We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfire Restaurant & Catering

Woodfire Restaurant & Catering
500 N Road | Unit 1, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X0, Canada
+1 250-247-0095
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: West Coast cusine fused with Mediterranean flavours in a menu centered around the wood fired oven & grill, give Woodfire its own distinctive style & flavour. Professional catering service personally tailored to suit your needs, offering unlimited culinary possibilities. Available for any event large or small.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had lunch there this month and it was wonderful. $10 homemade soup and sandwich special was unreal! The service was great and I look forward to going for dinner next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODFIRE2014, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for this kind review. We very much appreciate customers feedback.
We are unfortunately no longer open for lunch but are open 7 days a week for dinner from 4 - 9pm so hope to see you again for dinner this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great cuisine on a small island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great menu. Always has special with seasonal ingredients. Had dinner there quite a few times and enjoyed it every times Service is excellent. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODFIRE2014, Manager at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It means a lot to have such nice words written about our restaurant and I shall be sure to pass your comments on to all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We debated about where to go for a special birthday celebration dinner and we're so glad we chose this restaurant. My sister has celiac disease and was thrilled to discover they make gluten free pizza. She raved about this pizza for days afterward. My husband and a friend ordered burgers and both thought they were exceptional. I had a pasta special that was also delicious. We'll take company here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“pizza good but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I ordered a pizza for takeout on the weekend. The pizza was very good taste wise but was overpriced for a small pizza. Things also seemed a bit disorganized. Would order a pizza again but because of the price would not be able to do it on a regular basis.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A treasure found on an island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

"Amazing, delicious, OMG so goood"! These are the murmurings I heard as our family of 11 tucked into their dinners October 19. The chef in me just had to sample the various dishes in front of us. I had thr appetizer ciopino and woodfire salad. More than delicious and enough to fill a hearty appetite! The samplings of lasagna, cod, and of course, the pizzas were indeed amazing! Dessert for me was the white chocolate pana cotta. This restaurant and the attentive staff are marvelous jewels not to be missed! Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodfire Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Woodfire Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.