We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Coast Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As locals we took advantage of a 'special' recently at this property. Although we've visited the resort on several occasions, this was the first time we'd stayed overnight. The staff and owners were very friendly, and helpful, and we felt welcome immediately. The room was lovely with a spectacular view of the inlet. There is no better view on the Sunshine Coast. If you want to see beautiful BC at it's best, this is the place to come to. The room and bathroom were both small, but well appointed, clean, and lacked for nothing. The decor is modern yet West Coast style. The large king-size bed was very comfortable and the bedding good quality. Dinner was excellent, and by far the best quality food we've encountered on the Sunshine Coast. The trips organized by the lodge are fun and enjoyable, and fairly priced. Thank you Paul for a very enjoyable stay. We'll be back in September, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay here as a getaway. Despite the fact that we only live in Halfmoon Bay, about a 45-minute drive away, it felt like we had gone far, far away. The panorama from our room was beautiful beyond describing, and the room was clean and very comfortable. Our dinner and our breakfast were fabulous. They have the best Seafood Chowder I've ever tasted, by far. Service was friendly and prompt. Our zodiac tour of the area was exhilarating. Our guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable and friendly.

At first, I was a bit taken aback by lack of WIFI, but it wasn't long before I realized what a blessing that was! Goodbye internet! I can live without you! Want to get away from it all? This is the place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We didn't know where we wanted to stay and stopped by the WCW by chance. It turned out that the time we spent there was the best part of the whole trip.

The owners were present on site and helped us with everything. We got the best deal on the rooms, they showed us where to go and what to do and organized a Zodiac tour next day. The picture with the dolphins was taken during that trip!

There was something for everyone - kids really enjoyed the archery practice and we like the hot tub with the ocean view.

One thing that we did before leaving WCW is booked ourselves a new stay with them. I am sure that we will come back more than once!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caramel1959
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this place by chance and were able to stay for two nights. Reception was welcoming (thanks Kathryn). The restaurant was a spacious and lovely, food was OK, service was attentive enough.
Room was lovely - all timber and a great big king bed with lovely linen. Downside - no fresh towels on the second day and I really am up for that when paying what it cost to stay here!
We were probably there at the same time as mai3096 who has commented about the party (to which we weren't invited). We were in the ocean front room closest to the venue and, while there was noise til about 9.30, we didn't hear anything after that. May have been 'cos we were stuffed from trekking to Skookemchuck Rapids (a 'must-do'!) in the morning and then kayaking in the afternoon (with Kathryn - excellent - bald eagles spotted, seals, starfish).
The one downside was that to see the rapids we had to leave at 7am and the resort could not even provide us with a juice and muesli bar or any kind of 'brekky bag' to take on the 8km trek. By the time we had returned and showered, it was too late for brekky and too early for lunch. Given that the rapids are probably the main attraction there, a 'snack' service is required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge in mid September. We knew even from the ferry trip we were travelling somewhere amazing, the weather was kind to us and the scenery was breathtaking.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the new oceanview suites, wow what a view, you could just sit and watch all kinds of wildlife from your room or the decks of the lodge.

The new rooms have been realy well done, a good size with nice bathrooms.

The food was very good, my husband had the aberdeen angus ribs - absolutely delicious.

We went kayaking for the first time, we were a little aprehensive, but we neednt have worried we were well looked after, we saw bald eagle and the seals were very inquisitive!

This lodge is a must if you are looking to visit the Sunshine Coast - we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammerbuch
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived on the first evening at 5 PM after a Long hike and were told that the only Slot for dinner is at 5:30 pm! Not a good start. That evening a large famaly Party took place until late. Load Music is not what we exepected in the Wilderness.
We had a nice room (Ocean Suite) with view on the bay.
WIFI which is Standard now even in the B+Bs is not offered instead a PC next to the reception. Absolutely no tipps for hikes. This seems to be a boat place.
Hot tub is available but the changing rooms are in the Lounge!
The Location is the best at this place. Not a lodge we will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a wonderful time celebrating a special occasion. The staff was remarkable and when a tour we wanted to do booked up, they offered a private zodiac tour for our family which was spectacular!!! Our guide was terrific and between he and the owner they made the trip truly memorable with their added touches. The kayaking earlier in the day with our kids was amazing! We rented the kayaks from the Lodge and they were helpful in guiding us where to go. The area directly around the Lodge is phenomenal! The entire day/weekend from start to finish was unforgettable!!! While staying here hiking to the Skookumchuk is a must do. We didn't do the all inclusive meal option and were glad. The dinner we had was very good but when spending all day outdoors with teenagers you need good, healthy food and LOTS of it. The dinner menu was limited and very much 5 star and really excellent but there just wasn't enough of it. For a couple wanting a romantic dinner it would be perfect!!! The breakfast menu is great and the portions are just right for a day out in the wilderness! The hot tub was great and after hiking or being in the kayak it was great to warm up in the hot tub then shower and off to dinner. The fact there was no wi-fi was great as it is a true get away. This is one of the most magical places I've been and the staff here are the absolute best!!! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: If you're spending the time and money to go up to Egmont I would strongly suggest getting a wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.