We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   #1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gold Bridge
caramel1959
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Two couples went. It was a 4hr drive from Whistler over some rough road, but we did it in a Corolla with no trouble, although driver was being careful - it was his car after all.
Arrived for check in and all was good. Rooms were just lovely - big rooms, lovely bathrooms, comfy beds (2 queens each room). Great steam room, hot tub, and there was a sauna but we didn't use it. Pool table, restaurant (with way overpriced wine and service that was a bit ordinary, but not a lot of staff around) Dinners were fine, brekky was better. Lunch bag was a good deal - we went kayaking and took bag lunches for $16 each.
Free use of kayaks, row boat, canoes and peddle boats on the lake and just lovely surroundings... it was well worth the drive.

Room Tip: the forrest view rooms also face onto a very dusty driveway (well, it was in September 2012). Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
28
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I wondered why Google had stated the long travelling time from Lillooet but understood once we got on the unmade areas of road! I would strongly recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle, although our Kia Optima managed fine with very careful driving. The journey was well worth it! Tyax is in a wonderful location surrounded by mountains and forests next to a large lake. We found the staff friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was spacious, plenty of room for three of us, and a large balcony overlooking the lake. There was an excellent choice of menu in the restaurant which was very reasonably priced, especially considering that there was no competion due to the remote location. We made use of the canoes on the lake (no extra charge) and had it virtually to ourselves. We enjoyed starwatching at night( no light pollution) and hearing the coyotes calling in the forests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Gorgeous place and area, terrible customer service.
As another said, the owner of the float plane is terribly unhelpful, almost to the point of being rude. It seems to be all about money and not about sheer joy to share the beauty of the surroundings. He will not answer any questions in order to force you to spend $ on his services (guides/float plane) or risk getting lost as there are few marked trails in the back-country. I have dealt with him on 3 separate occasions and have been treated the same each time. Other friends have also had exactly the same experience. I have traveled a lot around BC biking and have always received ++ helpful information on trails, so this is sadly very disappointing.
We spent a lot of money here but were disappointed with many things including being charged $20 to use bathroom/spa services when staying in campground despite the hot tub not functioning and shower water being cold.
Water glasses in room were dirty. No bar fridge in room. Towels not replaced.
And the list goes on.
For such a beautiful place, with lovely decor and great amenities, the customer service really affected everyone in our group. It is really too bad.
As for trails in the area. There are not many really good ones near the lodge, need to make more of a backpacking trip out of it, but do your homework ahead of time because you are unlikely to get any advice on the area from the locals. There is very limited internet service, no cell service.
Unlike Banff, Whistler or other similar areas, do not expect to be catered here! They really do have the ability to make this an incredible destination but customer service is so important!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Out of the 9 hotels we stayed in on our trip in Canada, this was probably the one I was looking forward to the most.
But first, you've got to get there. We had a Chevy Impala - I'd recommend if you are staying here and driving, that you get a 4x4. The roads are pretty bad for quite a distance and the poor Chevy rental was struggling a little.
But, she got us there in the end and the location is truly fantastic. We had a lake view room on the second floor - the room looked like it had just been refurbished and was well appointed. The whole setting is opulent and peaceful and the surroundings are really tranquil.
You've got use of the boats on the lake which is great and the staff were all great too.
We were here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant for both of them - to be honest, you've got little choice, as there's nowhere else to eat for miles around. For me, I'd describe it really as only OK - it's pretty expensive for what it is and the choice is limited. I had something different for each evening and I'd exhausted the choices I actually wanted. The drinks are pretty pricey too.
We had a great 2 nights / 3 days here - it's great if you want somewhere to sit and relax in a beautiful setting. Any more days, I think I would have got bored. Any less, and you'd wonder whether the journey was worth it. Overall, I'd recommend to anyone to come here for some well deserved R&R.

Room Tip: We were lucky and got a room with a view over the lake. To be honest, this is a must - I'd reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pierre la Bourlhonne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

4 of us travelled for 3 weeks in Canada after my wife & I had spent 6 weeks travelling in America - for all of us this was the best combined experience of a fabulous holiday.
We were only able to stay 2 nights but what a place to stay. Classic log-style buildings, spacious room overlooking the Lake in a virtually private setting surrounded by stunning scenery. Excellent restaurant. Highly recommend the float plane trip up to the Glacier - the icing on the cake. Only adverse comment to the management was a noisy ice making machine that they are going to look at quiteneing.
Wouldn't miss the drive in from Lilloet or out via Gold Bridge, both beautiful.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Lake with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Driving the windy, dirt road (with endless avalanche warnings) to Tyax from Lilloet I had the impression I was 5 again with the following thought constantly running through my mind "Are we there yet ..." It was with great relief that the lodge appeared at the end of the 100km drive. The lodge was beautiful, the ambiance at the bar in the evening was lively and the breakfast menu was excellent. The hiking trails around the lodge were rather disappointing to say the least, considering the lack of signage, etc. So all in all was a lovely experience but not sure I'd drive all that way again on the dirt road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We highly recommend the restaurant. The menu is limited but each dish (and over two visits with friends we have tried them all) was absolutely excellent! The price was right and the service was wondeful. This was a very welcome surprise as our experience there a few years back was definitely not positive. Now this restaurant is a real find!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa

Address: #1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.