. Having access to such a variety of water sports was fantastic. Had a fabulous time, will certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went to Tyax for a weekend getaway and we were not disappointed!
The staff is very friendly, the rooms are all newly renovated. The spa is amazing. We've been to many spa resorts, and half the time it's not even a real spa. Tyax offers massages and other spa treatments as well as a steam room, sauna and hot tub (in the most amazing setting). Some people have been saying the food is expensive, but considering they have to bring everything in from quite far away it's definitely not that expensive (especially if you compare it to some Vancouver restaurants). Plus the food is really tasty!!

They offer complimentary use of their kayaks and canoes, so if you feel like a relaxing afternoon on the lake that's the way to go. We didn't go on any of their guided tours because we brought our dog and were limited to hiking, but it was still an amazing experience. SUper dog friendly place as well! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Also, we came through Lillooet on our way there, because we weren't sure about the Hurley. It's worth the drive, the scenery is amazing. On our way back to Vancouver we decided to give the Hurley a try. The Hurley is a forest service road from Gold Bridge to Pemberton. I would recommend 4x4 or AWD, but we didn't have any problems what so ever. It was quite an exciting trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa

Address: #1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;