We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in one of the most beautiful locations on the Planet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Coast Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Southlake, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place in one of the most beautiful locations on the Planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As you will quickly learn, the owner of the place is very involved in daily management and making sure everyone is happy, and he clearly enjoys what he does. Tucked in the middle of nowhere, but remotely close to bigger towns (45 min away from Sechelt), its a great feeling of responsibilities lifted. No cell service and very spotty Wifi (i didn't consider this a bad thing on the trip). When we arrived, we were greeted by our host and then show to our oceanside view room. It was spectacular, just all from the view alone. The room itself is very average at best, lower end finish out. Bathroom was nice and updated, but water pressure was poor. And no Air Conditioning. All of this sounds not good, but it amazingly all worked perfectly for the location. At night, it cools off enough with windows open to sleep perfectly. Good sized LCD tv for a little tv watching if you need to. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in a long time. It was also my best night sleep in years. We stayed active during the day with Hiking, Kayaking, boat tours etc... We also enjoyed a nice patio at the restuarant or at the marina restuarant with some good local brews on tap. Food was also very good at both restuarants. Inlets was nicer.

Room Tip: The best fitness center in the world: endless activites to do out in Nature. Go Explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A few comments and suggestions: the lodge is beautifully situated overlooking magnificent vistas. We had 2 rooms: the larger ocean view suite (502) was lovely, spacious with a balcony that overlooked the inlet and was perfect for lounging and reading if you could tear yourself away from beauty below. The other (501), with a partial (very partial) ocean view was considerably smaller but pleasant in particular for a couple who did not intend to stay indoors much. The beds in both were comfortable. Both rooms were clean, simply appointed but warm. I highly recommend the dinning room in the hotel for breakfast; delicious, plentiful and appreciated by both parents and children. The other meals were a little too fussy, but simple dishes such as the tomatoes and mozzarella salad and the soups were excellent. The personnel were friendly and attentive, in particular our waitress at dinner time, but all of the front office personnel as well. As far as activities, they tend to be very pricey. We did have a great time kayaking with their wonderful guide from New Zealand-very patient, enthusiastic and helpful. Lots of wildlife! We also took the zodiac tour to the Princess Louisa Inlet-If you like nature, boats and dream of the wild as it used to be, this is a trip for you. Here again Michael our guide was excellent. There is very little else in the town of Egmont, so do not count on much else locally. There is however one culinary treasure to experience: the extraordinary bakeshop in the path to the Skookumchuck rapids (do not try to see these at low tide...high tide is a must): the couple who run it (the husband is the carpenter who built the cabin, his wife who bakes and cooks) do an incredible job. The baked goods are second to none and you would be hard pressed to find better items anywhere. A must; actually a daily must, well worth a detour! The husband also runs the front of the bakery with good humor and many helpful suggestions. Another suggestion: try a swim in Waugh lake,a few minutes walk from the lodge. The water was enticing, and the lake pristine, devoid of other people when we went there, although it is just of the road. Another suggestion: do not go fishing from the lodge, but rather try Jeff Stieben with Pender Harbor Tours; we spent a wonderful 3 hours with him, catching loads of fish starting from Madeira, a 30 minutes drive South from Egmont. He took five of us for a fraction of the cost that the lodge would have charged us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the lodge from July 23-28, 2013 and concur with the previous review. The staff was very friendly and enthusiastic. From the website, you would be let to think that this place is mostly for weddings and corporate retreats, but that is not the case. We had a wonderful kayak trip with Katherine and hiked all day one day with George of their staff on the new Suncoast trail. This new trail runs the length of the peninsula and the trailhead is very close to the resort. The Klein Lake first section of the trail is very scenic. You can hike about 10km on this part through lovely temperate rainforest. The second section is under powerlines which we avoided. Perhaps it will be re-routed at some point. The trail has only been complete for about a year and is very well marked. They have done a great job on this trail in a short period of time. It did not appear that there are that many hikers in this area, but hopefully this new trail will attract more to this resort in the future. If you hike to the Skookumchuck Rapids be sure to detour just after the trail starts to the bakery in the woods for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was not facing the ocean because we did not intend to spend much time in it. It had a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at this Lodge . The room had a fantastic view from the bedroom and private deck out to the spectacular Jervis Inlet area with mountains and islands . A typical vista for the sunshine coast of BC but breathtaking nevertheless.
The lodge/ dining area was beautiful and tasteful and fit the vibe of the locale.
The lodge has it's own dock to launch kayaks and offers package deals including kayak tours and float plane trips.
We recommend the zodiac trip with Michael who is an experienced and knowledgeable guide to Princess Louisa inlet (a spectacular flooded canyon or fiord with granite cliffs within the Jervis inlet, which is also a fiord . The scenery is sort of what you would get if you flooded Yosemite with greater than 1000 feet of salt water.) This is incredible scenery.
We were genuinely impressed with the attention and efforts of the entire staff.
George, the concierge, was always very friendly and was quite earnest in wanting to make our stay as perfect as possible. For example, The first day the wifi was almost unusable, but as soon as he realized this, they all went to great lengths to fix the problem.This is no small thing in such a remote area.
The biggest surprise (to me anyway) was the food. We recommend getting a package deal to include breakfast and dinner. The Breakfast were simple but very tasty and hardy, but the dinners were truly excellent. They use local items as much as possible and the chief is truly skilled. The meals rivaled anything I have had in any city.
Overall, it was a great experience and worth the money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from three wonderful days at West Coast Wilderness Lodge. Our second visit. We stayed in the new building with ocean view rooms. Cool bathtub with view looking up Hotham Sound. Also new is the whisteria laden atrium side deck. We dined out side both nights! Highly recommend the halibut and chowder! Took the zodiac inlets trip a second time to see the kayakers in the Sckookumchuk narrows. Last year saw a bear swimming across the inlet. The rest of my family went on a more tame kayak lesson and tour of the inlet and loved it. Kathryn is a great teacher and guide! All in all a fantastic few days.

Room Tip: New ocean view rooms beautiful but original cabins with view and decks are excellent too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Walked into the new atrium patio at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge and was instantaneously in relax mode. The view, the hanging wisteria that weaves through the ceiling, and the staff helped make my few hours I spent there very relaxing. I will definitely return and next time stay a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is located in a very beautiful area with the most wunderful view.
We had a suite (or what it was !) with oceanview and the view is the only thing to go there for.
Sorry, but the service was poor and the restaurant not to brag about.
Luckely BackEddy at the little harbour right next to, has the passion and dediction to make some delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.